7-2 Pepper AMPS/153, +4/65, +6/91

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7-2 Pepper AMPS/153, +4/65,

morning deb! i hope you got a bit of sleep last night! pepper's got a perfect +4 going - hope he starts to surf!

have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 7-2 Pepper AMPS/153, +4/65,

With everything that's happened in the last week (house moving, the trip to Ohio, meeting the big dog at my son's house) I am sure surprised his numbers are staying so low. He's such a trooper about all the changes in his life recently. :-D
 
Re: 7-2 Pepper AMPS/153, +4/65,

Very nice, Deb. He seems to like to drop into the low numbers (last night) so I'd be sure I stay on top of this. He doesn't need any more time in the 30s. Julie's explanation was absolutely perfect last night. Have a great day.
 
Marjorie and Gracie said:
Very nice, Deb. He seems to like to drop into the low numbers (last night) so I'd be sure I stay on top of this.

He sure does and he always gives me a vague warning about it, (his numbers go low(er) earlier in the day), and kind of surfs there, then the next shot he drops. In each case where he has gone under 50 I have debated on lowering his next dose, didn't, then I fight low numbers. From now on I will "take my gut feeling" and reduce it. :lol: That means next time this happens, I skip the next shot. :-D If he stays like he has will be in about 4-5 days. :-D :-D :-D
 
I wanted to address something you said in last night's condo:

Deb and Pepper said:
Not offended at all. I think your the first to say anything about possible seizures, brain damage and an ultra-sensitivity to insulin.
This makes me concerned that you may not have read the hypo information linked in the stickies. If you haven't, please read and print them today.

*** IMPORTANT DOCUMENTS ***
Print these out and keep them handy:
HOW TO TREAT HYPOGLYCEMIA - what to do if your kitty experiences a hypoglycemic event - PRINT THIS OUT
HYPO TOOLBOX - what to have on hand in case of an emergency
LIST OF HYPO SYMPTOMS - some signs to look for
 
after reading last night's thread, i share libby's concern.
i'd like to share something written by a highly respected vet tech who works at an ER clinic. i wish she had more time to spend on the FDMB.

Asymtomatic hypos
Posted by: Jess & Earl (IP Logged)
Date: June 4, 2009 05:01AM

Hi Heather
Unless someone has evaluated her blood pressure, EKG, temperature, and checked electrolytes, you can't know if she is really having a hypo or not. Seizure and coma are the end stages of hypo--there are lots of potentially brain-damaging steps before that. Never hesitate to treat a worrisome number.

Pplease keep us posted.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/read.php?8,1700646,1700748,sv=1#msg-1700748


like jess said, never hesitate to treat a worrisome number. if hc causes pepper's numbers to rise too much, so be it. no kitty should be cruising the 30s and low 40s for any length of time. please accept this in the spirit intended. we all want to keep pepper safe.

something else to be aware of...
vigorous exercise can lower blood glucose values. when a kitty is already traveling in low numbers you'll want to limit activity.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top