7/2 Ruby poop success ⭐️ AMPS 232/+2 252 /+10 152/PMPS 155/+3 70/+4 89

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday on Waiting for Ruby. :cat:

Purry and sweet this morning. ✅
Had some nibbles of breakfast. ✅

Still waiting for poop. :arghh: I'm also not sure about what to do about Ruby's dose, as she's been in solid yellows since yesterday. Between the constipation and the increase in pred, it's hard to see what is affecting her BGs. Was thinking of increasing in the PM to .75 units, but also worried that if the poop situation resolves that her levels will drop. Thoughts on this are welcome!
 
Hi Katherine, was so hoping I would see positive poop news. How are Ruby and Olive doing with eating and keeping it down? Hope the nausea meds are helping. Hope the increase in the pred starts helping Ruby to feel better. Sending Dolly's special tummy and poop vibes, :cat::cat::cat::cat::cat: Dolly has been very lackadaisical since her pain got worse but she had her meds and wants her friends Ruby and Olive to know she cares. Check in later Katherine. Hope you are doing well. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sending good thoughts to you and Ruby for her vet visit:bighug:. I hope the vet can come up with some ideas to get Ruby on a regular poop schedule. It's something that has been a work in progress with Butters as she is also very inconsistent, so I very much empathize with what you are going through.
 
Sending good thoughts to you and Ruby for her vet visit:bighug:. I hope the vet can come up with some ideas to get Ruby on a regular poop schedule. It's something that has been a work in progress with Butters as she is also very inconsistent, so I very much empathize with what you are going through.
With all of Ruby’s issues, constipation has always fallen to the bottom of the list of action items. We are at the vet now. Hope she can get some help. Regularity would be an amazing thing!
 
We're home again. The doctor did not feel any impacted poop in her. She did extract a few poops but they were smallish and claylike in texture, not rock hard. So there are two possibilities: either she pooped and I didn't know it, or the pred is making her system handle the raw food more efficiently and she doesn't need to go that often. I did get some Lactulose. Sorry for the panicked question, and thank you @JaxBenji @Pamela & Amethyst @Our Dolly Girl for getting back to me so quickly. The doctor read the ingredients and questioned whether or not it would be a good idea, which then made me wonder myself even though I knew a lot of members here have used it with sugar kitties. So I will use it in place of Miralax for a little while to see if it makes her more regular.

Now the big question is why her BGs are so high if she's not constipated.
 
2 years ago when we had the hair cork blocking incident, we used Lactulose and did not have an issue. I used the syrup but there is also a powder form called Kristalose. It is given 3/4 teaspoon in food.

Did they shoot an x-ray?
 
We're home again. The doctor did not feel any impacted poop in her. She did extract a few poops but they were smallish and claylike in texture, not rock hard. So there are two possibilities: either she pooped and I didn't know it, or the pred is making her system handle the raw food more efficiently and she doesn't need to go that often. I did get some Lactulose. Sorry for the panicked question, and thank you @JaxBenji @Pamela & Amethyst @Our Dolly Girl for getting back to me so quickly. The doctor read the ingredients and questioned whether or not it would be a good idea, which then made me wonder myself even though I knew a lot of members here have used it with sugar kitties. So I will use it in place of Miralax for a little while to see if it makes her more regular.

Now the big question is why her BGs are so high if she's not constipated.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We're home again. The doctor did not feel any impacted poop in her. She did extract a few poops but they were smallish and claylike in texture, not rock hard. So there are two possibilities: either she pooped and I didn't know it, or the pred is making her system handle the raw food more efficiently and she doesn't need to go that often. I did get some Lactulose. Sorry for the panicked question, and thank you @JaxBenji @Pamela & Amethyst @Our Dolly Girl for getting back to me so quickly. The doctor read the ingredients and questioned whether or not it would be a good idea, which then made me wonder myself even though I knew a lot of members here have used it with sugar kitties. So I will use it in place of Miralax for a little while to see if it makes her more regular.

Now the big question is why her BGs are so high if she's not constipated.
Katherine her body is probably adjusting to the increased dose. We know it raises BG. Dolly only had one dose of a long acting steroid. She was in the 200’s. Did you ask the vet? I wish I knew more. I wish I could give you easy answers. Sorry :(
 
Katherine her body is probably adjusting to the increased dose. We know it raises BG. Dolly only had one dose of a long acting steroid. She was in the 200’s. Did you ask the vet? I wish I knew more. I wish I could give you easy answers. Sorry :(
Adrienne, you are too sweet. I don't think there are any clear answers, it was more of a rhetorical question thrown out to the universe. I am going to test Ruby in a little while once she calms down from the vet and I will increase to .75 tonight and watch her carefully.
 
2 years ago when we had the hair cork blocking incident, we used Lactulose and did not have an issue. I used the syrup but there is also a powder form called Kristalose. It is given 3/4 teaspoon in food.

Did they shoot an x-ray?
Hair cork blocking! That sounds dire. :( Poor Tomlin! Glad you didn't have an issue with the Lactulose.

They did not do an x-ray, but the doctor did a pretty thorough job of feeling through her abdomen and could feel her enlarged lymph nodes but not a lot of poop, just liquid and gas.
 
Hair cork blocking! That sounds dire. :( Poor Tomlin! Glad you didn't have an issue with the Lactulose.

They did not do an x-ray, but the doctor did a pretty thorough job of feeling through her abdomen and could feel her enlarged lymph nodes but not a lot of poop, just liquid and gas.

Yes—poor T! It looked literally like a wine cork! Some came out and then they took an X-ray and saw that there was more in there, so we had to get the rest out. Fortunately, that was our first & last constipation issue.

