7/20, Susie, 117 AMPS, 45 @+1.5, 48 @+2, 58 @2.5, 60 @+3

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
It's nice to see Susie back to blue so quickly. You should probably get a +1 to see if she's going to drop quickly today.
She did drop. I had a bit of an emergency this morning and had to leave the house for 45 minutes. Would have tested before +1.5 if I had been here. I'll talk about my emergency when I get her stabilized.
 
Okay, now for the story of my emergency. I am embarrassed to admit this but I feel it could benefit new members on this site - as well as being a good reminder for older members:

I broke one of the cardinal rules of feline diabetes management. I let myself almost run out of test strips. I am usually very organized and prepared. I have my lancets on one shelf in the medicine cabinet and my test strips on another. I thought I had a full box of 200 test strips and when I grabbed it this morning it was lancets. No more test strips. One left in my container. Of course this would be on a morning when Susie had a low AMPS. Thankfully, I have a Walmart three miles up the road and I was there at the crack of dawn when the doors opened at 7:00. I had left a tsp of m/c for her before I left. Fortunately, I was able to get back and test Susie at +1.5 when she had dropped to 45. I did have the functioning AlphaTrac 2 meter and good test strips for that but I didn't want to use them. I will always try to make sure I have a good supply of the following:

Insulin
Test Strips
Lancets
Low carb, medium carb and high carb cat food
Honey or Karo syrup

Of course the are other items in my "Hypo Kit" but the above are constants. Hope somebody will learn something from my egregious error. :arghh::arghh::eek::eek:
 
Glad you were able to get test strips so quickly. I'm glad Susie came up some for you. I hope she continues to surfs safey.
Me too. I'm glad I had the AlphaTrac meter and test strips but I'm not absolutely sure you can use that with the Lantus and not Vetsulin. Does anybody know?
 
Morning Summer, I'm glad Susie is starting to come up, let's go Susie come up some more. Good job Summer. I hope the rest of your day is going to be peaceful ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I don't know what I am thinking about the dosage for PMPS. At this point I do not want to reduce but I want to see what happens today.
Ok, I wanted to hear what you were thinking before I made a suggestion. My thought was not to reduce as we know this is a bounce breaking. I read your post with Marje from the other day. What is your goal - regulation or remission? I don't think I saw an answer to that question.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-19-susie-385-amps.250044/#post-2820818

Thank you, @Marje and Gracie, for all the great information in yesterday's post. I agree that the three drops under 50 are too aggressive for me right now but it is nice to know it is an option should I ever decide to go for remission.

Susie is pretty low this morning so I'll have to keep a close eye on her, again, today.

I hope everyone has a safe and happy day.
You are very welcome, Summer. I’m always happy to help you and Susie on your journey. She really is looking much better and that’s your hard work showing.

These low numbers are likely her depot so see how she does today. We usually don’t take back-to-back reductions unless you are fighting low numbers all cycle.
 
Good morning Summer. I was just talking about taking things for granted like Walmart having Dolly’s syringes. I have plenty of syringes but not the ones that my husband, the shot man, has become comfortable with. Well, Walmart was out. Thanks to all here I was able to order online and they will be here the same day we use our last two. Hopefully :rolleyes:. Hope you have a good day Summer. Susie surf safely. :)
 
Ok, I wanted to hear what you were thinking before I made a suggestion. My thought was not to reduce as we know this is a bounce breaking. I read your post with Marje from the other day. What is your goal - regulation or remission? I don't think I saw an answer to that question.
My goal is regulation - not remission. I had not thought about this as a bounce breaking as I really don't understand what it is other than more normal numbers returning. Why would numbers be lower than normal after a bounce? Marge also mentioned above that the 2.25 depot is still at play and she suggested I don't do back-to-back reductions. Will hold tonight but feel like I am playing with fire if all I want is regulation. I can't deal with this stuff at night.
 
You are very welcome, Summer. I’m always happy to help you and Susie on your journey. She really is looking much better and that’s your hard work showing.

These low numbers are likely her depot so see how she does today. We usually don’t take back-to-back reductions unless you are fighting low numbers all cycle.
Thank you, Marje. I will hold the dose for now depending on how she continues to do the rest of this cycle.. Her last two test were in the 70s so that makes me feel better. Not nearly as bad as the other day.
 
