7/21 Boomer AMPS 362 +3 328 +6 281 PMPS 292 +3 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
I can't even manage a good morning this morning. AMPS 362 shooting .75u
He came down nicely yesterday so I'm doubting it's bad insulin.
And if it's an infection.....I don't think he'd come down like he did yesterday?

What do I do to help my baby?

Boomer ate most of his overnight fuds; he left a bit of +3 and a bit of +9 despite getting me up at 5:00 (+9) to stir the remaining food in his dish :rolleyes:
Allen ate very well last night.
Weighing day....Boomer 16.0 lbs Allen 11.8 lbs. Both are holding steady.
 
I like Carla's advice, Judy. As upsetting as it is, he seems to have developed a need for more juice for now. I'd try getting him back down as quickly/safely as possible.
 
So potentially I should increase to 1.25 tomorrow morning?
Thoughts? I will be home all weekend to monitor.
His numbers are making me ill.
 
I know how hard it is to see the numbers, but try to focus on how Boomer is feeling and acting....easier said that done, of course, but if he's feeling and eating well, that is more than half the battle.

Do you think he could use a vetty visit again - new labs or anything like that?

I could be wrong, but unfortunately I'm inclined to believe that restarting him at .25U after the dental may be why you're seeing these numbers now. We all hope that a dental will produce immediate BG improvement, but sometimes (I think more often than not) it just doesn't happen that way.

Personally I'm not sure about fast-tracking him - I don't have any experience with increasing more frequently than every 6 cycles, so hopefully someone else with more experience will come along about that.

You WILL get to a breakthrough dose....don't make yourself ill!!!
 
I'm looking at it like a reduced dose for vacation. When you come back from vacation and the dose is not getting the cat into good numbers, you go back to the last good dose. I'm inclined to agree with Amy that the reduced dose after the dental didn't work and he needs more juice. Hang in there. You'll get him back to good numbers eventually. It just takes time. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I would not jump back to 1.25 but rather follow the protocol and increase every 6 cycles if warranted. He hit good numbers for 7 days on .25 so not sure you can say 1.25 was the last good dose IMHO. While he may need more insulin I'd do it safely. I believe NDW may have set in and could take the 6 cycles to see what he's doing on this dose. These numbers are out of the ordinary for Boomer and I feel for you Judy so hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Personally I'm not sure about fast-tracking him
Fast tracking would be increasing every 4 cycles but personally I don't think it's a good approach for Boomer. Usually it's done with kitties who are clearly stuck, have a known or suspected high dose condition. When I look at the picture of Boomer, he saw green just 6 days ago. 6 cycle increases are safer...just my 2 cents.
 
I would not jump back to 1.25 but rather follow the protocol and increase every 6 cycles if warranted. He hit good numbers for 7 days on .25 so not sure you can say 1.25 was the last good dose IMHO. While he may need more insulin I'd do it safely. I believe NDW may have set in and could take the 6 cycles to see what he's doing on this dose. These numbers are out of the ordinary for Boomer and I feel for you Judy so hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Just a reminder that he has been on and off antibiotics since June 8
 
Do you think he could use a vetty visit again - new labs or anything like that?
Well I've certainly been considering it. But....if he has an infection or if it's the tooth problem (possible lesions) would his levels have dropped like they did yesterday? He dropped over 100 points!
 
Sorry to hear about your frustrations... :bighug:
Don't forget to take a deep breath and pull up your patience pants, hard as that is.
Hoping for a quick, controlled slide into lower numbers for Boomer.
 
Hi there :cool:

All 5 Ps in place?

Did he have any extractions during the recent dental?

Any chance he got into any contraband?

I too think that, in the absence of ketones, it's best to increase as per TR. I know how hard it is to see pink and want to shoot it down.
 
I have little experience with anitbiotics. Looking back to June 8th I only see some spotty yellows so not sure the relevance. Certainly see what others have to say. If you feel going back to 1.25 is the right thing to do that is your call :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Is there any chance something from his dental is acting up? I hope Boomer settles back down for you, Judy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
That has occurred to me too. Not sure if the vets use catheters when doing dentals but I understand they can introduce infection.
 
Well I've certainly been considering it. But....if he has an infection or if it's the tooth problem (possible lesions) would his levels have dropped like they did yesterday? He dropped over 100 points!
I honestly don't know, either...that's what can (of course) be so frustrating about FD. Trix used to occasionally fall out of beautiful perfectly green regulation for no apparent reason. One time I even had to take her from 1U to over 5U to get a break through, and there was no explanation that we could find behind it.

I'm inclined to think he's got a combination of bouncing and not enough juice going on right now. It is hard, I know, but remember safety does come first, so you don't want to increase too sharply solely based on the stress of seeing these numbers. He's got his 5ps going, and that is very, very important. TR does allow for frequent increases done safely. As we've often said here....better to be high for a day than to low for a minute. Even with frequent monitoring, increasing too quickly/too much could put Boomer into a low-numbers situation that may be challenging to contend with. Just something to keep in mind.
 
I feel for you, Judy. Practically the whole time Squallie was on Vetsulin I was "chasing" his numbers. Lantus changed that picture dramatically! I think Boomer may have some NDW going on, or maybe an unseen result from the dental. Have patience, you will get him sorted out, it just might take a little bit longer. Many :bighug::bighug::bighug:!
 
