7/21/22 Christy AMPS 145, 0 u, +0.5 147, +1 162

Michele A & Christy

Member Since 2022
This is Day Five since starting insulin. We're doing SLGS. The sticky for Lantus info says that if AMPS are below 150, don't give insulin.

I still give insulin, though, right, since we're just starting out? Or wait 15-30 minutes and test again?

Or what?

Thanks,
 
For now on, please set up your title like this each day:

Date CatName AMPS # +hour # (and so on) PMPS # +hour # (and so on)

This just makes it easier for all advisors to see Christy's numbers quickly ;)
 
I fed, but no insulin.
Asa you are doing SLGS
I would skip the dose as you are only just starting and we have very little data and SlGS says if the BGus under 150 done give insulin .
So feed as normal but don’t give the dose. If you want to change the schedule to an earlier time…this is a good opportunity to do it.
Otherwise test at PMpS and give the dose. The Bg will probably be higher after a skipped dose but don’t worry.
 
Next time you get a lower than normal pre shot, stall, don’t feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising . And post and ask for help:)

Thanks, Bron.

If it's rising without food, would that indicate that I should give insulin?

I'm asking in advance because, on some mornings, I won't have much time for emailing and waiting for a reply because of my job.
 
Thanks, Bron.

If it's rising without food, would that indicate that I should give insulin?

I'm asking in advance because, on some mornings, I won't have much time for emailing and waiting for a reply because of my job.
As you gather more data on how Christy reacts to insulin, it will be easier to tell when you can give the dose. But generally speaking, if the BG is rising, it is indicating that the previous dose of insulin is wearing off and the BG is rising on its own.
But because you are only a few days into the journey, I would stick with what the SLGS dosing method says to do.
what do you do when you go to work about food?
Do you have an automatic timed feeder you can use to leave food out for Christy to have ?
Two or three small snacks during the first 6 or 7 hours of all cycles is a good idea, as well as the pre shot meal

Put NS into the U column of the SS to indicate you did not give a dose of insulin.
 
Does the "Don't shoot, wait until 11 hours from now to give PM dose" advice still apply if her +1 after AMPS is now 162?
If you are asking if you can give the dose now, the answer is no, because you fed her and the BG is food influenced.
That is why we say don’t feed and stall, because we want the BG not to be food influenced. Does that make sense?
 
As you gather more data on how Christy reacts to insulin, it will be easier to tell when you can give the dose. But generally speaking, if the BG is rising, it is indicating that the previous dose of insulin is wearing off and the BG is rising on its own.
But because you are only a few days into the journey, I would stick with what the SLGS dosing method says to do.
what do you do when you go to work about food?
Do you have an automatic timed feeder you can use to leave food out for Christy to have ?
Two or three small snacks during the first 6 or 7 hours of all cycles is a good idea, as well as the pre shot meal

I haven't gone to work yet since her dx. My brother took his own life three weeks ago and my company has been good about letting me work from home. Our protocol right now is to only go in 2 days a week but, since my elderly mother lives with me and she requires a lot of care, I've only been going in one day a week.

But what I'm doing working from home is what I assume I'll do when I go into the office: Put her usual amount of low-carb wet food in a bowl on the counter. I usually "refresh" it with a bit of water throughout the day, and my mom can handle that on my in-office days.

I have four other cats so an automatic timed feeder wouldn't really help.
 
If you are asking if you can give the dose now, the answer is no, because you fed her and the BG is food influenced.
That is why we say don’t feed and stall, because we want the BG not to be food influenced. Does that make sense?

Yes, it makes sense. I just saw how bad she ended up feeling when I fur-shotted her AM dose a couple days ago and was hoping to avoid seeing her slide back into excessive thirst and urination. But, yeah, I know I'd rather see that than have her go hypo.
 
I am so dreadfully sorry to hear about your brother. That must have been devastating for you and your family.
I am sure your mother is needing a lot of care and attention at the moment.
Do take care of yourself :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I am so dreadfully sorry to hear about your brother. That must have been devastating for you and your family.
I am sure your mother is needing a lot of care and attention at the moment.
Do take care of yourself :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you. We're still reeling from it, of course. I was already hurting from the death of my next-door neighbor, who was like an older brother to me for 20 years. His own son killed him in April. Then my brother's death. Followed almost immediately by Christy's dx. It's all a bit much.

Glad I can lean on the good knowledge and support here. No way could I keep all of this straight on my own right now.
 
Thank you. We're still reeling from it, of course. I was already hurting from the death of my next-door neighbor, who was like an older brother to me for 20 years. His own son killed him in April. Then my brother's death. Followed almost immediately by Christy's dx. It's all a bit much.

Glad I can lean on the good knowledge and support here. No way could I keep all of this straight on my own right now.
Lean on us all you need to. You are going through a very difficult time.:bighug:
 
I was just stopping by to welcome you, Michele, to the forum. Then I read of your recent tragic losses. That is a lot to bear. I am so very sorry. We are here for you to help with Christy though.:bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top