7/21 Ming AMPS = 389, +5 = 196, +7 = 158 thoughts?

Crista & Ming

Member Since 2018
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-10-ming-6-pm-200-update.233421/

Hello! Long time no see!

Ming was in the hospital for 2 days last week but is now doing very well (and I am too. Just extremely busy with work and family.)

Since his hospitalization, his dosing has been ... different for lack of a better term and I'm wondering if there is an explanation for it and if you lovely people have any advice for me.

You'll also notice that Ming's is BARE
:oops: That's because I've been baaaad and depend mostly on my meter's app to track his BGs and plugging it into the SS has gone out of habit for me. I've spent some time to plug in the last months' BGs but let me know if you need more info than that.

I'll start from the beginning:

July 9
  • In the PM, Ming did not want to eat his before bed snack even though I gave him THREE options of FF!! He would eat a bit and then go and bother me for food. All night, he was bothering me for food but I ignored him because I thought he was just being incredibly picky.
July 10
  • In the morning, I offered him a FOURTH option of food (freeze dried duck) which he ate for the majority of the day.
  • Around PMPS he vomited.
  • At PMPS, he ate 1/4 of a can of FF and didn't want to eat his before bed snack.
  • I gave some bupe just in case.
July 11
  • At AMPS, I set out FF for breakfast and promptly left to go to the dentist for 2 hours
  • When I got home, he had vomited 5x and had not eaten his breakfast
  • At +3, I gave him meds: cerenia, bupe, and b12
  • He was NOT interested in FF, FF HC, freeze dried, or even temptations!
  • He would only eat churu stick and this specific freeze dried treat
  • (he doesn't get temptations and churu regularly. Only for situations like this where he's not eating)
  • At +7 AM, his BG went lime so I took him to the hospital since he wasn't eating.
  • Upon admittance, he was bradycardic and lethargic. Blood pressure at 140. We took blood and urine for in-house results and specFPL. (attached file)
  • He was put on fluids, ondansetron, bupe, antibiotics.
  • My vet gave him a dexamethasone shot, assuming he had pancreatitis due to the high lipase levels in his blood. I ok'd this especially because 3 years ago, when he was DKA with pancreatitis, that really helped push him past his infection
  • No ketones
  • I wrote an insulin plan to give less insulin (2.5 units vs. 3.25 units he's been getting)
  • He started eating by PMPS!
July 12
  • Ming continued eating readily throughout the night and day
  • Gave 3 units in the AM. His BG dropped to 49 on the AlphaTrak and he was put on Dextrose CRI overnight
  • Vet gave me two options: give him insulin and keep him on the dextrose OR don't give him insulin at PMPS and keep him on dextrose CRI - I opted to skip insulin since he had no ketones and I didn't want a hypo overnight with no vet (there is only a vet assistant that works overnight)
July 13
  • Dextrose CRI was discontinued at 4 AM
  • Ming got 2.5 units at AMPS at 8:30 AM
  • His specFPL came back at 1.7 so technically no pancreatitis. (Back in February, we did an ultrasound just to check up on him since his last one was 3 years ago and the radiologist noted low grade pancreatitis but he wasn't symptomatic. We did a specFPL and it came back normal too.)
  • He did well throughout the day and was discharged a few hours before PMPS
  • Vet warned me to not give his usual insulin dose because maybe his metabolism was all whack??
Since then, he's been getting 2 units and even on that, he's went super low today (27 @ +4.5 AM!!!!!). I opted to not give him insulin tonight because I'm working and my mom was watching him.

I'm not sure what to make of this data and what's happening in his body. I feel like I'm messing up his doses by changing it so much too.

Also wondering if I should get more testing? He had xrays back in Feb as well and it was normal. He got bloodwork and a dental last month (one tooth taken out) and it was all normal.

If anyone has any ideas or advice, I would very much appreciate it!
 
Last edited:
Hello Crista
The dexamethasone does not appear to have increased the BGs at all in the am cycles but he looks like he bounced in the PM cycles when in hospital on the dexamethasone CRI. He has certainly had some low BGs.
Looking at your signature I see you have said he had rapid reductions in August 2020. Maybe this is happening again for whatever reason.
I think all you can do is to keep reducing the dose if the BGs are telling you to.
Let’s see what others think.
 
Hello Crista
The dexamethasone does not appear to have increased the BGs at all in the am cycles but he looks like he bounced in the PM cycles when in hospital on the dexamethasone CRI. He has certainly had some low BGs.
Looking at your signature I see you have said he had rapid reductions in August 2020. Maybe this is happening again for whatever reason.
I think all you can do is to keep reducing the dose if the BGs are telling you to.
Let’s see what others think.
Thanks Bron! Good to hear that you think what I'm doing is okay :)

Ya, back in August 2020, Ming earned lots of reductions and some members said it looked similar to an IAA breakthough. I'm unable to test for IAA because his blood is so lipemic, even after a 10ish hour fast.
 
Hi Crista, sorry to see Ming was feeling unwell but it looks like he's doing much better. I'm glad you reduced, yikes on that 27 :eek:. I usually say don't mess with the 30s, but in the 20s, that's truly getting into shark-infested waters! Ming looks like he's flattened out a little, and hopefully with the NS last night, he'll behave himself tonight. Even with the typical later nadir on Lev, I'd say watch the PMPS, and if he's dropped into low blues, that may mean watching out for a bit more action earlier, since I've found sometimes that I get a late nadir on Lev, into the +14-15%, which may have been what you saw on yesterday's am cycle, and he may decide to do it again tonight.
 
Hi Crista, sorry to see Ming was feeling unwell but it looks like he's doing much better. I'm glad you reduced, yikes on that 27 :eek:. I usually say don't mess with the 30s, but in the 20s, that's truly getting into shark-infested waters! Ming looks like he's flattened out a little, and hopefully with the NS last night, he'll behave himself tonight. Even with the typical later nadir on Lev, I'd say watch the PMPS, and if he's dropped into low blues, that may mean watching out for a bit more action earlier, since I've found sometimes that I get a late nadir on Lev, into the +14-15%, which may have been what you saw on yesterday's am cycle, and he may decide to do it again tonight.

Oh yaaa I’m hoping it won’t happen but I’m also 99% expecting that late Nadir around that time too :facepalm:
 
Back
Top