7/20 KARAMELLE AMPS 369 +4 171 +7 83 +10 76 +12.5 94 +6 109

JoM

Member Since 2023
7/19 KARAMELLE AMPS 66 +1 183 +4 128 +6 149 +8 187 PMPS 288 +2 315 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
Well shes bouncing pretty good this morning. Her appetite wasnt great earlier in the day yesterday and then I think she might have eaten a rat and it made her sick. She wouldnt eat last night. (she caught it in the catio, shes not allowed outside) I syringe fed her twice last night and she threw up both times. I gave her some cerenia and Ondansetron and Mirataz last night. This morning i tested then gave her some more Ondansetron, her shot and then syringe fed her again. She hasnt thrown up but still wont eat on her own. This looks so much like Pancreatitis. im going to have her tested next week when my vet is there. They are closed for the weekend. I have everything here to treat her so Im not too worried. Im also going to give her some fluids this morning.
 
Karamelle is a sick girl. She wont eat, is vomiting up the syringed food despite getting Cerenia. I gave her both Cerenia and Ondansetron last night and Ondansetron this morning and another Cerenia a little while ago. I also gave her 60 mls of fluids this morning (subq) Her temp is 99.8, which I know is low. Shes lethargic but protests when i test and syringe feed her. She might have eatedn a rat yesterday, but I questioning that now because she threw up her syringed foo i fed at 5pm and there wasnt any evidence of rat in there. It started yesterday morning. She ate an am meal and one for lunchtime but only ate half her portion, then after that she wouldnt eat at all. She clearly feels sick to her stomach. Im debating taking her to the ER. The reason I havent rushed off yet is the wait time is 4 hours. She needs her PM shot in less than two hours. is her glucose coming down because she isnt eating? Should i even be giving her any insulin tonight?
 
Just found out wait time at the ER is 6-8 hours unless the pet is critical and then they wave the wait time. I dont feel like she would be deemed critical, so I guess i wait till Monday.
 
Do you have anything for pain relief at home? P'titis is supposed to be incredibly painful according to human reports.

She could also be coming down from clearing the bounce caused a couple nights ago. If worried, you could do a half dose tonight. Or less if you've been testing for ketones and she has none.
 
Do you have anything for pain relief at home? P'titis is supposed to be incredibly painful according to human reports.

She could also be coming down from clearing the bounce caused a couple nights ago. If worried, you could do a half dose tonight. Or less if you've been testing for ketones and she has none.
We are at the ER. She can't keep any food down. I didn't give her insulin tonight. They asked me if I brought it but I didn't because without eating I didn't think I should give it. Am I right? They are doing an X-ray to see if something is in there causing her to vomit.
 
She could also be coming down from clearing the bounce caused a couple nights ago. If worried, you could do a half dose tonight. Or less if you've been testing for ketones and she has none.
The insulin was supposed to be given at 8:30 pm but it's almost 9pm now. Even if I went home to get she would get it really late. They are doing some glucose and ketone tests.
 
Keep fingers, toes, paws and tails crossed for sweet Karamelle.:bighug:

Even cats who cannot eat because they are getting anaesthesia, can have a half dose. Insulin does more in the body than combat carbs in food.

It's OK to skip now. Just make sure to test for ketones after tonight when she's home. Not enough food + not enough insulin + system inflammation (like pancreatitis) or infection are the formula for DKA.

See if you can get pain relief if they agree it might been pancreatitis.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Keep fingers, toes, paws and tails crossed for sweet Karamelle.:bighug:

Even cats who cannot eat because they are getting anaesthesia, can have a half dose. Insulin does more in the body than combat carbs in food.

It's OK to skip now. Just make sure to test for ketones after tonight when she's home. Not enough food + not enough insulin + system inflammation (like pancreatitis) or infection are the formula for DKA.

See if you can get pain relief if they agree it might been pancreatitis.
I asked for a pancreatitis test but not sure if they doing one. They did the glucose test on my meter and their pet one. It was 94 on mine and 145 on theirs. I feel terrible now for skipping her shot. They are testing for ketones but I don't have that result yet. At home I just have the urine test strips. Every time I've used them the color never changes on the ketones.
 
Don't worry about the skipped shot, just be vigilant on testing at home. The urine strips will work show you if there is a problem, fingers crossed not.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
So Im home from the ER. Karamelle is still there getting xrays, blood tests. They tested glucose and ketones and said both were normal. I brought my meter with me and tested on both. 94 on my meter and 145 on thier pet meter. The girl who came back into the room with the results said, yours isnt accurate you need to get a pet meter. And I basically said "no thanks" The vet wasnt any better. I probably shouldnt have told her I feed raw. And then i said i also feed Weruva and Fancy Feast sometimes as long as its low carbs. She kept pushing the diabetic diets. I told her that what i was feeding was lower in carbs, but she was pretty stuck on her opinion. I had to ask them 3 times to run a Pancreatitis test, sigh. But they are running one and sending it the lab. Thier systems for the xrays werent working and the Dr said they usually have a radiologist read them , but that she would be reading them. I wasnt too happy about that but another girl came in later saying that their system might be fixed so they charged me for the radiologist. I found some poop when I came home just now that looks like it was starting to harden up a bit. Id given her a probiotic at 3:30 (+7). But there were some red chunks in it that suspiciously look like rat innards. So im pretty positive now its the rat that caused all this. Today, should have done it a long time ago, I put up a temp barrier (plastic mesh) at the bottom of the catio so the rats cant get in. I ordered something more permanant and rat proof. Waiting for the vet to call so I can go back, but about to drink some hot choc and try to finish the movie I was watching.
 
Karamelle is home, still not eating. Tested at +6 (230am) gave 150mls fluids and Mirataz, per vet. They gave her a Cerenia injection. Gave me some ID food to give her but she wouldnt eat it. I finger fed about 9 calories but she wasnt having it and I didnt want her to throw up again, so I'll wait till morning, which is in 4 hours, to try again.
They ran blood work which they said was unremarkable. The xrays just showed gastroenteritis. They didnt see anything else. I think this was all from the rat. Hopefully she will feel better tomorrow.
 
Back
Top