7/21/13: Izzy amps 232, pmps 282

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet and Izzy (GA)

Member Since 2013
Do you guys only test via the ears? I feel so bad that I have poked her litters ears over a 100x already. Probably more than that with all the times I didn't hit blood :(
 
Re: 7/21/13: Izzy amps 232

I've always poked Gabby in the ear -- the same ear. (And, I test a lot!) Some people will poke paw pads. I have a feeling my kitty wouldn't put up with that.

If no one mentioned it, you can use Neosporin with Pain Relief. You can apply a very small amount either at night to help with healing or a tiny bit before you poke.
 
Re: 7/21/13: Izzy amps 232: she climbed her stairs today :)

Thanks...I read that somewhere last night and promptly put it on my shopping list. Just wasn't sure if that was "enough".

she is starting to feel better. I have steps that used to be next to the bed that I took away when she couldn't stand or walk after her hyper episode. Today, though they are not next to the bed, she wobbly hopped to the top of them. Her way of saying I think...put these back where they belong. So I did.

I think that little show and tell wore her out though cause she hasn't used them since. I did put them next to the bed sideways so when she goes to come off the bed she has a larger pad to land on and then go down the steps. Pillows on the high side in case she wobbles. I don't want her tumbling off onto something hard. :YMSIGH:

And I get the stink eye now every time I walk towards her or if she hear the glucometer chime up lol

All good signs. Just wish those numbers would come down a lil.
 
Re: 7/21/13: Izzy amps 232

Another Stink Eye kitty! :o :shock: :o

Are you giving her the treats to make her more accepting of the testing, even to have her learn to come running to the sound of the glucometer turning on?
 
Re: 7/21/13: Izzy amps 232

I apply about 20 seconds of pressure on the ear after the poke. That helps with healing. You're doing a great job! It's wonderful to read that Izzy is feeling better. :-D
Liz
 
she is not big on treats lol I did give her sardines packed in water without salt tonight right after her testing she seemed down with that lol I keep telling her once she it all settled and regulated I won't poker her as much lol
 
Izzy's numbers aren't looking too bad at all. What would you think about increasing her dose to 1.25u? Maybe she'd like seeing some green!
 
If she likes the sardines, how about some fresh or frozen shrimp?

She has beautiful long hair. You said she is a Maine Coon, but it looks like she has something else mixed in there.

Does she talk to you a lot?
 
Re: 7/21/13: pmps 282, missed the pm shoot! 309 +2

Crap! I fed Izzy, got freaking side tracked and forgot to shoot her at 6:30. It's now 8:18pm. do I just skip it? since its too late? and her next shot is 6:30 am????
 
Can you adjust the AM shot time to be 12 hours from when you shoot now? If you can, than shoot. If you cannot, then skip the shot for tonight and note it on your SS.
 
If you can shoot approximately 12 hours from when you shoot tonight and work back towards getting on schedule by shooting early 15 mins per cycle or 30 mins once cycle a day, then I'd shoot.

Also, if she goes up over 300 by +11, you could shoot an hour early in the morning to help get her back on track.

Here are some Testing and Shooting Tips which might help you.
 
wow...now I Have more questions lol

I use the lancing tool that came with the glucometer. The vet tech said to use the tool. is it easier to poke without out? I have never tried that.

When I shoot her on sub q nights I shoot her kind of between what is show as a flank shot and just down past the spine on her side. The Vet said they typically don't shoot there because of nerve endings but if she was ok with it...it was ok. So I only do that on sub q days and it doesn't seem to bother her.
 
WOOT! :-D Izzy is ON MY BED! That means...she climbed her little doggy stairs all by herself and got up there on her own. 21 days ago, she could barely stand. 26 days ago, the vet thought she should be dead with that 819 blood glucose level...why she was negative for keytones I will never understand. But this is PROGRESS...in spite of her momma still learning and even forgetting to give a timely shot here and there!
 
Many of us free hand the pokes. Gracie did not like the click of the lancing device near her ear so we've always free handed. Some prefer the device, some prefer free hand.

I usually shoot chest, side, and flank. Absorption is supposed to be a little faster when you aren't shooting the scruff. You are wise to separate the subq and insulin injection sites.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top