Good morning Summer. I was just talking about taking things for granted like Walmart having Dolly’s syringes. I have plenty of syringes but not the ones that my husband, the shot man, has become comfortable with. Well, Walmart was out. Thanks to all here I was able to order online and they will be here the same day we use our last two. Hopefully :rolleyes:. Hope you have a good day Summer. Susie surf safely. :)
I was just asked if I used the Walmart syringes and I do not. Sounds like there might be a problem with stock. Can you tell me specifically what ReliOn syringes you use and I'll call my local store and see if there is a problem with stock. I'm so happy you were able to order online. Hope you get them in time! That is how I usually get my test strips and lancets.
 
Good morning Summer. I was just talking about taking things for granted like Walmart having Dolly’s syringes. I have plenty of syringes but not the ones that my husband, the shot man, has become comfortable with. Well, Walmart was out. Thanks to all here I was able to order online and they will be here the same day we use our last two. Hopefully :rolleyes:. Hope you have a good day Summer. Susie surf safely. :)
I just called my local Walmart and they have the ReliOn 31, 8mm, 1/2 marking syringes and have had no problems getting them in stock. I don't know if this is the same ones that your husband likes.
 
Me too. I'm glad I had the AlphaTrac meter and test strips but I'm not absolutely sure you can use that with the Lantus and not Vetsulin. Does anybody know?
I still use my Alpha Trak as well as the Relion. It is absolutely ok to use with Lantus, the type of insulin doesn't matter. It reads higher than a human meter is all. The Relion, for example, can read 50 and the AT can read 68 for the same blood sample.
So in a pinch (ran out of RO strips ;) ) you can still use it, but make sure to familiarize yourself with the different "take action" numbers if she gets low.
 
Why would numbers be lower than normal after a bounce?
Yesterday AMPS was 385. It steadily dropped until this morning +1 with 45, with the exception of 291 late in the cycle yesterday. If I see a number that is in pinks or even yellows, I assume it's a bounce, but I look at the numbers after that to see if they drop. When bounces break, the numbers can drop faster than normal and it's harder to bring the cat up or to slow the drop.

If your goal is regulation, then 2u is a good dose to keep as long as Susie shows you nadirs in greens. Nadirs are what you want to look at when you decide if the dose is good or not. :D
 
I still use my Alpha Trak as well as the Relion. It is absolutely ok to use with Lantus, the type of insulin doesn't matter. It reads higher than a human meter is all. The Relion, for example, can read 50 and the AT can read 68 for the same blood sample.
So in a pinch (ran out of RO strips ;) ) you can still use it, but make sure to familiarize yourself with the different "take action" numbers if she gets low.
I started off on the Vetsulin when Susie was first diagnosed and that is when I got the AlphTrac2 meter and strips. What do you mean by the different "take action" numbers if she gets low. Do you mean because the AlphaTrac reads higher I need to keep in mind the number I am seeing on the meter?
 
Okay, now for the story of my emergency. I am embarrassed to admit this but I feel it could benefit new members on this site - as well as being a good reminder for older members:

I broke one of the cardinal rules of feline diabetes management. I let myself almost run out of test strips. I am usually very organized and prepared. I have my lancets on one shelf in the medicine cabinet and my test strips on another. I thought I had a full box of 200 test strips and when I grabbed it this morning it was lancets. No more test strips. One left in my container. Of course this would be on a morning when Susie had a low AMPS. Thankfully, I have a Walmart three miles up the road and I was there at the crack of dawn when the doors opened at 7:00. I had left a tsp of m/c for her before I left. Fortunately, I was able to get back and test Susie at +1.5 when she had dropped to 45. I did have the functioning AlphaTrac 2 meter and good test strips for that but I didn't want to use them. I will always try to make sure I have a good supply of the following:

Insulin
Test Strips
Lancets
Low carb, medium carb and high carb cat food
Honey or Karo syrup

Of course the are other items in my "Hypo Kit" but the above are constants. Hope somebody will learn something from my egregious error. :arghh::arghh::eek::eek:

Don't feel too bad. I DID completely run out of test strips several weeks ago when Shooter was in the middle of limes & low greens. My fiance kept his eye on him while I ran to Walmart. Won't do that again!
 
Yesterday AMPS was 385. It steadily dropped until this morning +1 with 45, with the exception of 291 late in the cycle yesterday. If I see a number that is in pinks or even yellows, I assume it's a bounce, but I look at the numbers after that to see if they drop. When bounces break, the numbers can drop faster than normal and it's harder to bring the cat up or to slow the drop.