Hopefully there is nothing in her. Unfortunately, sometimes it is hard to feel it no matter how thorough they are so if you have to go back (prayers that you won’t & its gas) an X-ray may be a good thing to do to absolutely rule out any issue. If it is gas, when T had that years ago, it was painful and did effect his glucose. As you said, hard to know what exactly is going on but I wanted to share that experience with the gas.

If you can swing it, the Nest Cam or something simila,r is a life saver if you have more than one cat. I am able to know who did what, where, when and how. Nest provides a 30 day free video feed (or they did) & then we have a yearly subscription for the cameras so that we are able to look back on video vs only live feed. You are able to create zones and that makes it easy to go back through the feed to find the activity you are looking for. If you position the camera right, you can even see what it the activity looks like :).
 
Yay!!!! She just needed some massage LOL!!

It sounds like the pieces that were pulled out were an issue for her :)! SO happy that worked out.
I know it adds cost but if something like this happens again….ask them to shoot the X-ray. In addition, if she is ever impacted and they have to give an enema, once she has a BM, they should repeat the X-ray to make sure it is all out so you and Ruby can get the all clear.
 
Interesting that you mention tummy massage. Not an uncommon issue. This link to Zener massage, was posted by a member here a while ago. Zener had cerebellar hyperplasia, which added to his digestive issues. The video is Zener's vet and her magic fingers that always got him loosened up. The part along the spine is very similar to the acupressure I gave Neko daily for pain relief.
 
I am totally getting one of these now, though I feel a little vindicated that I didn't somehow mistake her poop for Olive's. I know my poops!

They make our life A LOT easier!

However….T seems to know he is being watched in the bathroom and feels a little violated :stop:

upload_2021-7-2_17-28-7.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-7-2_17-28-7.jpeg
    upload_2021-7-2_17-28-7.jpeg
    34.9 KB · Views: 286
Interesting that you mention tummy massage. Not an uncommon issue. This link to Zener massage, was posted by a member here a while ago. Zener had cerebellar hyperplasia, which added to his digestive issues. The video is Zener's vet and her magic fingers that always got him loosened up. The part along the spine is very similar to the acupressure I gave Neko daily for pain relief.
That is a wonderful video! Thank you for sharing it. The parts the doctor in the video is massaging for Zener's intestines are very similar to the points where Ruby gets acupuncture. I really should watch this video again and learn how to do this, because I do think the doctor feeling around down there looking for impacted poop might have helped.
 
Interesting that you mention tummy massage. Not an uncommon issue. This link to Zener massage, was posted by a member here a while ago. Zener had cerebellar hyperplasia, which added to his digestive issues. The video is Zener's vet and her magic fingers that always got him loosened up. The part along the spine is very similar to the acupressure I gave Neko daily for pain relief.

I have never heard of it called an actual name but our integrative vet suggested I massage T. All of my cats love it! I use similar moves as I have done to me—except no one works my intestines!

T also likes likes a good pat down like you do to a dog or a baby to burp them. The integrative vet said it probably helps with stagnation. Now none of my other cats like that….they are like :stop::eek:.
 
Maybe ask the acupuncture vet if she would show you how/where. It's also important to get the pressure right. My acupuncture vet showed me how and said the acupressure can help extend the benefits of the acupuncture.
I will do this. Now that we're allowed back in the exam room with our precious fur kids, I'm going to take advantage.
 
Interesting that you mention tummy massage. Not an uncommon issue. This link to Zener massage, was posted by a member here a while ago. Zener had cerebellar hyperplasia, which added to his digestive issues. The video is Zener's vet and her magic fingers that always got him loosened up. The part along the spine is very similar to the acupressure I gave Neko daily for pain relief.
Now that we've gotten the poop outtta the way, Ruby's BGs are coming down again. Whew-hew! I will hold the .5 unit dose for now.
Yay Ruby. Poop problems, done. Numbers down, done. Giving mom air to breathe with a sigh of relief, done. All in a days work Ruby-doo. Ruby deserves a raise or a badge of honor for her part in making it all happen :p.

So happy Katherine you can end today on the upside :joyful: I hope the girls eat tonight and keep it down. No more drama :nailbiting: just purrs, kisses and snuggles. :cat::cat:
 
Yay Ruby. Poop problems, done. Numbers down, done. Giving mom air to breathe with a sigh of relief, done. All in a days work Ruby-doo. Ruby deserves a raise or a badge of honor for her part in making it all happen :p.

So happy Katherine you can end today on the upside :joyful: I hope the girls eat tonight and keep it down. No more drama :nailbiting: just purrs, kisses and snuggles. :cat::cat:
Thanks, Adrienne, for always cheering us on. :) I DO feel relieved, and it seems so does Ruby! :joyful: Now the two of them are snuggled in a fur pile on the bed as the rain comes down hard outside. Hope you're having a good day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
We're home again. The doctor did not feel any impacted poop in her. She did extract a few poops but they were smallish and claylike in texture, not rock hard. So there are two possibilities: either she pooped and I didn't know it, or the pred is making her system handle the raw food more efficiently and she doesn't need to go that often. I did get some Lactulose. Sorry for the panicked question, and thank you @JaxBenji @Pamela & Amethyst @Our Dolly Girl for getting back to me so quickly. The doctor read the ingredients and questioned whether or not it would be a good idea, which then made me wonder myself even though I knew a lot of members here have used it with sugar kitties. So I will use it in place of Miralax for a little while to see if it makes her more regular.

Now the big question is why her BGs are so high if she's not constipated.
Prednisolone
 
Back
Top