7/20 Bob PMPS=83, +2=113, +3=151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yeaterdays condo

Happy Caturday LL!! So sleepy from staying up to keep an eye on Bob's wonderful blues! Hope poor Alexis managed to get a little sleep before her trip. Also hoping Kathy got Tom under control and relaxed a bit. THANKS to Deb, Marje, and Wendy (and everyone who stopped by) for all the help. Blues are great but can be stressful when u are used to seeing pinks consistently!

So Bob seems a bit lethargic this am, which I expected. His bounce does not look as high as usual. Does that mean anything? He seemed to like his Weruva chicken & pumpkin, which looked like I could eat it! Seems he likes that shredded style cat food. I'm seeing a pattern here. He's liking all the expensive food! I think Bobs a little uppity!

Praying for Jupiters continued recovery. Hoping Nikki and Tom continue to show improvement and I'm anxious for Cleo's OTJ PARTY today!! have a great day!!
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364

Go Bob! Hope he clears his bounce quickly!

Enjoy your weekend off and get some sleep! :lol: I got about 6 hours last night, have a feeling I'll pass out on the beach later. :-D
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364

I missed the party last night, but how exciting to see blues, and Bob eating hs fancy fuds! Trix loves Weruva's Paw Lickin' Chicken. It amazes me how much it doesn't look like typical cat food!

Have a great day...catch up on rest!
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364

Bob is simply a cat food connoisseur! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Sorry but everything is funny to me today, still a little sleep deprived but my gang started in at 5AM.

Hope this bounce clears soon. But YEAH for those blues last night and him eating more canned food. I would not put down any dry food again. Let him eat cake! low carb of course. ;-)

Have a good Saturday.

Once Bob is better at eating the canned food, you can slowly try to get him to try some of the other lower cost foods. Fancy Feast flaked and chunky styles are low carb, <10%. He might like the texture on those. Worth a try, and remember, just because he has turned his nose up at something once, does not mean he won't eat it with another attempt.
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364

Deb, I'm so tired and I'm about to sell this cat on the street!! Turns out he was only licking the juice off the chicken. He wouldn't eat anymore so I put out ff liver & chicken-wouldnt eat. After an hour I put out the Fromm duck. Wouldn't eat. I put the ff appetizer on top and HE WON'T EAT IT!!!!! I know he's hungry because he keeps going to the bowls and sniffing. What should I do?
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364

Good morning Dara. Looks like Bob was really pushing for extra attention last night. You managed his numbers very well with the food. Those lower numbers will get easier to deal with. Soon, you will look back and wonder what all the fuss was about. Plus, everyone here is really so very supportive, knowledgeable and encouraging. Marje did a few late nights with me when we were dealing w/ lows.

I just loved the "stressed out" picture of Bob. Yeah, so stressed out he needed a tummy rub. !! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Have a great day!
Karen
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364, +4=114 YIKES!!!

Hey Karen! Bob was much better to deal with last nite! Now I think he's holding out for tuna. I read about spoiling them with tuna.

It is nice having such supportive people. Thank u for the encouragement!! Enjoy ur Saturday!!
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

Ok, bob would not eat the canned food today. After 4 options? He ate about 1oz of BFF tuna tilapia. He would not eat HC so I got a syringe and gave him some gravy. I also gave him a TBS of dry. I might need some assistance here!
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

I wouldn't have given him the dry, but I have not read your whole condo yet so I don't know yet if he is refusing food completely.

At least he is close to nadir.

Breathe. It's okay.

I'll go read your condo, now.
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

J.D. will sometimes eat when he's not hungry for the food served if I spoon feed him, or if I add some FortiFlora on top, or some crumbled up Temptations (just two or three), and some people will add some crunched up pieces of the lowest carb dry food on top of the canned. I guess all of this has already been suggested to you.

