7/20 Boris amps 326

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandy and Boris

Member Since 2009
Well this is making me freak out! He has been having some high pre shots and I thought maybe it was because Eugene was giving him chicken treats in the morning and the evening but he stopped that so thats not it.
I have been bad at my ss and had to take a guess at when I started to up his dose a little. It was slowly, we were at 2.5 and then I started to add a little fat to it then it was looking more like 2.75.
My ss looks goofy too, like some days are missing and I know they used to be there and then it's out of order sometimes then it's back, I don't know what thats all about.
It was suggested to me that I take his dose back down so today I went to 2.5.
Boris is on Tapozole and Atenonole (spelled wrong) and his insulin is Levimer. just started a new cartridge so that is not it. I'll go back to testing more to see more what's going on but his current mid day tests, like yesterday have been good.
I'm not liking this at all, been a long long time since we have had pink!
Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks Sandy
 
What was the rationale for dropping the dose? You were getting good numbers. There may have been a little bounciness, but the nadirs have been good.

Also, according to the dosing protocols, we don't reduce by 0.5u. Reductions are taken in 0.25u increments.
 
I don't know, my memory and my notes super suck these days. I probably should have just left him at the 2.5 when we were there, it must have been seeing a little bit of the 200's that made me add some fat to the dose.
Feeding has been screwed up too. When MisMew was still here we were doing so many little feedings a day and he seemed to do better then. I still can't seem to hit on the right amount for Boris and Ok. Splitting a can of ff in the morning leaves them driving me nuts for food until lunch. Seems like everything is out of wack around here. I'll stick with this 2.5 take more tests and see what the next few days bring. I'll try to write down the fuds info too. maybe some more info will help to get him back on tract.
 
Sandy and Boris are here!!!

Is Boris feeling ok? The pink came out of nowhere, I wonder if he has something going on. Pee, poop, teeth? When was the last time his T4 was checked, is that where it should be with the meds? I don't know much about that, but Cassandra always says that if the T4 is out of whack then it is hard to get the BG under control.

I think some more spot checks over the next few days/nights will help. It's possible that he is bouncing. I don't really see it, but it could be. Also could just be that his insulin needs are changing. That happens sometimes and is no big deal, you just need to tweak the dose until you find the right one. Of course my answer is always MORE insulin! :lol: But that's me, I feel like if I give more insulin I have more control - I can bring the low numbers up with food, but I can't do a darn thing about the high numbers except give more insulin (and then control the lows with food).
 
pmps 172

So, the day turned out pretty good.
amps-----326
+3--------209
+5---------91
pmps-----172

He had mini meals today and it drove me nuts, both of them were always looking at me for fuds.

Yep Libby, my first thought when I saw him getting some yellow and days with no green was to up the dose and I did, but maybe that was not the answer.
I think I learned something too, and will try not to get to complacent and keep up with testing, my notebook and my ss. his T 4 was checked on 6/17 and was good. I'm not sure when to check it again. One of the girls from the vets office will be stopping by next week I'll have her check his teeth, I wouldn't know what to look for.
Of course we are finally going to get busy here, only been waiting for months, but I'll try to post daily here. I feel so out of the loop.
Thanks Sandy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top