7/21 SIUJIM amps (298) +6 (183) pmps (221)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sun

Member Since 2010
thx guys for your advice. i have raised the dose from 4.5unit to 5.

you folks are right, her BG was so high over 400. and all of a sudden just 0.5unit more, pre shot goes back to 190 in the third shot of 5 unit.
i understand it takes 6 dose for them to get used to the dose. will go on monitor.

and i also do the instruction of vet to feed after shot (as her curve has been very flat and +3 and even +6 is higher than pre shot). to keep her mid range low helps her to recover.

to play safe, i tested (make sure if it is not under 180) and also fed a small dish of food after test and before shot, then 20mins later full meal.

plus i have been trying homeopathic remedies for a week too.
i guess everything working together.

pls advise.

may i ask when i have to lower the dose, if her pre shot is lower than certain no?

thxxxx.
anson
 
Hi

Yes please monitor - anything can happen on a new dose.

Please read, and print out the dosing protocol we use here in the Lantus forum.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Dose is not based on preshot number, but rather the "peak"/nadir

I'm going to remind you again, I'm not trying to be a pain, but you need to get more BG spotchecks in each cycle.

Those missing tests are very important in determining how Lantus is working.
Not all cycles are the same, numbers can change...so you need to get those spotchecks at night and when you can in the day time too.
 
yes,i will.

i have a question, the following no -- 40 is pre shot or mid day/night (lowest point) of BG?

thx
anson

Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.


Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi

Yes please monitor - anything can happen on a new dose.

Please read, and print out the dosing protocol we use here in the Lantus forum.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Dose is not based on preshot number, but rather the "peak"/nadir

I'm going to remind you again, I'm not trying to be a pain, but you need to get more BG spotchecks in each cycle.

Those missing tests are very important in determining how Lantus is working.
Not all cycles are the same, numbers can change...so you need to get those spotchecks at night and when you can in the day time too.
 
That would be nadir (peak, the lowest point),
however some kitties do reach their nadir near the end of a cycle or early in a cycle, nadir can change,
it's important to catch it and track it.

You always want to re-test and feed a small snack with any lower than usual numbers in the 50's or 40's or less.
Testing again in 15 minutes to 30 minutes until numbers start to go up.
 
today, i want to test more. but i pinned 5-6 times and still can't get any blood.

i have developed quite good skills already. and i pined the sweet spots also.
guess i really pin her too much.

i will check urine during the day at least.

pls undrestand it is NOT tha ti don't want to test.
it is their ears which can't bear...

i slept only 4-5 hrs per day for the last 6-7 months... just to take care of her.

Ronnie & Luna said:
That would be nadir (peak, the lowest point),
however some kitties do reach their nadir near the end of a cycle or early in a cycle, nadir can change,
it's important to catch it and track it.

You always want to re-test and feed a small snack with any lower than usual numbers in the 50's or 40's or less.
Testing again in 15 minutes to 30 minutes until numbers start to go up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top