7/20 Harley: AMPS=251; PMPS=183 +1=267

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry and Harley

Member Since 2010
Good Morning!

So, per yesterday's conversation, we'll be hanging out at .5u for the next day or so. Last night's numbers were not that great. So, just posting today's numbers and reposting unanswered questions from yesterday. I included the link, but also just copied the text below. Happy Tuesday!

Yesterday's News
From 7/19:
Oh, one more thing. Do you think it matters if I give her a 1/2 can vs. 1/4 can pre-shot? I do continue to feed her small amounts throughout the day and evening. I'm just trying to avoid the big jump at +1 (PMPS=232, +1=313). Would it be better to wait and feed her at +1 instead of at shot time....meaning, would it prevent the big jump? I know she's super hungry in the morning and evening pre-shot, so I would feel super guilty making her wait, but if it would help out the numbers....I just REALLY want her to get better.


Cheers!

s
 
Re: 7/20 Harley: AMPS=251, +1=306

The "big jump" at +1 is normal.

From the New to the Group stickie:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.

I wouldn't withhold food at shot time. You could be setting yourself up for a fast drop. You don't want fast drops. You want surfing!

For example, I fed a bit more at shot time, a snack at +1, +2 and a little smaller snack sometimes at +3.
To this day, without insulin, Luna still eats more at breakfast and dinner, and smaller snacks for the first couple of hours, and a mid day/mid afternoon snack.
I'm still on a 12/12 schedule even thou there's no insulin involved.

The small meals/snacks in the first couple of hours after shot does help most kitties.
She will get better, but you need your patience cap right? RIGHT! :razz:
 
Re: 7/20 Harley: AMPS=251, +1=306

Hi Sherry,

Looks as if Harley is quite carb sensitive, don't let this worry you, useful to know.You can bear this in mind if bg ever goes low and need to get it up, you may not need quite as high carb food.

Unless a kitty is obese/greedy, I'm not a big fan of limiting their food.
Whenever you feed her, her bg is going to jump, so stick with feeding after shot, especially if your going out, that way you know she's safe.

What I would consider if you get high yellow or above for pmps is to increase to .75u.
I know that green might have freaked you a little, but because you missed the shot (quite rightly) the shed depleted and needs to refill. The fact that her numbers are starting to rise, suggests a need for a smidge more. You may get a quick response and be able to drop down to.5u again.

If Harley has any beta cells still able to recover/working, the insulin for now is giving them a break. Saying on the board, it's a marathon not a sprint :mrgreen:

Looking really good for early days!
 
Re: 7/20 Harley: AMPS=251, +1=306

Thanks, Ronnie and Kate!

Yeah, I know the numbers are expected to go up at +1, I was just wondering if there was a safe way to control or minimize that...like giving the insulin a hot minute to get working and then feeding her (very shortly after). ;-)

It's funny that you mention 'carb sensitive'. I am out of 3% carb food and have been feeding 4% and 5% carb food for the past 2 days. Still LOW carbs, I know, but higher than what she's used to getting....I'm wondering if that has anything to do with the slight rise in her numbers (i.e., not hanging out in the blues anymore). I'm gonna stop by the store and pick up more low(er) carb food and test my theory. When she's hypo'd, I've only ever given her the low-low carb food and she's come right back. Yes, good to know.

And yes, she is also a greedy cat! She would eat all day if I let her....hence her portly figure. I give her 3 small snacks throughout the day and do the same in the evening.

As far as the skipped shot goes, that was a group decision. Since she was so new to Lantus and it was unclear how she would respond to shooting such a low AMPS, the general consensus was to skip it. I was also not going to be around to monitor her if there was a big drop. I've actually developed pretty thick skin when it comes to hypo events...been there, done that (Vetsulin...Humulin...blah!)...it's not half as scary as it used to be (though, to be avoided for sure!). Meaning, it's not SUCH a panicky event for me now, now that I've got a handle on what to do and what to watch out for. Skipping the shot with such low numbers so early on seemed to be the group consensus. As was lowering the dose to .5 at that point, with the mindset being that she may have started too high. I do think that a jump up to .75 is a good idea...I'm just biding my time...waiting for the 10 cycles to pass...practicing my patience. ;-)

What's really keeping me patient (I know it doesn't seem like it!), is keeping in mind that I have this great kitty who happens to have diabetes...but is otherwise healthy (knock on wood). It's devastating to visit this board every day and read about kitties that have passed. Ugh...I cry like a baby every day when I visit this board. Dealing with a diabetic kitty is hard, but not half as hard as what some folks are dealing with. I'm extremely thankful for that. I also see folks whose kitties are/have been on super high doses and are still testing with super high numbers. Again, I know how lucky I am, and I am extremely thankful for that. Perspective...perspective is what will keep me patient.

Thanks for your help!

s
 
Re: 7/20 Harley: AMPS=251, +1=306; PMPS=183

looking good. :smile:

Some cats are very carb sensitive. It's something good to pay attention to as you go along because that information can come in handy at some point. You'll pick up her patterns after a while. The +1 spike is also normal and I don't think hers is out of hand, so at this point I would just let it go. Some cats spike 100 or more points! So Harley's is not so bad.

About dose, get a spot check or two tonight, but if nothing changes then I think she is ready for 0.75 in the morning. It will have been 9 cycles on 0.5 and she has lots of blue, but it's not low blue so we have plenty of room for an increase. What do you think?
 
Re: 7/20 Harley: AMPS=251, +1=306; PMPS=183

Sounds good. Just waiting on the green light from you! ;-)

It seems like she's peaking at +5 instead of +6, so my goal moving forward is to get more of those. Ahhhh, another late night! Crazy behavior analyst that I am, I've got a couple of graphs going. It looks a mess now, but I'm hoping as she starts to progress, the data will look oh so pretty! :-D Which reminds me...I'm out of strips! Got to run to the store. Sheesh....my bank account is no longer speaking to me!

s

Will take a +1 in 15 minutes.
 
Ok. New box of strips in hand. +1=267. She got the very last hidden can of 3% carb FF tonight, so let's see if she can make it back into the blues. I will do my best to stay up for +4 and +5 tests....hope there's something good on TV tonight to keep me up 'til 2am! @-)

Have a lovely evening!

s
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top