7/22 Gobnait AMPS 113 +1 100 PMPS 113 +1 102 SS +6 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

MJ and Gobnait

Member Since 2011
This girl got fat over the course of just last week! Is that normal? Desmond got fat too. I think it was the fancy feat. I have them on Newman's Own now.

She's doing GREAT. has been playing with her buddy Desmond a bit though it's always been more her nature to lounge and eat (surprise surprise). Her coats is also much nicer, not so dry and sheddy.

Looking forward to feedback on her SS. I was NOT able to test mid day last week at all, also not as much today as I expected. Next week will be worse I'm afraid but at least her numbers are good at AMPS and PMPS. I'll try to grab a +6 tomorrow.

Thanks all!
 
Re: 7/22 Gobnait AMPS 113 +1 100 PMPS 113 SS Finally Posted!

Yay!!!

Were you not able to get the template to work? (It's been glitchy.)

Gobnait's numbers are looking very good. What I would suggest is that if you can't get tests during times when you're at work (aka, tbp = the bad place), can you get some tests during the PM cycle? At minimum, a before bed test would be very good. You're seeing low pre-shot numbers and the only way you will know if your kitty is safe is to test.

If I could make a couple of suggestions re. the format of your SS.
  • I'd suggest inserting separate columns for the AM and PM time if you want to enter the shot times. When scanning a SS, it's cleaner and easier to sort out what the numbers are if you don't have the time and the test data in the same column.
  • You may want to widen the +hour columns. There will be times when you are not testing on the hour. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see what I mean.
 
Re: 7/22 Gobnait AMPS 113 +1 100 PMPS 113 SS Finally Posted!

Thanks! I'm about to get her plus one test. I'll grab a few more tonight. Shell be thrilled.

Why does my sheet look different I wonder..... I think I sort of copied and pasted from someone else's because I wasn't able to download or even access google docs. But it should still be the same. Hm. I can easily drop the info I have in mine into the template though now that I can access it. So glad to have my PC repaired and back!
 
Re: 7/22 Gobnait AMPS 113 +1 100 PMPS 113 +1 102 SS Posted!!

Just a quick note about shot times...

Be careful when adjusting shot times. You generally don't want to move a shot time more than 30 min. per day (either 30 min. at one time or 15 min. at each shot time). An early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose reduction. I noticed you moved a time 2 hours earlier on 7/20. Moving a shot that much earlier and not getting any subsequent tests could be a recipe for trouble.
 
Re: 7/22 Gobnait AMPS 113 +1 100 PMPS 113 +1 102 SS Posted!!

yep, i'm trying to be consistent but just can't control exactly when i can be home. i don't know how you guys do it.
 
Re: 7/22 Gobnait AMPS 113 +1 100 PMPS 113 +1 102 SS Posted!!

If you have to shoot late, it's less of a problem than shooting early. If you shoot 2 hours late, you really shouldn't go back to your usual time at the next shot. It's best to migrate the time back slowly. And, you've GOT to be able to test if you're giving an early shot.
 
good. thanks. that makes sense and is sort of what I've been doing. I'm migrating her back toward 7:30 am over this weekend.

and it makes sense that shooting late is better so as not to have too much insulin in kitty at one time.
 
MJ:

Gobnait is looking great!!! Nice numbers.

I usually get off work at 6 but I work on an air force base and sometimes they actually close the gates and don't let people out if there is a security breach or they are having drills, etc. So I made Gracie's shot time at 7:30 so I know that I will absolutely be home at that time. Yes...it makes her testing times later than I'd like but I know I won't miss a shot. Any chance you can adjust Gobnait's slowly to a time you know you will be home? And that will also work the next morning? I think that can be the tough time for folks, too....getting in the shot and having time to test before they leave. I don't have to deal with that because DH is here to test.

Good luck!
 
Thanks Marjorie!

I am trying to make a gradual time shift. I did 8:30 again tonight and will do 8:00 tomorrow then 7:30 Monday. I need to work from the office all week but can leave just after her morning shot.
I work on the other end of town from my home though which is just not ideal if I have any sort of after work activity or even just want to go to the gym. I have a horse too. I'm just doing the best I can and hoping that those greens come up and that maybe even the diet change will do it.

Paws crossed!

we were just all super comfy snuggled on the sofa, I had Desmond on one side and Gobnait on the other (which only happens occasionally as they seem to have some sort of rule about only one of them being on me at a time). Hated having to ruin that constellation to then jab her in the ear with a lancet :(

Oh and Desmond is getting Jealous of her attention! I've never seen him like this! Sometimes when I'm testing her he just comes over and meows at me. He's also getting really excited about his cosequin tabs. "My turn now! yeah I am the kitty with the meds,not THAT one". He also really misses his dry food. She doesn't seem to mind at all.

Still, my "problems" are NOTHING compared to some of the kitty people here.

I do wish non-cat people weren't so ridiculous about it. If I see one more person look at me like I'm insane because I have to go home and give my cat a shot.... Really? It's not a plus that I'm capable of committing to caring for something? Oh, yes definitely act like I'm some sort of a nut. It's all not great for a single gal I tell ya, but then neither is this town at ALL.

I'm on a rant....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top