? 7/21 Roxy AMPS: 77.4 Shot!

Nervous!! Looking at her numbers from few days ago when she was at same number she went up to 6 after 2 hours and that’s before insulin would be kicking in so we’d expect her to be at least at 10 before it starts to work . Seems to take 4-6 hours to start to drop.
 
Feed a little mc at +1 and test again 20 minutes later. Make sure you get a +2 test, too. You need to be prepared to test and feed tonight. The AMPS were low. Are you up for that? Put a "?" in your thread title if you feel you need help. She went up after a low AMPS a couple of days ago but you can never count on that. Things change.
 
I just tested at +1 and she's still flat! if not a little lower.
I just gave her a tablespoon of dry kibble (that she hasn't had in months) and will test again soon. Of course she would drop today - 1st time ever, the first time I decide to shoot low!
 
OK so she dropped again! 3.3 after another 30 mins. So food having no impact! I have just given her some FF gravy food
Help!
 
The first cell after the shot says 'ValueE'...can you fix that one? Remove the word 'then' from your 'World' View in that cell - numbers only please.

Ok, so you're going to be home to test. Do you have your hypo kit ready (high carb & medium carb foods) karo syrup or honey? If she continues to drop put some karo/honey on the back of her paw and let her lick it off.

Continue to test until she can go for two hours without food - to see if she's on the rise...the food/honey/syrup will bump up her numbers but that won't last ... so you'll have to keep testing.
 
Ok, let's see how she does on the FF gravy.

You may want to remove the 911 - that's for emergencies - so far she's sailing along - 77 is a beautiful healing number.
 
so the fact that she's not going up as usual around now, is that a really good sign that her own insulin mechanism could be kicking in?
 
That's a significant drop already at 2+; swipe a dab of karo syrup or honey on the back of her paw - whether she enjoys it or not isn't the point - it'll get her numbers up immediately...
 
so the fact that she's not going up as usual around now, is that a really good sign that her own insulin mechanism could be kicking in?

Well this could be that the depot is built up to it's max strength and this is an active cycle - the insulin is working full strength - it appears too that you've shot a falling numbers cycle. Sometimes without having tests pre-shot - like within an hour or two before the actual pre-shot test, it's hard to know if it's a falling number or not - very often we recommend another test in 20 minutes WITH NO FOOD, to see if the numbers are going up or down. If they're going down, it's probably a good idea to either 1)Skip 2)reduce the dose - typically newer members stay with SLGS and would reduce at 90...but she's not quite earned a reduction yet.

I think in the early days of Lantus things can happen quickly so you learn how she responds to various foods over time and how to handle falling and rising numbers.
 
We'll have to see. Keep testing every 15-20 minutes for the next hour or so if you can. You'll probably see a spike from the honey/gravy/dry food soon, but it will even out when the honey leaves her system (which usually doesn't take very long). The HC food is what will last longer in her.
 
OK up 0.5 - 3.8 from 3.3 30 mins later
Wil test again in 30 and watch her closely

Good! That's the food bump.

I'm hoping @tiffmaxee or one @Librarianista will be around with you later to see how things are going. I'm up early and it's getting late for me - and DH just had surgery yesterday...

Just stay with the testing until you can allow her to go for two hours without food and see those numbers coming up on their own.

Next you're going to see some really high numbers - she's not used to seeing numbers this low, so she's going to bounce to the moon. Do not be alarmed at those high numbers - that's completely natural and it's a normal response by her body as it's going to perceive these nice low normal numbers as a threat...and her liver is going to unload all the stored glycogen that it has in reserve. I wrote a little story about that a while back...I'll see if I can find it.

But for now, your focus should be on keeping her in safe numbers and away from those lime greens...

You're a good mama to take such good care of your baby girl! :bighug::bighug:
 
Great haven't seen that - it was the Ocean Whitefish & Tuna Feast Gravy so 16%

That's a handy reference for looking for wet canned cat food! I find the highest carb foods and make a list to shop with - sometimes I can find them, sometimes not. I've found there are a few with Cheddar Cheese that are 21% - there are other brands with high carbs too...just gotta do a bit of searching.
 
The green range of 2.8 - 5.5 in the spreadsheet - is that ideal? I thought it was 4.4 - 6.6?

Just as a reference for a goal - this is from the OTJ trail info:
Most kitties will be in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) overall.

The best numbers are between 50 - 100 - that's what we're all working for - so anytime you can get into that healing range it's a great thing! Just gotta get there and stay there - it's been a trick my Luci hasn't been able to accomplish - but there are plenty of kitties who have done it and are doing great in that range.
 
Ok just tested again at +3, she's now at 5.8 (104.4) so up 2 points in 30 mins and definitely rising.
Should I test in an hour now?
 
Glad she's not showing any odd signs! She is at a healthy number right now :D If you can, please add all your earlier tests to the spreadsheet so we can keep track. You can look at June 9 on my spreadsheet for how to format multiple tests in the same hour.
 