You can test again in 30 minutes?
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

Hey Dyana - I just don't understand why he's being difficult again. He was refusing every single thing I gave him. Not sure if I can do this without reducing his insulin. I work full-time and there's no way I can worry about him like this every day.....
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

It's hard. I work, and I know what you mean. I still worry, and I've been doing this for 8 years.
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

just got a 67 again. I'm sure we'll be ok today, but do you have any recommendations for the future? I have to change something - absolutely can't do this during the week....
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

An automatic feeder for during the day, alarms clocks during the night, and learning to sleep in and take naps whenever you can. His numbers are fine, and good, last night and today. These are pancreas healing numbers.
It's interesting Bob like the expensive food. J.D. only likes the Fancy Feast and occasional Sheba.
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

I've been doing all that, I just can't be here all day during the week if he decides not to eat in the morning. He loved that fromm duck and now he won't eat it. I even put some of that tuna appetizer in it and he still wouldn't eat it. I ordered some fortiflora but knowing my luck, he won't like it. I've tried at least 6 or 7 different ff flavors and nothing. Sigh. just don't know what to do....I just want to see him eat a good amount of food when I put it out for him. Do you think he's on too much insulin? It's obvious the canned food is obviously helping....
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

I think his dose is fine at the moment. That was a big dive between +1 and +2 as he quickly came down from his bounce.
Maybe, all weekend, if your off, only give him canned food, and no dry food at all. Hopefully, he will become hungry enough to learn to eat it. That is as long as his numbers don't go too low.
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

+6 is 99. that's probably from the dry kibbles and the HC gravy. I'm going to try and not do the dry again. Thanks for the suggestions Dyana - I'm just frustrated today with bob's pickiness. I guess he wouldn't be a cat if he wasn't picky. should I still give him the 4.25 tonight? I'm not sure that he will eat his canned food...
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

Lkldcatlady said:
should I still give him the 4.25 tonight? I'm not sure that he will eat his canned food...
I would, unless he goes below 50. I would take advantage of the weekend and your time off to do what you can to get and keep his numbers into a good healthy range and try try try to get him to eat canned food. These are just my thoughts.
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

Dara

oh boy! here you go again. I feel so badly for you worrying about leaving for work tomorrow am. so so hard! you have no choice though. I hate that Lantus isn't a "sliding scale" insulin (if that is the correct word?). you know, you wake up and if the little stinker isn't going to eat.....he just gets a little juice. if he is going to eat a King's amount.....dope him up good!! I know I would feel much more in control that way. but we don't have that option......

I guess just take some time today and realize that bob is healing right now....good thing! and Bob is on the right insulin....his body "likes" it and recognizes it .....good thing!

obviously, I don't have to point out the obvious.....you have a food issue.

I know that after this week with non-appetite Tom......I know what will get him OTJ really quick: don't feed him. it is that simple. I can't believe how much food effects insulin.....WOW.

I know I will be hanged for suggesting this, AND I AM NOT ALLOWED TO GIVE ADVICE, but if it were my cat, and I HAD HAD HAD to work.....I would leave out dry for the little stinker!!

