7/21, Binie, PMPS 274, +3.75 61, +6 123, +7 94

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-20-binie-lab-work-how-to-go-on.292331/

Good afternoon,

yesterday was Binies first day on 1.5 IU and it seemsl like Binie does not want an increase even though her numbers clearly looked like she needs it. In the evening she started lower as usually at night with a yellow preshot. She stayed in yellow for two hours before she started to drop quickly. At 3.5 I started to feed high carb wet (20%) and managed to wait before I fed some high carb pill pockets because she was going down fast. I think I didn't overfeed this time and so she surfed in lower numbers for five hours. Today I decreased to 1.25 IU again.

Yesterday was a very hot day here and I really feel that the temperature can leed to faster absorption of the insulin. From tomorrow on it will be much cooler and I am curious how it develops then. Somehow I doubt that 1.25 is the right dose now because before we didn't see any good numbers anymore. Curious, how it develops the next days. Today she bounced to flat pink all day.

I spent half of the night with Binie on the terrasse and watched her. I felt she really enjoyed her time, even though there is so much not right in her body. I saw her watching little insects, getting up and watching curious what happens if she heard a crack somewhere and we watched a mouse collecting peanuts which fell down from the bird feeder. In the past she would have tried to catch the mouse but yesterday she was just watching very awake and interested. Seems she just accepts her limits and is o.k., with the life she is living now. The last six month since her diagnosis have been so full of worrys, anxiety and sadness for me. Last night I decided that it is enough and that I try to concentrate on the good moments with her and how we can have a good life together. Somehow she manages her life so much better than I do. Grateful to learn from that.

Hope you all have a nice sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike :)
Looks like the numbers in the title correspond wit yesterday's numbers in the SS.
Could it be that Binie's bouncing from her greens last PM cycle ? I'm not sure what's your reduction point as I follow TR and no close to nothing about SLGS.
I think it's better to tag some of the experienced members to give you a feedback @Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee

I love the way you observed Binie and how you spent time together. I'm familiar with the process of sadness and worry and happy to hear you're shifting your attention to the good moments. I'm a great fan of honest feelings but I know that comparing how our little ones were to how they are now is not a supportive process.

I wish you many more moments of shared delight :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Did you double check the 78 last night with an ear prick? I suspect it would have been higher. If only using the Libre that did earn a reduction.
 
Hi Heike :)
Looks like the numbers in the title correspond wit yesterday's numbers in the SS.
Could it be that Binie's bouncing from her greens last PM cycle ? I'm not sure what's your reduction point as I follow TR and no close to nothing about SLGS.
I think it's better to tag some of the experienced members to give you a feedback @Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee

I love the way you observed Binie and how you spent time together. I'm familiar with the process of sadness and worry and happy to hear you're shifting your attention to the good moments. I'm a great fan of honest feelings but I know that comparing how our little ones were to how they are now is not a supportive process.

I wish you many more moments of shared delight :bighug::bighug::bighug:


Hi Shelly, oh yes, now I understand that was confusing. The numbers in the title are from yesterday pm cycle because I thought that was much more remarkable than the bounce today. With SLGS 90 ist the reduction point.

And yes, I also felt that the comparison doesn't help, even if it is healthy to grieve about something which is lost. But I sometimes tend to be stuck there and don't appreciate what is valuable in the moment any more. Seems like animals are not looking back in that way. Thank you so much for validating my thoughts and feelings, it means a lot to me! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Did you double check the 78 last night with an ear prick? I suspect it would have been higher. If only using the Libre that did earn a reduction.

Hi Elise, no, she did not let me but 61 was the lowest at 3.75 and I gave her lots of carbs so I thought it was necessary to reduce. I'll see what the next days bring. Thank you for checking on us!
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-20-binie-lab-work-how-to-go-on.292331/

Good afternoon,

yesterday was Binies first day on 1.5 IU and it seemsl like Binie does not want an increase even though her numbers clearly looked like she needs it. In the evening she started lower as usually at night with a yellow preshot. She stayed in yellow for two hours before she started to drop quickly. At 3.5 I started to feed high carb wet (20%) and managed to wait before I fed some high carb pill pockets because she was going down fast. I think I didn't overfeed this time and so she surfed in lower numbers for five hours. Today I decreased to 1.25 IU again.

Yesterday was a very hot day here and I really feel that the temperature can leed to faster absorption of the insulin. From tomorrow on it will be much cooler and I am curious how it develops then. Somehow I doubt that 1.25 is the right dose now because before we didn't see any good numbers anymore. Curious, how it develops the next days. Today she bounced to flat pink all day.

