? 7/20 - Woody, AMPS 306,+ 2, 36, + 4, 140 Dosing advice

Mimik

Member Since 2024
Hello Ladies,
Woody, has been doing really well ( since last week's hypo events) I have had him on 3.5 and 3.25 depending on how low his #'s have been reading.

I currently, as of today, have him on 3.25 should I keep him on this for the full 6 cycles and see where he's at, then adjust?

Woody has been doing so well this week, it's spectacular. He feels better, he's moving all over on the property, eating on his own ( which is something so very new) playing, grooming. these three things he has not done since last year.

I keep telling everyone -- if it were not for the panel on this board Woody would not be around. I give so many thanks, in the most sincere of my thoughts to you all every day.
 
Any time kitty goes under 50 (for a newly diagnosed cat, which Woody is), reduce the dose by 0.25 units. For his safety, please lower the dose to 3.0 units.

I have had him on 3.5 and 3.25 depending on how low his #'s have been reading.
That's not how our dosing methods work. We go by how low a particular dose is taking him. He's been spending too much time in the 30's lately. We also find it's best to stick to consistent dosing. We don't change the dose based on the preshot values. That's not how we find Lantus works best.
 
Evening Wendy. I realize PS is not a dose # indicator, and consistency, yes. I should have left him on 3.25 and not bumped him to 3.50 -- should I take his dose down tomorrow then? As I know his #'s have been hitting much lower -- Okay, thanks,
 
Yes, reduce to 3.0 units. Worst case you have to go back up, but better than keeping him on a dose taking him so low.
 
Back
Top