7/20 Shadow AMPS 133, +2 144, +4 62, +9 98 pmps 206

Status
Not open for further replies.

rhiannon and shadow (GA)

Member Since 2012
slept on couch thinking I would get bg and really konked out.

Thought I was going to get my first AMPS without her having been fed a couple of hours beforehand since I woke up at 5:04 am
and then realized it was a +9 reading....
can't just jump to the next day I-)

I will get a curve as soon as my new lancet gets here. I have the Accuchek softclix on it's way. At least the every 2 hr effort.
Poor Shadow just doesn't bleed and it takes numerous sticks with my way too fine current lancet (fastclix) . So if the new lancet makes her less aggravated....
I won't feel like I'm torturing her.

And she 's getting more and more angry ..... grr_red
And even madder that I'm bothering her while eating to give her a shot. ( I may have to go find those smaller syringes with smaller needles)
I definitely need to trim some hair off her sides. I'm really slow at finding a spot to shoot and see skin. I swear she has tight skin.
And my pulling on it seems to hurt or maybe it's just she knows what I'm doing and giving me the "don't touch me" rrrrrrr.

I would like to know more about these Lantus pens.....
I thought I read somewhere that they aren't so handy for those of us shooting 1 unit or less.



and how do I repost this post later in the day when I want to update numbers besides just hitting the edit funcion.?
 
Hi Rhiannon!

Do you put neosporin with pain relief ointment (not cream) on her ear after each poke? You do have to wipe it off before the next...and don't be too liberal....just a little dab. And you alternate ears?

Eventually they get to where the ears bleed very easily. Do you use a slightly warmed rice sock? What gauge insulin syringes do you use? I found the 31g are really good...Gracie never even "meeps".
Most of us use 30g lancets although some use 33. Those are pretty fine and it's better on a new FD kitty to use a little larger gauge lancet.

The Solostar Pens come as 5-3ml pens to a pack. As long as you keep them in the frig in a drawer at the right temp, they will last a long time. Once you start using one, you could use it until it's gone....just keep an eye on her numbers and also the pen to make sure it doesn't get any floaties in it. Sometimes out patient pharmacies associated with hospitals sell pens separately. I like using the pens better and Gracie is also on a low dose.

When you want to update her numbers, go to the FIRST post in the condo that day, hit edit, update the numbers in the subject line, hit submit and then if you want to post a message, then open the condo, hit "post reply" and the message goes at the bottom. If you want to get your condo up to the top of the line where we'll see it, just open it, click "post reply" and put "bump" in the text box and click submit.

If you have a question, open the FIRST post in the condo that day, click "edit", and click on the "?" button above the subject line. You can also add something to the subject line after your numbers like "dose help pls". Just be sure that once your question is answered, you take it down so we don't keep coming back to answer the same question. Of course, if you have another one or want other opinions, leave it up.

Hope that helps!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top