I spent half of the night with Binie on the terrasse and watched her. I felt she really enjoyed her time, even though there is so much not right in her body. I saw her watching little insects, getting up and watching curious what happens if she heard a crack somewhere and we watched a mouse collecting peanuts which fell down from the bird feeder. In the past she would have tried to catch the mouse but yesterday she was just watching very awake and interested. Seems she just accepts her limits and is o.k., with the life she is living now. The last six month since her diagnosis have been so full of worrys, anxiety and sadness for me. Last night I decided that it is enough and that I try to concentrate on the good moments with her and how we can have a good life together. Somehow she manages her life so much better than I do. Grateful to learn from that.

Hope you all have a nice sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, what a sweet post about what you and Binie saw overnight on the terrace. It sounds like she enjoyed her evening out there with you joining her.
I hope this dose is good for her. She will tell you if it is or not by her numbers.
I’m sorry you had a rough night with those lower numbers and feeding the carbs. It’s not an easy night when that goes on. I’m with you on that ;)

You are so in tune with her needs and desires you’re doing a great job. Binie is so lucky you are her Mum❤️❤️❤️

Have a safe night and a relaxing sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You can always go back up.

I'm happy to read that you and Binie are enjoying one another. Our kitties are sooooo much more than this FD! I too have learned a lot about life and myself from my Cleo ❤️. Thank you for reminding me of that today :bighug:
 
Oh Heike what sweet sentiments. It’s so true we can learn from our kitties to enjoy the things in life that we can in the moment. I love your post and it reminds me to adjust my way of thinking. We need to love our life as it is now, not what it was or what it could/will be. Thank you dear friend for the lovely story…I could see the picture of you two in my mind….

I hope everything settles down for you with a happy result with the dose and the tests.
Hugs to both of you. You’re such a beautiful person…
 
Hi Heike, what a sweet post about what you and Binie saw overnight on the terrace. It sounds like she enjoyed her evening out there with you joining her.
I hope this dose is good for her. She will tell you if it is or not by her numbers.
I’m sorry you had a rough night with those lower numbers and feeding the carbs. It’s not an easy night when that goes on. I’m with you on that ;)

You are so in tune with her needs and desires you’re doing a great job. Binie is so lucky you are her Mum❤️❤️❤️

Have a safe night and a relaxing sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Oh, you are so sweet, thank you Staci! I feel also lucky and privileged to be her mum! Yes, it was a little tough to stay up but also rewarding. And during her bouncing day today I could take a long nap. Tonight she is going down quite fast again and so we might have another quality time on the terrasse. :) I hope Ivy slows down tonight, you really had a tough weekend! And I hope you also can spend some quality time with her tonight without all that feeding and poking hassle. :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
You can always go back up.

I'm happy to read that you and Binie are enjoying one another. Our kitties are sooooo much more than this FD! I too have learned a lot about life and myself from my Cleo ❤️. Thank you for reminding me of that today :bighug:

Thank you so much Cleo! :bighug: You are so right, that we should not reduce our cats to their disease. And don't forget enjoying our time with them. I hope you have a beautiful time today with Cleo! :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Oh Heike what sweet sentiments. It’s so true we can learn from our kitties to enjoy the things in life that we can in the moment. I love your post and it reminds me to adjust my way of thinking. We need to love our life as it is now, not what it was or what it could/will be. Thank you dear friend for the lovely story…I could see the picture of you two in my mind….

I hope everything settles down for you with a happy result with the dose and the tests.
Hugs to both of you. You’re such a beautiful person…

Oh Deb...so sweet, thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I also think that acceptance is a key but I have to admit, that I still struggle to accept Binies health situation most of the days. But yesterday night was a special moment and Binie helped me to see the other side of the situation. And every time I read in Tigers SS "played", I have to smile and I know you see that too. Hope you recover well from this stressful weekend and you kuddle a lot with Tiger. Hi is so loved and I am sure, he knows that!
 
Oh, you are so sweet, thank you Staci! I feel also lucky and privileged to be her mum! Yes, it was a little tough to stay up but also rewarding. And during her bouncing day today I could take a long nap. Tonight she is going down quite fast again and so we might have another quality time on the terrasse. :) I hope Ivy slows down tonight, you really had a tough weekend! And I hope you also can spend some quality time with her tonight without all that feeding and poking hassle. :bighug::cat::bighug:
I’m sending you good wishes for a calm night for both of you to get some rest, sweet Heike.
I hope you are both sleeping now :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Back
Top