Amy & Herman
Member Since 2022
From yesterday and this am:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...102-11-5-133-amps-115-skip-dose-2-110.266132/
Yesterday was scary, perplexing and exhausting! In a nutshell Herman did a scarf n' barf after his pm shot, ate only a small amount an hour later, then refused to eat anything more or move from his bed for the next almost 12 hours while hovering in low numbers (for him) for the bulk of that time period. He showed outward signs of nausea in the morning once I finally got him out of bed (lip licking, smelling food but not eating).
With a AMPS of 115 and no appetite, I skipped the shot.
After a morning walk, grass eating (and I assume a subsequent vomit that I did not witness) he slowly came around to his usual self staying in the blues (low for him at this stage of our treatment and part of cycle especially given we skipped the shot) till +6.
The odd scarf n barf and morning grass eating pukes are not unusual for him. Complete lack of appetite is, although on 7/19 he went in to the greens and lost his appetite at shot time causing me to stall for an hour. After the greens he also had diarhea which is uncommon for him. I realize these things are likely unrelated but I do find he thrives in the comfort of the yellow and fuchsia and is out of sorts in the low blues and greens. I realize this can affect his appetite and he probably doesn't have that starving feeling at those levels. I understand it will take time for him to adjust.
Thanks to to those who helped this extremely anxious cat mom through a sleepless night, especially @Suzanne & Darcy !
I have a few questions:
Also a note about why I gave FF 15% gravy at +11, he was still essentially unresponsive to me (would not get out of bed) and hadn't eaten in 9 hours (nothing tempted him even his fave contrabands) at that point and I was trying to stimulate his appetite with something he likes and could be syringe fed. It was less about bumping up the BG at that point. Next time should I try to wait it out longer or try to syringe something other than 15% gravy? I didn't think it was time for karo....
THANKS TO ALL!
Amy and Herman
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...102-11-5-133-amps-115-skip-dose-2-110.266132/
Yesterday was scary, perplexing and exhausting! In a nutshell Herman did a scarf n' barf after his pm shot, ate only a small amount an hour later, then refused to eat anything more or move from his bed for the next almost 12 hours while hovering in low numbers (for him) for the bulk of that time period. He showed outward signs of nausea in the morning once I finally got him out of bed (lip licking, smelling food but not eating).
With a AMPS of 115 and no appetite, I skipped the shot.
After a morning walk, grass eating (and I assume a subsequent vomit that I did not witness) he slowly came around to his usual self staying in the blues (low for him at this stage of our treatment and part of cycle especially given we skipped the shot) till +6.
The odd scarf n barf and morning grass eating pukes are not unusual for him. Complete lack of appetite is, although on 7/19 he went in to the greens and lost his appetite at shot time causing me to stall for an hour. After the greens he also had diarhea which is uncommon for him. I realize these things are likely unrelated but I do find he thrives in the comfort of the yellow and fuchsia and is out of sorts in the low blues and greens. I realize this can affect his appetite and he probably doesn't have that starving feeling at those levels. I understand it will take time for him to adjust.
Thanks to to those who helped this extremely anxious cat mom through a sleepless night, especially @Suzanne & Darcy !
I have a few questions:
- Can I move pm shot forward to 430pm (an hour early) safely since I skipped am dose? I had to stall an hour on the aforementioned 07/19 and I am trying to decide if I should go back to 430 and if so if this might be the easiest time to make that adjustment in one go vs 15 min increments.
- Do people ever adjust PM dose based on the fact that the particular cat is much less active and eats far less than the daytime?
Also a note about why I gave FF 15% gravy at +11, he was still essentially unresponsive to me (would not get out of bed) and hadn't eaten in 9 hours (nothing tempted him even his fave contrabands) at that point and I was trying to stimulate his appetite with something he likes and could be syringe fed. It was less about bumping up the BG at that point. Next time should I try to wait it out longer or try to syringe something other than 15% gravy? I didn't think it was time for karo....
THANKS TO ALL!
Amy and Herman