I honestly don't know, either...that's what can (of course) be so frustrating about FD. Trix used to occasionally fall out of beautiful perfectly green regulation for no apparent reason. One time I even had to take her from 1U to over 5U to get a break through, and there was no explanation that we could find behind it.

I'm inclined to think he's got a combination of bouncing and not enough juice going on right now. It is hard, I know, but remember safety does come first, so you don't want to increase too sharply solely based on the stress of seeing these numbers. He's got his 5ps going, and that is very, very important. TR does allow for frequent increases done safely. As we've often said here....better to be high for a day than to low for a minute. Even with frequent monitoring, increasing too quickly/too much could put Boomer into a low-numbers situation that may be challenging to contend with. Just something to keep in mind.
Yes, I will go back to my original plan of increasing by .25 every 6 cycles :bighug::bighug:
 
restarting him at .25U after the dental may be why you're seeing these numbers now.
Yeah, it seemed like a good idea at the time. My thoughts at that time were that his numbers were still good (low blues) and I was certainly blaming the inflammation in his mouth for at least part of the reason for his higher BGs. sigh Well there are no do-overs so all I can do is carry on and increase him every 6 cycles and hope I can get a handle on this soon.
 
Yeah, it seemed like a good idea at the time. My thoughts at that time were that his numbers were still good (low blues) and I was certainly blaming the inflammation in his mouth for at least part of the reason for his higher BGs. sigh Well there are no do-overs so all I can do is carry on and increase him every 6 cycles and hope I can get a handle on this soon.
I know...hindsight is always 20/20 and we stuck without working crystal balls here in L&LL. It will be fine - Boomer will get back into the groove, I know he will! Just focus on the fact that he is feeling well.
 
Hi there :cool:

All 5 Ps in place?

Did he have any extractions during the recent dental?

Any chance he got into any contraband?

I too think that, in the absence of ketones, it's best to increase as per TR. I know how hard it is to see pink and want to shoot it down.
Yes, he's pooping normally. Peeing normally. Playing a bit even though he hasn't played in many many months. Umm....the other two ps....preening? Yup. I don't remember what the other P is lol.
No extractions. X-rays show the possibility of 2 teeth with absortive lesions; X-rays have been sent to a specialist and we haven't heard back yet but vet didn't think they would cause insulin resistance
No, no contraband. The worse that could happen (unless he helps himself to people food) is that he eats Allen's food which, half the time, is exactly the same food Boomer eats but with p-binder on it. The other half of the time Allen gets a ff with gravy. But no Boomer has not had any of it.
 
By any wild chance could he have fleas? Just grasping at straws with that...when we start a flea outbreak here, Doc's numbers fly to the moon and stay there until I give flea meds and kill the outbreak. He then dives to the rocks - have to call in the reserves to drag him out of the mud. :)
 
By any wild chance could he have fleas? Just grasping at straws with that...when we start a flea outbreak here, Doc's numbers fly to the moon and stay there until I give flea meds and kill the outbreak. He then dives to the rocks - have to call in the reserves to drag him out of the mud. :)
I brush him every night so I just took a look at the hair in the brush and no there's no sign of flea dirt.
 
I would be tempted to take him back in for blood work. And the vet could look at his teeth. Very upsetting to see those colors after a long run of greens.
I think you do need to increase the dose to get him in the greens again, while you try to figure out the cause of the problem.
 
I suspect the reduction in dose post dental was premature. Boomer's little pancreas tried to keep up with the reduction in insulin, but just got pooped out. He's not quite ready to take the training wheels (insulin) off yet. Neko's dose often had to go up post dental - until the inflammation went down.

Let's see what he's like when he gets back to his pre dental dose, and if necessary, replace the insulin. The remaining teeth that need to go could also be causing some issues.
 
Hey Judy, I think a call to the specialist is in order about the lesions. They could be the culprit and causing his numbers to rise. Poor Boomer if there are lesions will have to go back under again to have the teeth removed. :eek:

Does he move his head side to side while eating? That is what Bubba did when he had a bad tooth. He would look like he was trying to get the food to the "good " side of his mouth to chew. Also, dropping the food from their mouth is another common sign of a tooth ache, and drooling.
 
Hey Judy, I think a call to the specialist is in order about the lesions. They could be the culprit and causing his numbers to rise. Poor Boomer if there are lesions will have to go back under again to have the teeth removed. :eek:

Does he move his head side to side while eating? That is what Bubba did when he had a bad tooth. He would look like he was trying to get the food to the "good " side of his mouth to chew. Also, dropping the food from their mouth is another common sign of a tooth ache, and drooling.
Hmmm...well they are on both sides of his mouth :rolleyes: I don't think he's eating any differently. But I will send Dr Larry a message and ask.
 
Sent a message to Dr Larry asking if the specialist had got back to him yet.
Apparently he didn't initially send the X-rays; he just emailed the specialist asking if she would look at them. She just replied yesterday (almost 2 weeks later) and indicated that she would so he sent the X-rays yesterday.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
Sent a message to Dr Larry asking if the specialist had got back to him yet.
Apparently he didn't initially send the X-rays; he just emailed the specialist asking if she would look at them. She just replied yesterday (almost 2 weeks later) and indicated that she would so he sent the X-rays yesterday.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
ugh.......I HATE with medical stuff falls through the cracks. :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top