Hi Deb,
Roxy is looking great. I think she is liking this dose.
It is always scary the first time you see a run of greens. I can still remember my first time well!
Don’t feed the dry food. It will take longer to get into the system and stay there longer and it is not allowed with TR method
Do you have a range of medium and high carb foods you can give?
Fancy Feast have a range of Gravy Lovers which are medium and high carb. Have a look at the food chart on the Australian information sheet I sent you for carb amounts.
If you have a hypo kit set up, which I’m sure you do, these foods should be in it.
If she drops down lower than the preshot in the first couple of hours, it is OK to give a teaspoon of MC food to bring her up a bit, as it is early in the cycle and you still have a way to go before nadir. But you don’t want to feed her too much. Surfing in the higher green numbers is great and where you want her to be.
 
Glad she's not showing any odd signs! She is at a healthy number right now :D If you can, please add all your earlier tests to the spreadsheet so we can keep track. You can look at June 9 on my spreadsheet for how to format multiple tests in the same hour.

I put them all into notes in the cells. When I put anything other than numbers in the cell someone else said they came up as ERROR in the US sheet so I used Notes instead.
 
Hi Deb,
Roxy is looking great. I think she is liking this dose.
It is always scary the first time you see a run of greens. I can still remember my first time well!
Don’t feed the dry food. It will take longer to get into the system and stay there longer and it is not allowed with TR method
Do you have a range of medium and high carb foods you can give?
Fancy Feast have a range of Gravy Lovers which are medium and high carb. Have a look at the food chart on the Australian information sheet I sent you for carb amounts.
If you have a hypo kit set up, which I’m sure you do, these foods should be in it.
If she drops down lower than the preshot in the first couple of hours, it is OK to give a teaspoon of MC food to bring her up a bit, as it is early in the cycle and you still have a way to go before nadir. But you don’t want to feed her too much. Surfing in the higher green numbers is great and where you want her to be.

Took a long while to get there LOL
OK re dry food.
Yes I have the FF Gravy box, that is what I gave her after low read as mentioned above.
She had a whole can over the space of an hour! I will know next time and feel less worried.
 
If she drops down lower than the preshot in the first couple of hours, it is OK to give a teaspoon of MC food to bring her up a bit, as it is early in the cycle and you still have a way to go before nadir
I should qualify this by saying if she drops down lower than the preshot early in the cycle……...I am only talking about dropping down into lower greens early on the cycle, not the usual drops we see when a cat is having an active cycle and is in higher numbers. And it is usually only necessary to give a teaspoon of higher carb food early in the cycle with low numbers until you gather data and know how your kitty handles these early drops
 
Right so she has dropped a bit (5.8 down to 5.1) again but I guess that quick spike was due to the honey / higher carb food. I just gave her a teaspoon of pate turkey.
Will test again in an hour..?
 
Yes. If she’s at a healthy number for her nadir (+6/7), I would think you’re in the clear for this cycle. But I will defer to more experienced voices. If you’re able to leave LC food out for her to graze, then she’ll be able to sort of self-regulate the rest of the cycle until +10 when you should take food away until PMPS.
 
Right so she has dropped a bit (5.8 down to 5.1) again but I guess that quick spike was due to the honey / higher carb food. I just gave her a teaspoon of pate turkey.
Will test again in an hour..?
Yes, you can test again in 1 hour to see she is surfing.
I would not give honey unless she drops below 50 (2.8) and only a teaspoon of the higher carb food if she’s dropping into the lower greens early in the cycle.
 
Yes. If she’s at a healthy number for her nadir (+6/7), I would think you’re in the clear for this cycle. But I will defer to more experienced voices. If you’re able to leave LC food out for her to graze, then she’ll be able to sort of self-regulate the rest of the cycle until +10 when you should take food away until PMPS.

haven't got to her nadir yet, that should be in another hour or so. Will test again now and see if she's going up or down.
 
Yes. If she’s at a healthy number for her nadir (+6/7), I would think you’re in the clear for this cycle. But I will defer to more experienced voices. If you’re able to leave LC food out for her to graze, then she’ll be able to sort of self-regulate the rest of the cycle until +10 when you should take food away until PMPS.
Lol Roxy will just eat whatever is out all at once, no self-regulation. Look forward to that! She used to eat half her dinner and then finish it a couple of hours later. When she starts doing that again I will know we're onto a good thing!
 
Hi Deb, the green range is what you want Roxy to be in to heal her pancreas and encourage it to produce its own insulin. If you look at my Ruby's spreadsheet, that's pretty much where I was able to keep her until she got sick in the last few months. What you want to is to keep Roxy "surfing" with low carb food so that it helps the insulin along and she doesn't drop too quickly. You're doing a great job and it certainly helps that she's a good eater! :)
 
I think she’s probably good if you want to give both yourselves a break from testing. I might check again at +8 or 9 to fill in some data points, but that’s me personally and my curiosity. I don’t know that it’s necessary.

Great job!
 
Back
Top