7/20/2012 Tobi AMPS 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda & Tobi

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone - checked Tobi's blood again at 2:45 p.m. - reading - 63 (6 hrs. after 1U insulin). Will check again this evening. According to vet, I do AMPS and 1U tomorrow morning, 7/21/2012 and will check blood every 1 to 2 hours depending on reading.
After I do the curve on 7/22/2012 as instructed by vet and once I speak with him on 7/23/2012 I will post his comments and instructions. I have only been doing this for a week but am starting to understand and now beginning to feel that I don't necessarily need to rely on vet so please bear with me.
 
hi linda! it is a steep learning curve at the beginning, isn't it?

Tobi is looking pretty great! you can be very encouraged by these fantastic numbers. i'm really glad you're getting the preshot tests in and a mid-cycle. if i were you i'd get a few more checks in to make sure he isn't going below 50. newly diagnosed cats can improve dramatically very quickly sometimes, and you wouldn't want to have him go too low without you catching it.

have you had a chance to read the yellow starred stickies at the top of this page? they can be kind of overwhelming, so if we can answer questions and explain, please ask. a really good one to start with is the "New to the Group? Start Here" starred sticky.
 
I also recommend editing the subject line in your first post to: "7/20 Tobi AMPS 81, +6 63" so people can keep an eye on Tobi's progress. There are many people here who can help you. The beginning is tough, but Tobi's numbers look really good so far.

MJ
 
You are doing a wonderful job of testing. Tobi is responding very well to lantus. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You definitely want to keep on top of his numbers. If he goes below 50, give him higher carb food to bring him up and retest in 20 mins. That would also mean that you should reduce his dose to 0.75u the next shot to keep him safe and prevent a hypo.
Liz
 
So good to see you back! :mrgreen:

Tobi is on a fast learning curve and that also mean you have to be... and it's harder on you than on him... he gets to have gravy and you ... ~O)

Keep up the good work!
 
Great job today, Linda....and beautiful numbers for Tobi!!! Good luck with the curve. Pls let us know if you have any questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top