7.22 Rufus AMPS 146

Yes 146 is a great number but I see he had a similar number on 7/20 and went back up from there. However, that's a long time to be gone with no testing...is there any way you could pop back in later or lunchtime, etc. to get a quick test just to see where he's at?

He won't always be going up after insulin - once the depot is filled the insulin will push him down, not up...and no one really knows how to tell how full the depot is...that takes time...

Otherwise, I'd suggest planning to get up an hour or so earlier so you can get a 2+ before leaving for work - lots of people who work do that and based on the number at 2+ leave out food accordingly (if it's going down, they'll leave out medium carb and perhaps HC treats)...over time as you get more tests you'll know which direction he's likely to head after his injections...
 
The problem is I can't get a plus 2 reading. I give insulin at 615. I don't get home until 6 at night from work and I leave for work at 640am. I can get the plus 2 at night but not in the am.

Unfortunately I can can't pop in from work. Too fast away :(
 
The problem is I can't get a plus 2 reading. I give insulin at 615. I don't get home until 6 at night from work and I leave for work at 640am. I can get the plus 2 at night but not in the am.

Unfortunately I can can't pop in from work. Too fast away :(

I hear ya...it's hard to get up even earlier than you are - but I know of a member - @Bellasmom - who gets up way early and gives her boy Bella his first shot - I think by 4:30 a.m.???? I've tagged her here so you can see her routine - however your issue is not getting back in time later in the day to do the pm business - so that may not work for you...getting a 2+ is the only way to get a bit of a forecast of upcoming blood glucose readings....otherwise you're in the dark for the remainder of the day.

Have you given any thought to the FreeStyle Libre? I have seen threads of people discussing them - the cat wears a 'button' like device and it gets readings all day/night.
 
The problem is I can't get a plus 2 reading. I give insulin at 615. I don't get home until 6 at night from work and I leave for work at 640am. I can get the plus 2 at night but not in the am.

Unfortunately I can can't pop in from work. Too fast away :(
I’m in the exact same situation. I can’t really shoot earlier because I won’t be home earlier to test, it won’t work :)

146 can be a safe number to shoot, and you will gain the knowledge on how safe it is as you get more familiar with rufus’ patterns.

As a SLGS practitioner you have a couple options with this situation, you can not feed, stall the shot, wait 20 mins and test again - if the number is higher you know that Rufus’ BG is coming up and you can give the shot. If it doesn’t come up you can give a reduced shot! If you don’t have time to stall, you could still do a reduced shot so you don’t fully drain the depot. If is BG lowers then don’t give the shot.

As others said, if you decide to shoot but are nervous, leave out some MC food just in case :)
 
I’m in the exact same situation. I can’t really shoot earlier because I won’t be home earlier to test, it won’t work :)

146 can be a safe number to shoot, and you will gain the knowledge on how safe it is as you get more familiar with rufus’ patterns.

As a SLGS practitioner you have a couple options with this situation, you can not feed, stall the shot, wait 20 mins and test again - if the number is higher you know that Rufus’ BG is coming up and you can give the shot. If it doesn’t come up you can give a reduced shot! If you don’t have time to stall, you could still do a reduced shot so you don’t fully drain the depot. If is BG lowers then don’t give the shot.

As others said, if you decide to shoot but are nervous, leave out some MC food just in case :)
I probably should have shot, and left. I just couldn't do it. I hate to ruin our progress, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. I dunno. It sure is tough doing it this time around when I am not at home to test!
 
I probably should have shot, and left. I just couldn't do it. I hate to ruin our progress, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. I dunno. It sure is tough doing it this time around when I am not at home to test!

Honestly Sean, I think you did the right thing! Progress wouldn’t matter if Rufus went too low and had a severe hypo event. It is always better safe than sorry!

Next time you get an AMPS like this consider, not feeding, stalling for a bit and if he comes up shooting, or a decreased dose. I recommend re reading the sticky (I have to alll the time) and getting used to the idea on when to do what. The first time I got a lower post shot was PM so I shot a reduced dose and it worked out. If I had have gotten it in the morning I am SURE I would have done the same as you, because like you, it is not an option to monitor during the day at all.

Good job keeping Rufus safe :)
 
Back
Top