? 7/20 Tiger Amps 400+, 47 +6. Dose tonight?

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-19-tiger-pmps-389.292310/#post-3194580

It appears the last few cycles were a bounce and he came off it in a big way today. Started at +4 and kept going to 47 +6.
I gave him HC 2 times and syrup 2 times spaced out in time, and he kept dropping. Hubby took him to the vet since nothing was bringing him up and is still there. He called to let me know he was 82 on the way up there and was at back down to 67 by the time he got there. They did a manual reading and it was 105. Update: After 30 mins (approx) they did another reading and the manual was 94 and the libre was 122. Relief but also still low for all those carbs he’s had. At least we have a comparison while in low numbers but 1 time manual was lower and 1 time manual was lower. So nothing definitive, which is worrisome.

I don’t understand we had 2 nights in a row of lower numbers and then he bounces for 2 days. Why didn’t he bounce after the first low number? Then he goes lower than ever???

All this is scaring me. Every dose seems still too much and he goes low and then bounces sky high. I understand the teeth healing is having a great impact on his numbers, which is great but it makes it hard trying to figure out what his magic dose is. 2 hours since last carbs and he hast gone above 122, scary.

He’s earned another reduction but is that low enough? @Wendy&Neko

I will update when they get back but it helps my nerves to get this started while memory is clear!
 
Last edited:
Update
Hubby got back with Tiger about an hour ago. I didn’t go because of my ankle, he could move faster to get him there.
They took his bg several times while there. They used a human meter, a cat meter and compared it to the libre. The human meter compared to libre was not consistent. The cat meter was closer to the libre but again not consistent.

The vet thinks Tiger is trying to go into remission. I guess she thinks his body is producing insulin in addition to what we give him. She want us to lower his dose to 1u, and only give it if his ps is over 200. I tend to agree with this since I want to keep him safe but I don’t really know enough to know what to believe anymore.

I do know he is not responding to carbs/ syrup like he used to. Almost 5 hours after all the carbs he just went over 200. Before he would be off the charts.

otherwise he checked out good and was hungry when he got home. And he just threw that up, so have to go….
 
Tiger has earned a reduction down to 1.25 units. I expect he'll be well above 200 at PMPS time.

Was the vet 105 (libre 67) on a human or pet meter? Same questions for the vet 94 (libre 122).
 
Tiger has earned a reduction down to 1.25 units. I expect he'll be well above 200 at PMPS time.

Was the vet 105 (libre 67) on a human or pet meter? Same questions for the vet 94 (libre 122).
Tiger got very sick this evening threw up all his food and major diarrhea. He still hasn’t eaten even after we managed to get a cerenia in him. Too late for a shot tonight and an empty stomach. I’m spent physically and emotionally today. Just want to sit down and cry actually. Still trying to get him to eat….i suspect all the food and syrup was too much for him today.

I believe they used a pet meter and a human meter, but would need to check with hubby which those numbers were for.

thanks for your response Wendy. I really appreciate just wore out….
 
Take the opportunity to get some sleep tonight. :bighug: Meanwhile, the depot will drain some, making the next few days less hectic BG wise.

What are you using for HC these days? We've also had a kitty allergic to corn, meaning karo couldn't be used to bring that cat up. But maple syrup or honey did work. My Neko ended up not being to handle wheat, so I had to switch to an HC that was potato based for carbs.
 
Tiger got very sick this evening threw up all his food and major diarrhea. He still hasn’t eaten even after we managed to get a cerenia in him. Too late for a shot tonight and an empty stomach. I’m spent physically and emotionally today. Just want to sit down and cry actually. Still trying to get him to eat….i suspect all the food and syrup was too much for him today.

I believe they used a pet meter and a human meter, but would need to check with hubby which those numbers were for.

thanks for your response Wendy. I really appreciate just wore out….
I’m so sorry Deb. I hope he (and you) both feel much better today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Deb...what a night! I hope you got some rest and Tiger is much better. I am sure he must have been exhausted too. I send you lots of healing thoughts and hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Take the opportunity to get some sleep tonight. :bighug: Meanwhile, the depot will drain some, making the next few days less hectic BG wise.

What are you using for HC these days? We've also had a kitty allergic to corn, meaning karo couldn't be used to bring that cat up. But maple syrup or honey did work. My Neko ended up not being to handle wheat, so I had to switch to an HC that was potato based for carbs.
I asked hubby about the meters:
1st reading
Libre 67
Pet meter 105

2nd reading
Libre 122
Pet meter 114
Human meter 94

For HC I am using the same as I always have, FF chicken or tune with cheddar. Today it’s all he will eat at all. Went through 6 other foods trying to get him to eat today…..of course he doesn’t need the carbs at all today.
I’m sure the depot will drain and of course he is bouncing sky high today as expected.
 
I asked hubby about the meters:
1st reading
Libre 67
Pet meter 105

2nd reading
Libre 122
Pet meter 114
Human meter 94

For HC I am using the same as I always have, FF chicken or tune with cheddar. Today it’s all he will eat at all. Went through 6 other foods trying to get him to eat today…..of course he doesn’t need the carbs at all today.
I’m sure the depot will drain and of course he is bouncing sky high today as expected.

Did your husband remember if the arrows of the libre went up or down? That can make a big difference, as I learned. If the arrow is straight for example, it means the bg is falling fast. As the libre has a time lag to the bg, it can be that the handheld shows a number below the libre because the bg is ahead in time. If the arrow is straight, the libre and the handheld sometimes even match.
 
Did your husband remember if the arrows of the libre went up or down? That can make a big difference, as I learned. If the arrow is straight for example, it means the bg is falling fast. As the libre has a time lag to the bg, it can be that the handheld shows a number below the libre because the bg is ahead in time. If the arrow is straight, the libre and the handheld sometimes even match.
He doesn’t remember but when he left here it was pointing down and the vet is 5 mins away but I can’t say for sure. I know the lag account for some of it, for sure, but the first reading was a difference of 40 which is a lot in lower numbers. Then within 30 mins the libre was higher than the handheld which is confusing.
Thanks for the reminder though, always appreciate it!
 
Back
Top