7/22 Champ AMPS 170, +2 211, +5 108 - back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Champ had a really nice green surf last night which was really nice to see!! I packed Champ up and took him to the vet this morning. It really is amazing how cats know when they're going somewhere they don't want to go and when they're going home. He wailed the entire way to the vets, but didn't make a peep all the way home!!!! Silly cat!

Okay, news from the vet...The vet is sure Champ does not have neuropathy. He thinks the tremors, twitches, muscle weakness, and muscle wasting is from arthritis. I now tend to agree with him. Before I bought the house I live in now, I lived in a two-story house. At one point, I noticed Champ was having difficulty with the stairs, going up and coming down the stairs. I took him to the vet (a different vet) and she put him on Cosequin...except they didn't have any in their pharmacy and I never went back to pick it up because Champ seemed to get better. At that time, I didn't know you didn't need a prescription for it. Today the vet also said that omega-3 fatty acids are good for arthritis. He's going to be sending me an email with the dosage to put Champ on of Cosequin and the omega-3 fatty acids to see if this helps. He's not a fan of giving nonsteroidal anti-inflammatories because they can sometimes cause more problems than solve in cats (hard on the kidneys), but there's a drug called Adequan that is a subcu injectable medication that I can give Champ at home. This drug has shown to be very promising in helping relieve arthritis pain and the complications caused by arthritis. If the Cosequin and omega-3 fatty acids don't do the trick, we'll be starting the Adequan (if I can afford it!). We had some labs drawn to check calcium, potassium, and magnesium. The vet wanted to check the potassium to see if hypokalemia could be a problem since that can also cause muscle weakness. The calcium and potassium were very normal and the magnesium, though done in the in-house lab, takes longer to analyze and he's going to let me know via email what the value is. Also, Champ has gained 1.5 pounds since May 6!! The vet tells me that I can no longer go by how many calories Champ is "supposed" to eat per day because, obviously, he's eating too much for the amount of energy he is expending. He wants me to continue feeding Champ multiple meals a day, but reduce the amount with each feeding so he's not getting more than 5 ounces of food total per day. This is going to be hard because Champ loveslovesloves to eat, but I've been told I need to practice "tough love." The vet says Champ's SS shows he's "very well regulated" and, compared to cats not following the protocol, I guess you could consider him to be.

That's about all I remember!! One thing I can say....Champ is THE BEST CAT EVER. Everyone in the vets office comments on what an easy cat he is to draw blood from and to exam, etc. He just sits there with his nervous purring looking so cute you just want to squeeze him!!!! I love my Champers. He's AWESOME!!!
 
Good vet report for Champ! Tess gets Cosequin daily and the best deal I've found is on Amazon Buy 2 bottles and shipping is free. The first time I bought it at Petco I think it was $40 for a smaller bottle! :evil:

I'm glad Champ is such a good boy at the vet's! Tess just tries to hide. :?
 
Great vet report!!! SO glad to hear things went well and all is well with Champ. Nice numbers today, too for a vetty visit.

We gave Gus adequan injections for a very long time. I don't recall the adequan being that expensive but the needles (usually 25g) will seem HUGE to you compared to the insulin syringe needles :lol: :lol: Hopefully the cosequin will work.

Have a great day. YAY CHAMP...sweet kitty!!! (But he has a sweet mommy, too).
 
i could totally picture the "nervous purring" - even though punkin is a hide under the table or in your armpit kind-of-guy! :lol: glad you got a good vet report!
 
Happy to hear about the good vet report minus the weight gain. I don't do very well when it comes to tough love. Those pathetic eyes looking up at me just melt my heart and all my toughness goes away. I'm glad that Champ was so good at the vet. That always helps to have a cooperative kitty!
 
There are several people who give Cosequin and a few who have used Adequan. I don't know if you can order the latter through Canada, but it may be worth checking it out.
 
Great news!!! And great numbers last night. Way to go Champ!!!

We give Adequan to our labrador who had ACL surgery (twice). Anyway, it has worked wonders on him. If the vet will let you give the injections at home (some won't), it really is'nt that expensive. Total for a 100 lb dog was about $300 for 6 months. I would think a cat would be a lot cheaper. You give a shot twice a week for 3-4 weeks, then once a month or as needed. We saw great results in 2 shots.

Hope you have a great evening! Scritches to Champ.
 
We give both Cosequin and Adequan to our 16.5 year old civvie, Mario. The Cosequin really seemed to help him at first, but he leveled off pretty quickly and still seemed too stiff and uncomfortable to me. We started him on the Adequan about 6 weeks ago. He still seems arthritic, but at the same time he's definitely much "looser" and his posture has greatly improved since starting the Adequan. He's also got some of the same symptoms you mentioned...muscle wasting, twitching in one of his legs. Marjorie is right...that 25G needle seems like a harpoon compared to the insulin needles, but Mario takes it like a champ - and having the insulin experience is a HUGE help! The teeny little vial of Adequan wasn't cheap (I think it was $120), but we're still in our first one at this point. Once you get past the "loading dose", you go through less and less.

Also, I order the Cosequin through PetMeds, since there is a link from FDMB to the PetMeds site, and since it is considerably cheaper through PetMeds than it is from my vet.

So glad to hear Champ is awesome with his blood draws! I'm pretty sure Mario is listed as "fractious." I get terrified myself every time we have to take him, because I know he gets so upset...

Have a great evening, guys!

Amy
 
Since you have experience with injections you can do these at home and save the weekly trips to the vet for the initial ramping up.

Maverick had bad hip arthritis. A raised food and water station was a must. He would drink and eat either sitting or standing. Crouching was very hard on him. We also have baby stairs to get on the bed and the couches. He learned to use them immediately. Stools to help get up into other places. And I carried him up the stairs so it saved the wear on his hips.
 
Good Vet report on Champ, and you must be feeling relieved that there's help for him. Good luck with the treatments. Champ is a very lucky kitty to have you as his Bean. Take care.
 
Hi guys - YAY on the good vet report. Too funny on how he klnows he was headed home - no wailing! Excellent Champ! I can't offer any advice on the meds - haven't had to sue either. I know alot here use cosequin - I think it works well. Good luck!

Nice numbers today too - I hope the rest of the day was as good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top