7/22 Enana PMPS 145 +2/111 +3/92 +4/88 +5/65 +5.5/56 +6/74

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Good Day LL,

I couldn't post a condo yesterday. It was a busy day. :?

Recap:

AMPS 293
+1 239
+2 156
+3 91 MC
+3.3 72
+3.75 66 HC
+4 HC/MC
+10.5 378
PMPS 338
+2/340
+5/291

She is currently getting 1.50 skinny. Shaving 1.50S to what? A drop or two less? To 1.25F should I call it? :shock: :shock: :o :o nailbite_smile nailbite_smile :o :o :shock: :shock:
 
Re: 7/22 Enana AMPS 260 +3 73 +4/47 +4.75/76 +5.25/82 Dose Q

Looking good Enana!!! Great job with her yesterday Natalia!!!

It depends on how you dose. I've been able to get two drops in .25u. See how many drops you can consistently get in it. If she's having a hard time holding reductions, just shave one drop. If you think she can handle .25u reduction, you can do that. It looks like from your SS that you have been shaving so I'd probably continue.

I'm a little confused at how you are reducing her. She got a 39 on July 7 but you didn't reduce and increased her dose from 1.5sk to 1.5f on 7/12. You reduced her to 1.5 on 7/15 after she got in the 40s and then down to 1.5sk when she got into the 30s on 7/16. What is your threshold for reducing her....under 50? Three times under 50?

I think you can call it whatever you feel it is as long as it is consistent. I am sure we are all calling those fats and skinnys just a little differently based on how many drops we are getting in .25u. For instance, for Gracie, if I was giving a sk 1u, then my next dose would be .75u (one drop), sk .75u (two drops and that would put me at .25u less than the sk1u). I can dial in a dose in between by making it a regular drop and a half a regular drop but it's hard to be consistent if it's not on a line.

How's that for no help? :lol: :lol: Good luck though!! ;-)
 
Re: 7/22 Enana AMPS 260 +3 73 +4/47 +4.75/76 +5.25/82 +9/153

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Looking good Enana!!! Great job with her yesterday Natalia!!!

It depends on how you dose. I've been able to get two drops in .25u. See how many drops you can consistently get in it. If she's having a hard time holding reductions, just shave one drop. If you think she can handle .25u reduction, you can do that. It looks like from your SS that you have been shaving so I'd probably continue.

Thanks :-D Yes she doesnt hold well reductions. So I shave.

I'm a little confused at how you are reducing her. She got a 39 on July 7 but you didn't reduce and increased her dose from 1.5sk to 1.5f on 7/12. You reduced her to 1.5 on 7/15 after she got in the 40s and then down to 1.5sk when she got into the 30s on 7/16. What is your threshold for reducing her....under 50? Three times under 50?

I didnt reduce July 7 because I had just reduced her the day before. We talked about this :-D You said you had reduce Gracie that way but "failed reduction and we had to go way back up. It's your decision but if it were me, I'd be extra vigilant and see how she does the next couple of cycles." :-D I follow your instructions to the letter!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

I shave when she gets under 50. The last time I reduced by .25 was on 7/6 and she didnt hold the reduction, so I had to increase the dose on 7/12.

I think it was Jill who told me to reduce by .25 when I had to fight to keep her up, but those reductions do not hold, so I'm just shaving.

NEWBIES: DO NOT FOLLOW MY SHOOTING STYLE. IT IS DESIGNED FOR MY CAT. I KEEP AN EYE ON HER AND KNOW HOW SHE REACTS TO FOOD. Thanks :-D

I think you can call it whatever you feel it is as long as it is consistent. I am sure we are all calling those fats and skinnies just a little differently based on how many drops we are getting in .25u. For instance, for Gracie, if I was giving a sk 1u, then my next dose would be .75u (one drop), sk .75u (two drops and that would put me at .25u less than the sk1u). I can dial in a dose in between by making it a regular drop and a half a regular drop but it's hard to be consistent if it's not on a line.

How's that for no help? :lol: :lol: Good luck though!! ;-)

I'm counting drops!! wohooo

Thanks Marje!!
 
Re: 7/22 Enana AMPS 260 +3 73 +4/47 +4.75/76 +5.25/82 +9/153

Natalia: thank you for reminding me about the two low numbers b2b. I totally forgot and didn't look to see the first one. DUH!!!!! You did the right thing.....I should have looked closer.

I know on the .25u if you are having to fight her; we tried it, too. It's always worth a try but those darned failed reductions are frustrating!!

She had a great cycle today. Good luck!!!
 
Re: 7/22 Enana AMPS 260 +3 73 +4/47 +4.75/76 +5.25/82 +9/153

Enana is looking great! Good luck on the reduction, whatever it may be. :lol:

Hope you have a great night!
 
Re: 7/22 Enana PMPS 145 Question about Enana's dental.

The vet that's doing the dental for Enana told me to give the usual insulin dose that morning, w as little food as I could and no water. That sounds strange and dangerous to me. Am i being paranoid?
 
Re: 7/22 Enana PMPS 145 Question about Enana's dental.

It seems that every vet is different, but my vet said no insulin or food the morning of the dental. We fed Trix her usual dinner and gave her the usual dose the night before, but also had to cut off her food pretty shortly after that. At the same time, my vet does these procedures very early in the morning; I had to have her at the office by 6:00am, and she was under anesthesia probably an hour later.

This is just my opinion, but I think you should do whatever you are comfortable with. If giving her insulin the morning of the dental makes you nervous, then I don't think skipping it is the worst thing ever. Personally, that's what I would do....
 
Re: 7/22 Enana PMPS 145 Question about Enana's dental.

Natalia & Enana said:
The vet that's doing the dental for Enana told me to give the usual insulin dose that morning, w as little food as I could and no water. That sounds strange and dangerous to me. Am i being paranoid?


Hi Natalia
when is Enana's dental? can u make a note in ss?
and just give a little reminder each day you post that dental is coming up, and hopefully get u more info on your question.
 
Re: 7/22 Enana PMPS 145 Question about Enana's dental.

I was recently talking to the board cert anesthesiologist that we've used many times....inc this last time with Teddi. She said that she has found that with diabetic cats, they do much better if the procedure is done about 5 hours after their last meal. She said she recommends all normal foods/water and full dose of insulin in the morning and then five hours after the last meal, they do the anesthesia. I told her this was really different than what I'd seen in LL. She said the recommendations that I mentioned are the way most vets do it but she has found that diabetics do MUCH better during and after the procedure with the protocol above.

But...I'm not saying I recommend it. I'd go with the wise ones here UNLESS you can get a board cert veterinary anesthesiologist to do her anesthesia while they clean her teeth. I'm not sure I'd even trust my regular vet with that protocol......
 
Re: 7/22 Enana PMPS 145 +1/146 Question about Enana's dental

The dental is 7/26. My appointment is at 9am, but that is when he is going to see her for the first time. The person I talked to said that if she needs cleaning, he would do it after the consultation.

This doctor has been doing veterinary dentistry for 30 years. I would think that would make me feel better right? :?

I shoot her at 7:30 CST. I guess that I'll see what the number is that morning... nailbite_smile nailbite_smile .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top