7/21 Rhinog PMPS 274 dose advice appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruth and Rhinog

Member Since 2010
Hi,

Rhinog was up to 1.25units and doing well with plenty of green numbers. Then his started to bounce back to pink at every preshot so I reduced his dose to 1unit and the bounce has gone but so have the green numbers. We are back to blues and yellows

Is it better to go back to 1.25 units and be green and pink or should we stay on 1 unit and be blue and yellow? :?

He is still on prednisolone 2.5mg twice a day which I know is causing the bounces.

Any advice gratefully received!

Many thanks,

Ruth x
 
Just wanted to say hi. I don't have experience with pred and diabetes, but I'm interested to see what others say.
 
to me it looks like your dose reduction failed (you lost the green). In that case, you should go back up to the last good dose (1.25).

Remember with Lantus we are dosing according to the nadir, with only a little bit of consideration to the preshots. Bouncing is a normal part of the process, but for most cats the bouncing will diminish as they get more used to good numbers. Sometimes we'll add a little bit to the insulin dose to help combat the bounces, but for right now I would just go back to the 1.25. Grab as many tests as you can so you'll have a good idea of what the dose is doing between the shots.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top