7/2 Samba AMPS 71 +1 51 +1.5 62 +2 57 +2.5 45 +2.75 43 +3 50 +3.33 54 +3.66 52 +5 54 +6 59 +11 245

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, Sarah! Great job shooting.

An alternative strategy, albeit one that involves a little more testing, is to first use LC food and test every 20 - 30 min so you are able to stay ahead of the numbers. If the numbers continue to drop faster than you'd like, you can always switch to HC. Sometimes, the LC will get your kitty surfing nicely. Other times, your kitty is angling for a dose reduction and you need to haul out the HC.

Since it's a holiday weekend, if there aren't lots of people around and you're not sure what to do (although from your SS, it looks like you've managed to steer Samba's numbers in the past), remember that there are instructions for managing low numbers in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.

 
Hi, Sarah! Great job shooting.

An alternative strategy, albeit one that involves a little more testing, is to first use LC food and test every 20 - 30 min so you are able to stay ahead of the numbers. If the numbers continue to drop faster than you'd like, you can always switch to HC. Sometimes, the LC will get your kitty surfing nicely. Other times, your kitty is angling for a dose reduction and you need to haul out the HC.

Since it's a holiday weekend, if there aren't lots of people around and you're not sure what to do (although from your SS, it looks like you've managed to steer Samba's numbers in the past), remember that there are instructions for managing low numbers in the Shooting & Handling Low Numbers sticky.
Thanks for your reply :) what might you have done differently today? He just earned a reduction at +2.5, and I fed another tsp of HC. Would you have just fed LC until he went under 50? I got nervous when his +1 was lower than his AMPS but would rather do what would give him the nicest surf in the future since I am able to monitor
 
I would have fed HC at +1 just like you did and probably at +2 as well since it was so much lower than the AMPS. Those are pretty low numbers early in the cycle before and at onset. We would have liked to hold them at this dose a while to see what he would do and if he could churn out some more green numbers above 50.

You earned the coveted BOS award all members get when they first shoot green...AND you did by yourself!
IMG_0622.GIF


bos_zpsb029e400.jpg
 
@Marje and Gracie, I am getting nervous...I hope you are still on here. My parents are picking me up to go to the Kennedy Center for a show in 15 minutes. I plan on testing him right before they get here, and if he isn't higher than 50s telling them I can't go...would you do the same? He is flat but so low. Worried about +7 or 8 peak. What do you think?
 
The high carb food can wear off and he could come down again. It takes around a couple hours for the HC to wear off so you want to see rising numbers, without the influence of HC. Is anyone else around who can monitor?
 
The high carb food can wear off and he could come down again. It takes around a couple hours for the HC to wear off so you want to see rising numbers, without the influence of HC. Is anyone else around who can monitor?
No one else can monitor. His +6 now is 59. He hasn't had HC food for 3 hours and 15 min and hasn't had any food at all for the last 3 hours
 
I really feel that he is staying flat without the influence of food...since he is at 59, which is a little higher, I was thinking I'd leave a tsp of MC in the timed feeder for him to be distributed at +7... does that sound reasonable?
 
I didn't realize it was +6. Could you update the subject line? How long will you be gone? If it had been three hours since any carbs, you could leave him some higher food like you suggest. Plus feed him some now.
 
I didn't realize it was +6. Could you update the subject line? How long will you be gone? If it had been three hours since any carbs, you could leave him some higher food like you suggest. Plus feed him some now.
Sorry...updated it. I was planning to be gone until PMPS. 3 hour show w/ an hour commute each way. Might make it back in time for a +11. Okay I will give MC now and leave a little for later. Thank you so much!!
 
I'd also leave out HC and maybe a LC meal for later. It will help keep the numbers up after the HC wears off. Of course, he will likely bounce and he should come up esp with feeding after nadir.
 
Sarah --

To respond to your question from earlier, there's no one "right" answer to how to manage the numbers. If it were me, I might have tried LC first but, if it were my cat and knowing Gabby, chances are I'd have given high carb at +1. (Gabby was notorious for dropping like a rock early in the cycle due to having her nadir at +3 or +4.) Ultimately, it's a matter of knowing your cat and which rules apply in your cat's circumstances.

 
I'd also leave out HC and maybe a LC meal for later. It will help keep the numbers up after the HC wears off. Of course, he will likely bounce and he should come up esp with feeding after nadir.
Thanks for this info...I had already left, but in the future, I will do this rather than leaving out MC...in the future, honestly, I probably won't leave him because I ended up just feeling nervous the whole time. I told my dad no more shows...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top