? 7/21 Tigger AMPS 315, 2.5=315, 7.5=164,PMPS=128, Shot or No Shot

Pattylynne and Tigger

Member Since 2021
Holding for the moment, hope I can get some insight out there. New to blue numbers, has been on this dose 1.4 U of lantus for 2 and 1/2 days. Could someone with more experience help me, should I shot pm dose, don't want to back track, seems to take several days for new dose to act. He doesn't appear to have a regular pattern to me. Don't want him to crash over night either.
Thanks Tigger and Patty
 
Do you have supplies? Test strips, hc and mc? Can you stay up to monitor? Get another test in 5-10 minutes to see if on the way up if you have not fed. With TR you have to get used to shooting lower but it is the lowest you have shot.
 
I have supplies. Checked about 20 minutes after first check. was up to 150. Feed him then shot about 1.25 rather than 1.4. He should be ok but nerve racking to shot when he's lower. His readings do not seem to have much rhyme or reason, I think that makes me more nervous. The food I have is FF with gravy, is that considered HC or MC? Have honey and plenty of strips. I'll be up for another 2 1/2 hours at least. Guess I may be setting the alarm. Do his numbers make sense to You? Thanks
 
I don’t understand your dosing for starters. I see a lot of jumping around with small increases and decreases that don’t make sense to me. Some of those are increases when it wasn’t time to increase. When you start to see blue you need to hold for at least 10 cycles but you have increased after 6. How are you deciding dosing?

Gravy lovers is hc. Glad you decided to shoot but do you go back and forth with 1.4 and 1.25?
 
Another question do you have an auto feeder you can set at night so he doesn’t go under 50 or when worried?
 
The doses were not quite as much as mess as appeared, had trouble with SS around 17th. I think changes I just made are correct. When I went from 1.0 to 1.25 I had considered going up 0.5 due to his high numbers, didn't get any feed back when posted so went with 1.25 for a day or so, then when to 1.4 probably quicker than protocol but numbers were still up. So he has been on 1.4 U for 3 1/2 days. Sorry for the confusion. I was going to increase tonight or in am until his lower number at PMPS. Also tried going up 0.2 units at a time because he seems to bounce so much when I make a change, swinging green to red, then a low number 2-3 days later, as I said I can't figure out a pattern or even when his nadirs occur.
I don't have a feeder but leave plenty out at bedtime and he wakes me if he's hungry. I will check in the middle of the night to make sure he has food out. Do you see a pattern to nadirs?
 
he was always a free feeder on dry and he won't let me leave his plate empty for long with the wet. He readily changed from dry to wet. Free feeding is alright?
 
It’s not the increase causing the bounces. It’s going lower than used to or dropping too fast. You need to give enough time for a dose to show what it can do. Those new to lantus can take longer for a dose to show what it can do. You don’t When you get a blue or green nadir regardless of when it is you hold the dose for 10 cycles from that reading. want to rush things because too much insulin can act like too little.
It’s not uncommon for the nadir to jump around. I don’t know if anyone ever told you this but because Onset is usually around +2, a test then is like a crystal ball of the cycle For Max that often was +2.5-3. If a bit lower than the preshot it might very well be active and you would want another test in an hour or two and if still lower set an alarm for later. Free feeding is fine. Just be aware that if he eats two hours or less before preshot it will be food influenced.
 
PMPS +1.5=123. So do you expect his numbers to drop a lot tonight? What do you mean by an active cycle? He ate 1/4 FF pate before shot. Eating a little now. Will check again in 30 -60 min. At what point should I go to HC food?
 
An active cycle means he could have a much lower nadir. It’s only 1 1/2 hours and no food bump so I would test in an hour.
 
+2.5 + 90. Has been eating off and on (FF pate) At what point do I feed HC?

Here is my cheatsheet for foods to feed and when:
60 or higher: LC (0-10% carb)
50-59 : MC (11-15% carb) + test every 30 minutes
49 or below: HC (>16% carb) + test every 15-20 minutes and then for two hours after the lowest number appeared until they start going up

Caveat: If the cat is at 123 at PMPS, as an example, and it drops to 63 by +2, I would feed some medium carb food even though he's not below 59 because that is a big drop and when cats drop fast they tend to bounce more. We want them to surf lower numbers because that encourages the pancreas to so its thing on its own. Does that make sense?
 
he was at 90 @ 2.5, 1/2 hr ago. Will test at least every hour till he starts up. More frequently if needed. Thanks for the info. He's a bit restless, doing the things he does when he wants food or attention, knocking everything out of the Blood testing basket, loves to rattle the lancets to get my attention. He has food out so I think he is a bit restless.
Just checked again he's still dropping, this would be 3+, he's 67. He was 150 preshot. I think I'm going to give him a little FF with gravy.
Don't have any MC food, what is considered MC
 
We normally use HC only below 50. Sometimes when the numbers dive into green early in the cycle (+1 or +2) - some HC may prevent a drop below 50.
You can test after an hour. He will probably be much higher.
 
He's really new to below 100. At 60's and 70's was very restless. He has been quiet the past hour. Just did 5+ and only up to 90, it's going up anyway. He's eating some of his LC. He has come up from 67 @3+ to 90 @ 5+. I know that may still be from HC causing to go up. I will recheck in 1-2 hours, his human needs a little sleep now. Thanks for watching over us. The HC I have is only 16% so it's just over MC. Better check to make sure I have a better MC and HC for future use.
 
+10.5 = 199. Should I give 1.4 U or 1.25 U this am after drop last night. Gave slightly reduced, 1.25 U with low PMPS+128, his lowest preshot number. Had been on 1.4 for > 3 days.
 
If you are following TR, he hasn't earned a reduction by dropping below 50. I would go back to 1.40U.

Btw, why is it 1.4U and not 1.5U? :-)
 
He had been reacting so to changes I had been going up by .2 each time rather than .25. Seems a bit easier for me to gauge. Just on a line, just over the line, just under the next and so on. In reality probably no difference .2 and .25 on that small of a syringe seems to be 1 drop. Thanks for the help overnight.
I just did his AMPS and back up to 273, definitely 1.4! Will start a new thread for today when I wake up more, long night.
 
Back
Top