7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155, +4.5pm 37

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Evenin’ kids:

I don’t usually post on Saturdays but I am home from fest volunteering tonight since I had to shoot insulin. Tom is still with his father who came thru surgery ok but then ended back in the ER today.

Spreadsheet is current but we might have an “active” cycle tonight. We are 155 at +2 tonight.

Yesterday and last night we were flat mid to high 200s.

Today amps 256, +3 283, pmps 200, +2pm 155

I had plans I thought I should cancel tonight since he seems like he might go low. Didn’t want to overfeed and screw anything up. So I have a date with two kitties tonight :-D

We’ll keep ya posted.....
 
Re: 7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155 !!!

They are very understanding. We are having a party on the fest groundz tonight, "Redneck Thanksgiving”. So I am being texted photos of the costumes. Hilarious.

I thought it was great too, just a little nervous but I am here to monitor what happens.
 
Re: 7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155 !!!

+ 3pm is 95!!! :mrgreen:

Should I be thinking I am going to feed the drop at some point tonight?
 
Re: 7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155, +3pm 95 !!!

You're thinking is right on target. How about feeding some LC (a teaspoon or two) and retesting in 30 min?
 
Re: 7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155, +3pm 95 !!!

Ok. I test for +4 in about 20 mins, should I see where he is, then feed?
 
Re: 7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155, +3pm 95 !!!

Just tested a little early for +4...we got 41 !!! :shock:

So since our low carb food is only 1-2 %, I added a tiny nudge of the high carb to it. He gobbled it down. Will keep testing. Sometimes food takes 45 mins or so to show up on him but I will test in a half hour.
 
Re: 7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155, +3pm 95 !!!

So I know hindsight is 20/20, but since his pmps tonight was 200, should I have reduced his dose to avoid this? I didn't think I should do that but want to know for next time...
 
Re: 7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155, +3pm 95 !!!

Not quite 30 minutes from feeding but had to know. Just tested and he's 37. Fed a bit of high carb.
I have been thru low numbers on PZI but not Lantus yet. Anyone out there can help?
 
I'm around. You need to give some HC to get the numbers into the 50s - 60s. Please re-test in 30 min.

The lesson here is when you see a drop like you did by +2 (more than 20% of your pre-shot number), you need to monitor. This is why I encouraged you to get a +3.5.

Here are the instructions for handling low numbers.
 
Just logged in to find Asher at 37. I am sure you will get some help. Hoping he comes up a little... Soon!
 
Sienne is the expert so please follow her advice. :-D Also, my understanding is this is an automatic reduction by 0.25u so that would be 2.25u in the morning. Woohoo!
Liz
 
I've been thru this quite a few times but never on Lantus so that makes me a bit nervous. He is acting fine and very happy to get his favorite gravy food ;-) will retest at the top of the hour.

Thanks Sienne and everyone!
 
I'm assuming that the test (lather), feed (rinse) and repeat plan isn't very different with PZI. The one difference may be that because Lantus is a longer acting insulin, numbers can wobble around. You need to be sure you've got rising numbers before you turn in for the night.
 
The way today has gone, I fully expect to be up all night. :roll:

I will set my alarm as needed but now I seem to be wide awake :shock:
Thank god I didn't go back to fest tonight. That "out the door" test is priceless.
 
Good news 57. I'll keep testing tho...no worries on that! nailbite_smile

I'm gonna remove the 911 now....
 
HI Donna,
Nice job, Asher!

You're in great hands, but wanted to let you know I was watching too. I have no curfew tonight, I don't have to be back at work till 2pm if this becomes an all nighter.

Carl
 
Thanks Carl. We r doing pretty good. +5.5 was 53 so not much change from 30 mins ago. Will keep testing every half hour for now.
 
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Post-Party Party at the Lagoon!
summer_33-1.gif
 
Super! When was the last time he munched? Doesn't look like he needs a snack, just wondering.
Carl
 
Donna, could you update the subject line of your first post with all of the test values?
7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200,+2 155,+4.5 37,+5 57,+6 65
Also, you don't need the "pm" since you have a pmps number. That will give you more room for values. Great job!
Liz
 
Hi Donna!
sorry I was not around last night, had to go out with my sister
looks like everything went well though
you got through your first hypo with Lantus
I know that the first hypo on a new isulin is just as scarey as the "first time"
you were great though and I hope Asher did not bounce too much
Congrats on the decrease!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Ditto what Denise said... it feels like the first time all over again, no matter how long you've been in the dance!

Glad things went so well - you handled them beautifully!!!
 
Re: 7/21 Asher amps 256, pmps 200, +2pm 155

Hi everyone:
Sorry I never got back to posting last night. I tried to get on and post after our last test around 2am and I couldn’t get on the site. Dunno if it was on my end or not, but I kept getting a server down message.

This morning I had to run out early and felt safe doing so since we had an expected bounce then flat 200s all day. And Tom got home so was with Asher the better part of the day.

We are back down to 2.25 units and we’ll see how that goes for awhile.

I will post more tomorrow. On Sunday when I get back from working at fest I am just spent, especially this weekend with the stress of Tom’s Dad in the hospital, etc. (He is home now and all seems well)

A good night to everyone, “talk” to you all in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top