sorry you aren't able to get some much deserved rest this afternoon given last night.....but please rejoice in the fact that Bob's body is loving these numbers!!

~~~~Kelly

ps. I hope neither one of us see each other again tonight! YIKES
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

Oh, Dara,

Bob is liking these lower numbers!! :-D

I don't know what to say about being at work all day. It is nerve wracking! I was usually able to get a +2 before I left for work. If it was quite a bit lower, I would try to get home at lunch to test and put out fresh food. I always left out food (some fresh and two meatsicles). But, that was back when we were eating the FFLC and Cleo loves that. Having a cat who won't eat changes the whole thing. I will keep sending wet food appy vines for Bob!!

In the end, you do what you think is safest for your cat.

Jane
 
Re: 7/20 Bob AMPS=364 327+1 293+2 114+4 67+5 help??????

Hey guys! thanks so much for the encouragement. I passed out on the couch for like 3 hours! haha!

Dyana - I'm going to do that. I'll do my best to get him to eat the canned food today. Difficult fella!

Kathy, the no appetite thing is soooooo stressful! Eat your fuds Tom!!! I think Bob is hungry, he just won't eat what I put out. Now I'm starting to wonder if he's a little upset because of all the different foods I'm putting out. I don't know. I've even put out tuna ones and he just walks away. I think he's hungry because he looks in all the bowl. What's goin on Bob!

Jane, the first couple days worked so well! Bob even ate a partially melted meatsicle! He was loving that food. I'm so disappointed. It was so nice to see him in all those blues (and some green today!).

Right now he's at 67! This late! :shock: I just keep checking him and there is tuna pate out but he hasn't eaten any. I may go back to the wet and the little bit of dry for a few days and try to transition slower maybe. It depends on what he does tonight at 7.

Jane - I hope you are enjoying your OTJ party! And Kathy - I love you and Tom, but I definitely don't want to see you tonight again! :-D
 
Re: 7/20 Bob +10=79 Will probably need some dosing help???

I need some assistance here. Bob has barely eaten today and is showing no interest now. He eats and gets his shot at 7:00pm (2 hours). If he eats a good amount, I have no problem giving him the 4.25. What should I do if continues to not eat?
 
Re: 7/20 Bob +10=79 Will probably need some dosing help???

well, I see it has been some time since you posted this....I hope that someone is advising you through PM,

I looked at Bob's SS.....have you shot yet?

I can't offer you any assistance! just sympathies ......we are in the same boat Dara!!

very very very very very difficult to shoot a newbie low cat that won't eat.

if you do shoot low a normal dose (which I think you will be told to do)....just remember you always have dry to fall back on to push him up if need be

he does still like that doesn't he? or has the little stinker turned his nose up at that too?!!!! :evil:

~Kelly

ps I had to resort to mrs. buttersworth last night....and it works! don't panic
 
Re: 7/20 Bob +10=79 Will probably need some dosing help???

Hi Kelly - I had to resort to the syrup a couple of months ago too. I probably was hysterical, but Bob's numbers were plummeting so fast and he was at 95 (on the alphatrak) at +3 so I gave him some syrup!!! I'm not one to rely on in a crisis!! :lol:

I haven't heard from someone so I did what I thought was right. I shoot at 7 so I put out the fromm duck that he supposedly loves so much and he ignored it. Now let me tell you, about an hour before that, he had his head in my potato chip bag because he was so hungry. He actually ran off with one and then didn't know what to do with it. Since this morning, I've offered him 6 or 7 options with no luck. Sooooo, at about 6:45 I put out 1/8 c dry and he ate most of it. Just looked over and he's eating the fromm duck. WTH!!!! I will just have to do this transition a little slower and maybe not give so much of variety. Maybe that's what was bothering him. I don't know..

I did give him his normal dose since he ate well. I'm so sad I may not be seeing the blues and greens for a little while longer. :sad:

Is Tom doing better today? I'm going to take a look at his ss right now!
 
Re: 7/20 Bob PMPS=83

Hi Dara,
Bob is giving you the run around. One day likes, one day no like :-D But, he is a cat, so we will never figure them out. A few days ago, Cleo ate Wellness Beef & Salmon with gusto, so I bought 8 cans today. Gave that to her at dinner, she smelled it and walked away. Goes to the end of the counter and stares at the cabinet that has cat food in it. I ignore her as long as I can, but end up opening something else. I did add the FortiFlora to it, and she does eat the part with that on it. I hope Bob ends up liking that too.

Thank you for letting Bob, Hector, and Penelope come to Cleo's party - sounded like that had a blast!!
 
Re: 7/20 Bob PMPS=83

Since this is your lowest PS, I would start tonight's cycle with a +1 and a +2.
I see from the remarks in his spreadsheet, he got some dry for dinner? It's okay, it's a slow process.
 
Re: 7/20 Bob PMPS=83

Hey Dyana - yes I had to do the dry - he would not eat the canned and I wanted to give his shot. He ate both, but he's still quite low so I'm nervous again. I got a +2 and getting ready to do +3.

Is he not eating as much because his numbers are a little lower? I just don't understand this. He used to eat a really good amount of food before his shot - rather dry or wet. I've been staring at him for 24 hours and he's hardly eaten anything.

Cleo! Eat your Wellness fuds! She's uppity now because she's OTJ. She wants you to do her bidding! :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top