7/21 Catman AMPS 348, +6 197, +9 172, PMPS 199, +3 346?

AliceR

Member Since 2020
Hey all!

I am generally nervous about lows at night so I gave Catman 2 units this evening (8p). Getting used to blues, I'm wondering If 2.25 would have prevented the 346? Are 180 point swings in the curves normal 10 days in combined with switching off dry to FF?

He jumped up on the bed for the first time in a long time so I was surprised by the 346 at 11p.
 
The link to your previous post here, for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-19-catman-amps-152-2u-3-196-6-295-9-354.232452/

It's really important to try to stick with the same dose for a while. Every change in dose disrupts the depot. We also determine how to change the dose based primarily on the nadirs or low points. The preshot tests tell us if it's safe to give insulin. And as it turns out with Lantus, you generally get much flatter cycles if you shoot lower numbers. 199 would have been fine to give the full dose, and you do know he was on his way up from +9 to PMPS. Equally, you should have given 2.5 units last night too. Giving 2.25 units tonight would not have made that big a difference in tonight's +3. He's likely bouncing from what to him is a long stretch of blues.

Next time you get a lower preshot than you are comfortable shooting, do NOT feed, and post here for help. On this forum, we say go ahead and shoot anything over 150. Under that we can help you decide what to do.
 
Whew. This can get really complicated.

Over 150 PS rising from +9 OK with 2.5.
Stay on 2.5 for a while.
Under 150 PS no food and post "Stalling!"

Gassho
 
Back
Top