Howiesmom
Member Since 2020
AMPS: 164
+10: 158
PMPS: 164
+3: 218
I am trying to figure out why Howie has rapidly rising BGs (for him). He has done so well staying in the 70-130 range for a long time. I went on vacation over 4th of July and and dropped his Dose as he was staying at the vet lodge. Last week I was gone for a work meeting and a friend looked after him and I dropped him even lower to 17 units per recommendations. He did well at 17 units although I probably stayed a couple cycles too long. So I bumped him up to 18 units and he only saw one green in those 6 cycles. So I increased him to 20 units and he’s going even higher.
I did take him to the vet today as he hasn’t been peeing as much as he should. His urinalysis showed a bit of cloudiness and somewhat raised WBC. So We started him on a course of treatment for a potential UTI. He is on Enrofloxin and Onsior pills. Luckily he is eating fine and has bowel movements. But the elevated BGs make no sense. I would have thought the dose increases would counteract any issues of an infection??
Any other thoughts from folks? He’s never had a UTI so I don’t have any frame of reference. He has no teeth so it’s not any dental issues. I’m supposed to call them in a few days if the urination doesn’t improve but I’m wondering if I should also call if his BGs don’t drop once the meds can start working? He goes back for another urinalysis in 14 days to see if it has cleared up. Or else we are going to check kidneys as apparently his last SDMA was at 17 and 19 is the threshold.
Thanks for providing any thoughts/ideas or questions I should ask. He’s done so well living in mostly greens and low blues so these high blues and now a yellow are disheartening.
@Wendy&Neko I suppose it could be his tumor pulsing or something with his antibodies too? I thought this rapid dose decrease was hopefully meaning we were breaking through them.
+10: 158
PMPS: 164
+3: 218
I am trying to figure out why Howie has rapidly rising BGs (for him). He has done so well staying in the 70-130 range for a long time. I went on vacation over 4th of July and and dropped his Dose as he was staying at the vet lodge. Last week I was gone for a work meeting and a friend looked after him and I dropped him even lower to 17 units per recommendations. He did well at 17 units although I probably stayed a couple cycles too long. So I bumped him up to 18 units and he only saw one green in those 6 cycles. So I increased him to 20 units and he’s going even higher.
I did take him to the vet today as he hasn’t been peeing as much as he should. His urinalysis showed a bit of cloudiness and somewhat raised WBC. So We started him on a course of treatment for a potential UTI. He is on Enrofloxin and Onsior pills. Luckily he is eating fine and has bowel movements. But the elevated BGs make no sense. I would have thought the dose increases would counteract any issues of an infection??
Any other thoughts from folks? He’s never had a UTI so I don’t have any frame of reference. He has no teeth so it’s not any dental issues. I’m supposed to call them in a few days if the urination doesn’t improve but I’m wondering if I should also call if his BGs don’t drop once the meds can start working? He goes back for another urinalysis in 14 days to see if it has cleared up. Or else we are going to check kidneys as apparently his last SDMA was at 17 and 19 is the threshold.
Thanks for providing any thoughts/ideas or questions I should ask. He’s done so well living in mostly greens and low blues so these high blues and now a yellow are disheartening.
@Wendy&Neko I suppose it could be his tumor pulsing or something with his antibodies too? I thought this rapid dose decrease was hopefully meaning we were breaking through them.