7/20 Scrappy AMPS 515, 2.5: 376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Scrappy Doo

Member Since 2011
Scrappy's Condo


Good morning everyone,
Scrappy's AMPS bg numbers have been very high - in the mid to high 400's and now 515...any suggestions.

Based on the protocol, I am planning on increasing his dose tomorrow and will do a curve.

Thanks!
Amy
 
Hi Amy

Sorry to see another kitty is having high numbers. Mine has been high too since last week, mostly 300s. I plan on increasing her dose this evening. I don't have any advice, just wanted to pop in to commiserate, I'm new on this board since June, my cat was diagnosed in December of 2010. Hope he comes down soon.
 
My Sam is doing the same thing. High amps low pmps. Don't know what it could be. I increased his dose and I am having a hard time getting any other readings at home.
 
From your ss, it looks like Scrappy is due for an increase. We'll see if anyone else comes along, but that is what I am seeing. What are you feeding Scrappy? Are you free feeding? I am wondering if he is eating within two hours of his AMPS test. We free feed and sometimes Tarragon still has food left about an hour before I get up and eats it, which bumps up his AMPS number.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
If you're ready, you can increase Scrappy's dose tomorrow (3 days at this dose). Given that his nadirs are generally above 300, you can increase by 0.5u making your new dose 2.0u.

This was Sienne's response to you yesterday evening. Was there a reason you couldn't increase to 2u this morning?

And don't feel discouraged, sometimes it takes time to find that "break-through" dose.

I love the name Scrappy. I had a Scrounge (he was really scroungy when he found me) - best cat I ever saved. And he lived with me for 17 years!
 
Hi Melissa,
Scrappy does not eat before his AMPS and I make sure not to feed him 2-3 hours before his PMPS.

Hi Carolyn,
Unfortunately, I did not see the post until after his shot this morning and I didn't want to increase his shot tonight, because I didn't want to be sleeping if Scrappy has any type of issue, so I will increase in the am.

I love the way we both came up with their names...or I should say how they came up with their names. Fingers crossed we can get him regulated soon.

Have a great night!
Amy
ps - PMPS 440
 
Hi again Amy!

I was just reading yesterdays condo for Scrappy and 2nd Sienne's thoughts on Dental issues. They were BKs Achilles heel.

We had not been thrilled with our vet for a few different reasons. I am hoping that she looked at his teeth & gums, because she did just abut everything else. Is there something we can tell by looking at him?

We had a real tough time finding a vet - lot's of folks do, sadly.

Unless a cat is under anesthesia or very sedated, I don't think a vet can really know whats going on with the teeth and gums. One thing I noticed right away with BK was that his breath could knock over an elephant. If your kitty has bad breath - it's a sign. Trouble eating can be a sign as well. We were so busy the first few months just keeping him alive, dental got put on the back burner. In Oct. 2008 BK had a suspicious lump removed (it was benign). While he was under his vet got a good look into his mouth. There was a broken/ready to fall out molar that she easily removed. She told me his mouth was so bad it was beyond her scope and she referred him to a veterinary dental specialist. He ended up having 8 extractions (Dec 2008). He ended up needing another visit to the specialist in May 2009, just to address a gingivitis recurrace. Since then his regular vet has taken over his yearly dentals (he only has 3 teeth left!). If you take a look at BKs ss,you can see following the 1 tooth that got removed w/the lump, and the 2 subsequent visits to the specialist, his BGs and nisulin needs changed drastically, for the better.
 
Hi Amy - I just wanted to pop in and say hello. Good luck with the dosecrease tomorrow. I hope it helps bring things down for Scrappy. I too love his name BTW.

I'm kind of out of the loop on any dental issues for Scrappy, but can say that they do make a difference. Mannie always had great teeth, until FD came along. We are now a twice a year dental visit, and after each one we have had significant dose reductions. So if it is something you are even considering I would certainly at least have him checked out. It could make a big difference in his BG's. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top