Re: 7/22 Max Pmps 128 +3 (nt) 50 +6 82 Amps 137 +3 71 +5 89
I tend to refer to the info we use here on
dealing with low numbers. There is a difference between a cat dropping into low numbers vs. a hypoglycemic crisis. Many of our cats will dip their toes into the 30s. While I wouldn't want Gabby to stay in the 30s, she's definitely visited there. (She's visited the 20s, too.) Because we monitor and use food to steer the curve, it's rare to see a cat here that is severely hypoglycemic. Likewise, because with TR, you are systematically increasing the dose, hypoglycemic episodes are unlikely.
With an AlphaTrack or other glucometer calibrated for cats, the normal BG range is 80 -
150. Dose reductions would be for any number below 80. I think you will make yourself a little nuts if you try to calculate the range around every number you get when you test. The number is the number. Where I think it's helpful to consider the variance is when someone says they're seeing jumps in numbers. When you begin to factor in the variance, often the numbers are fairly flat. Otherwise, I don't worry about it.
What and when to feed is more complicated. A lot depends on how carb sensitive
your cat is. For example, Jill's Alex will get a 30 point bump in numbers from a piece of freeze dried chicken. Alex is very carb sensitive. If Alex's numbers are low, Jill can feed low carb. On the other hand, Gabby has a tendency to drop fast and early in the cycle. I use HC in order to put the brakes on. If there's not a great deal of momentum behind the drop, though, I may use LC to slow things down and encourage a surf. (You can see the notes on Gabby's SS.) Unless your cat is very carb sensistive, if numbers are below 40, I would use HC. If they are not coming up relatively quickly, I would add a drop or two of Karo. Again, some of this depends on knowing your cat.