? 7/20 FCC AMPS 133, +1.5 88, +4 79, +6 74, PMPS 86, +1 83, +2 63, +3.5 57, +4.5 81

Acadaca

Member Since 2021
Here's hoping the little fellow has a good day. If I understand correctly I am just supposed to keep holding this dose since he's all blues and greens so far?
 
Thank you. I was just about to go in and do that. I was muttering that I can never remember that important step.

He's doing so well. Hopefully just getting healthier and even if this is the dose he gets forever I like to think that the diabetes is not damaging his insides anymore.
 
I can't stay with him as much today. Is it safe to test at 1.5 and leave a little MC food for him if he's dropping fast again?
 
Hopefully just a couple hours. If necessary I can cancel, but I've been pushing it back several days because of the monitoring.
 
Btw, as an exercise in data gathering, you could get tests at +1 and +1.5 on different days to see when his onset is. If he is lower by a bit at +1 or +1.5, feeding some higher carbs then may reduce the diving at +2.
 
That is really helpful information. I will try and start getting those numbers in as well.

He went from 133 at AMPS to 88 at +1.5 so clearly his onset is before +2. At least today. He ate his MC food well and has access to LC wet.
 
Went down from 88 at +1.5 to 79 @ +4

Good to know he did okay while I was gone since I am going to have to do it a little more often, but I hope that I can get in more numbers and a better understanding of how everything is working. Unless his AMPS test is a multi-attempt growly affair I will get a +1 tomorrow.
 
From 79 @ +4 to 74 @ +6. He was 74 @+6 yesterday too. Tried for a + 7 a few times. He was one unhappy camper. Since I'm keeping an eye on him and gave him a little food I will leave him alone. He showed a great amount of displeasure. Tried again at +10. Will leave him alone until PMPS so I can make sure I get a +2
 
Last edited:
86 is his lowest PMPS ever, it's the first time he's been green at night. Safe to shoot? I am worried about how he is reacting to being tested at the moment. I can't figure it out.
 
I know that we're supposed to shoot over 50 with TR, but I'm nervous with his low numbers and shaved his shot down from 1.75 to 1.5 just for the night. I will test him at +1 even though he will hate me. Do I need to feed him any MC food?

Was this a bad approach?
 
Sorry, just seeing this. Let's wait for the +1 to feed MC. Maybe tonight's the night he will earn that reduction to 1.5u anyway! :)
Lantus is a depot insulin, so even though you shaved the dose, the 1.75U depot will still be at play. It's not like other in-and-out insulins.

Lovely gr:D:Dn cycle today!
 
Thank you. I remember how scary the AM green shot was. This one makes me so nervous because he's usually a little higher at night. You make me feel less scared about it though.
 
His +1 is 83. Should I give him some MC food or just LC? He hasn't really plummeted as much in the PM it seems as the AM cycle, but things might be changing.
 
Safe to test in 1 hour? I can't figure out why he is hating it so much at the moment, but he is uncharacteristically meowing about it. I can do it sooner, but I know there might be lots of testing tonight and I want to torture him as little as possible.
 
I got him and he was 63. I probably am making the situation worse. I will feed him some LC. What is the longest I can go before testing him next? I will be with him.
 
Okay. Thank you. I wonder if all these tests are starting to make his ear sore. He only wants me to use the right one so that's what I've been doing.
 
Okay. Thank you. I wonder if all these tests are starting to make his ear sore. He only wants me to use the right one so that's what I've been doing.
Normally, their ears should not hurt with testing. But some cats are more sensitive than others. Are you using a lancing device? Or freehanding with a lancet? What gauge is the lancet?
Are you warming his ear before testing? Giving him a treat after?
 
Normally, their ears should not hurt with testing. But some cats are more sensitive than others. Are you using a lancing device? Or freehanding with a lancet? What gauge is the lancet?
Are you warming his ear before testing? Giving him a treat after?

I am using a device, but it's the same one I've always used. He has been handling it fine until the last couple of days. The lancets are 28g. I am using a warm rice sock and he gets freeze dried chicken whether it's a successful session or not. He loves the chicken. He used to just lie there and purr.
 
I am using a device, but it's the same one I've always used. He has been handling it fine until the last couple of days. The lancets are 28g. I am using a warm rice sock and he gets freeze dried chicken whether it's a successful session or not. He loves the chicken. He used to just lie there and purr.
All sounds right. Wonder if he's feeling feisty in good numbers?!
 
Sorry. I was trying to give him some love. I tested him one hour after the HC food and he is at 57. More HC food?
 
He's up to 81. Can I stop testing for the night? He did take the last one a little bit better. Maybe my energy is also different.

If I can stop testing tonight, how often do I need to test tomorrow (other than the AMPS) so I can give him as much of a break as possible? Do I go back to 1.75 units?
 
Yes, you can stop testing for the night. And I think you can stay at 1.50U and see if he holds the reduction.
Without the MC and HC he would have dipped below 50 and earned a reduction.

Start with a +2 after the AMPS tomorrow.
 
Thank you. Hopefully it holds. Maybe the next few hours will help him relax his ear. I was planning on trying to get in a +1 tomorrow, but I'll definitely wait for another day. You are the hero of FCC and I's night. Thanks for your help and support.
 
Back
Top