7/21 Tarragon PMPS 170 +2/118 +3/78 +4/70 +5/72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=48070

Good morning LL!

All 5 p's. Nice calm morning in our house. Tarragon was very patient this morning and ate all his breffis. I ordered a harness and it should get here today. It might be money wasted, but we will try both of the kitties and see if either one likes it. They usually freak out at the thought of going outside for any reason. Of course, the only time they leave is for the vet so maybe that has something to do with it.

We go to Cleveland/Detroit next Friday for 4 days. This is the first time since diagnosis that we will all be gone. I searched for someone to take care of Tarragon and the vet referred a girl who has been a vet tech in the past and has experience in insulin. She is going to be staying at our house while we are gone and is coming over Saturday to meet the fur gang. Hopefully it will work out. That would save us from having to take Charlie to "camp" as well.

Hope you all have a great Friday eve!
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

Hi Melissa, nice to hear Tarragon is feeling good! Good luck with the harness. I used it on my GA kitty, and at first time he didn't like the harness, but in time he got used to it and would wait by the door to go outside. That is great that you have a referral from your Vet, and she will stay at your house, perfect set-up. That should help ease your mind while you're gone for the trip. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

Good luck with the harness and with the pet sitter. Hope the kitties like her.

Have a wonderful day
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252



I got this in an email and thought it was worth posting.
 

Attachments

  • thumb_spy.jpg
    thumb_spy.jpg
    25.3 KB · Views: 475
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

It looks like that Tarragon is coming down nicely... In his own sweet time. :D Go, Tarragon! :-D

Wishing you much luck on the harness. I hope that the kitties will accept it.
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

:lol: on the picture! too funny! i love the expressions on the dog and on the "speaker" cat.

maybe if you let the cats wear the harness around inside at first it would let them get used to one thing at a time.

our neighbor's cat, i think her name is Mrs. Pink, walks with the dogs. every day the neighbor takes her 2 dogs for a walk around our culdesac and every day Mrs. Pink walks just behind them. it's the funniest thing to see mrs. pink's tail up in the air with the dogs. she's not in a harness or on a leash but we live in an almost-no-traffic neighborhood of 5 cul-de-sacs or dead ends.
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

hOPE YOU HAVE A GOOD TRIP-& great on the vet tech...
Moonie was a feral, & wouldnt go out if she could!--Good luck on the harness!
Tarragon is doing very well--Have a good fursday--Many Hugs from us!!!
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

Morning! Nice on the trip - it will be nice to get away. It is great that you have a vet tech to come and stay with the gang. What a relief that must be.

Good luck with the harness - I hope they like it, and can get outside for a while. Mannie loves the outdoors, goes as often as he can. He's really good about staying close to the house. Phew!

Love the photo - very funny!

have a great day guys, and Tarragon - you have a good cycle! think blues!!
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

Good Morning Melissa!!

I'm sure Tarragon will take to the harness like a duck to water! I got one for Leo a few months back and put it on him to go to the park, pretty soon it got to be so routine that everytime he saw the harness he gets all excited cause he knows he's going to the park.

Awesome that you found someone to come by and take care of your fur gang, hopefully they like her.

You have a great Friday eve too!
PS love the pic...soooo cute
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

Hahaha! Great photo!

That is terrific about the vet tech who can stay with your furry family.

Oh boy, I can't wait to hear about your adventures in using a harness with Tarragon.
My first attempt with BigMac was not so good. The harness was too small. So I got a small dog one and it fit - although I had trouble figuring out which end was up. ohmygod_smile

When I got it on him, it was comfy and he didn't seem to mind, but he just sat there. I attached the leash and opened the door... nuthin....
Finally we got outside he walked around but the concept of a leash was confusing to both of us, hahaha! We need to work on this some more I think.
I don't want to take BigMac for a 'drag.'

Give me some hints as you learn!
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon AMPS 252

Good luck with the harness. I tried it on my cat Boots (GA) and he just never got used to it. I think I wasn't patient enough so I dropped the training. I'm sure you will have more patience.

I hope the vet tech gets along well with your kitties. It makes it so much easier when you can find someone that you will feel comfortable with. Luckily, my mom stays at our house when we are gone, but unfortunately can't do the testing or shots. My DH and I have only been away for 2 nights together since Simon was diagnosed. FD has definitely changed our "get up and travel" routine. But it is worth it to have my babies happy and healthy!
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon PMPS 170 +2/118 +3/78 +4/70

Tarragon is trying hard for a reduction. Paws crossed he gets it. Glad I don't work in the morning.

Have a great night all!
 
Re: 7/21 Tarragon PMPS 170 +2/118 +3/78 +4/70

Wow..what a night for Tarragon! YIPPPEE!!!! Hope he doesn't keep you up all night but continues this nice cycle.

That's great you got someone to stay there and give Tarragon insulin. Now you can go and have fun!!
 
This is very un-Tarragonlike. He usually dives way down but has been surfing on those 70's for a couple of hours. He hasn't eaten anything and is sleeping flat on his back airing himself out. He only sits up for testing. Silly kitty. Too early to stop testing since his nadir is usually +6 or +8. Hmmmmm.
 
what a great night! surfin' already at a lovely green level. stay right there Tarragon - they are great numbers!

I love it when they sleep flat on their back... too cute!
 
Melissa, you used the exact expression my sister uses about Champ....he's airing it out!! Which is exactly what he's doing right this minute. How great you found someone to housesit and catsit!!! Perfect arrangement. Enjoy your mini vacation with no shot schedule!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top