If your goal is regulation, then 2u is a good dose to keep as long as Susie shows you nadirs in greens. Nadirs are what you want to look at when you decide if the dose is good or not. :D
Thank you, Mandy. I always forget about the "bounce breaking" information I should know. Heck, I have a hard enough time understanding the bounce. :)
 
Pet meters take action number is 68 versus human meter at 50.
Oh, okay. I had not thought about that. I have forgotten most of what I learned about the Vetsulin/AlphaTrac. My brain has been so overwhelmed with information since them. Thanks for reminding me. I probably should put a sticky on the AlphaTrac meter to remind me if I ever find I have to use it.
 
Unfortunately, it doesn't help you. Prayers you get your supplies in time. There are a lot of things that seem to be disappearing from store shelves these days. I hope we are not going to have a problem getting diabetic supplies!
Fancy Feast and Friskies pate’s have been very limited for over a year from store shelves, Amazon and eBay. At least that is the case where I live. It’s frustrating going from store to store.
 
Fancy Feast and Friskies pate’s have been very limited for over a year from store shelves, Amazon and eBay. At least that is the case where I live. It’s frustrating going from store to store.
My Publix had store shelves lacking a lot of FF a couple of weeks ago but seemed pretty well stocked yesterday. I order a lot of that food from Chewy. They are super quick but they are out of Florida so that helps me get my orders quickly. If you spend $49 with Chewy you get free shipping. I assume that applies to CA too but can't be sure. You might want to consider looking in to this company. They have great customer service. I am starting to not want to go out again with this Delta variant and the increases in Covid around the country. If there is anything I can ever get for you here in Florida, and ship to you, let me know. https://www.chewy.com/app/content/p...rmY_bvqsGpBCIn_F6P_Jg2zhpg9Jjq-4aAtAzEALw_wcB
 
My Publix had store shelves lacking a lot of FF a couple of weeks ago but seemed pretty well stocked yesterday. I order a lot of that food from Chewy. They are super quick but they are out of Florida so that helps me get my orders quickly. If you spend $49 with Chewy you get free shipping. I assume that applies to CA too but can't be sure. You might want to consider looking in to this company. They have great customer service. I am starting to not want to go out again with this Delta variant and the increases in Covid around the country. If there is anything I can ever get for you here in Florida, and ship to you, let me know. https://www.chewy.com/app/content/p...rmY_bvqsGpBCIn_F6P_Jg2zhpg9Jjq-4aAtAzEALw_wcB
Thanks Summer. I have an account with Chewy. Unfortunately the flavors I am looking for are out at Chewys. I get delivery from them in a day, two at the most. Dolly is a fussy one :p
 
I did a similar thing running so low with strips I had 1 left. The box in the bag was lancets. So, I double ordered strips and have the bottles in the diabetes drawer out of the box. I luckily got a shipment from Amazon right away.
Makes me feel good that I am not the only one who has ever made this mistake. I'm so looking forward to you and Ben's "big day". I hope you will stick around to offer support. If all goes well you will never have to panic about having test strips on hand again!
 
I'm finally seeing some numbers that I have always wanted. Higher greens and lower blues. Please, folks, keep your fingers crossed for me that I have finally found a dose that will help regulate my Susie.
 
My Publix had store shelves lacking a lot of FF a couple of weeks ago but seemed pretty well stocked yesterday. I order a lot of that food from Chewy. They are super quick but they are out of Florida so that helps me get my orders quickly. If you spend $49 with Chewy you get free shipping. I assume that applies to CA too but can't be sure. You might want to consider looking in to this company. They have great customer service. I am starting to not want to go out again with this Delta variant and the increases in Covid around the country. If there is anything I can ever get for you here in Florida, and ship to you, let me know. https://www.chewy.com/app/content/p...rmY_bvqsGpBCIn_F6P_Jg2zhpg9Jjq-4aAtAzEALw_wcB
That is so kind of you Summer. Truly thank you. We were at one of the markets yesterday that had her favorite. I bought every can. I have auto ship for another one of her favorites on Amazon. The problem is the ones she likes they raise the price on. Chewy, Amazon. I am not willing to pay those high prices. It’s crazy. For the same mfg, FF in particular, they will charge $5.00 more for certain flavors for the same amount of cans. Anyway, we are good, stocked up for now. Thank you again.
 
Back
Top