7/2 Kasha AMPS 101, Vet visit update PMPS 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
I was relieved to see her AMPS... I fell asleep last night after +3 (I swear I'm becoming narcoleptic), slept thru my reminder alarm for +4 and woke up at +5. She was 69 at +3 and 100 @ +5 - what happened there? Could she have dropped lower than I think and had some liver action there? No one ate last night - when I woke up the rest of the food was still virtually untouched. Everyone was sleeping - it was a cool evening, maybe that made it good sleeping weather. Certainly worked for me.

I gave her some LC snack at +5 and she ate a few tsp of it (2% carbs). When I checked her +6 - she was 112. Didn't know if it was from food or if she was just on her way up. The 101 this morning was a relief.

Ok - when I say food wasn't touched last night, I should add that I did get my lemon butter chicken last night and I did manage to eat nearly 1/2 of it. I would have liked to have eaten all of it - but Kasha ate a good 1/2 of it. I ate all the outside parts with seasoning and lemon butter sauce. She got the insides. And a lot of them. So - she ate just fine last night.

Appetite was iffy this AM, as usual lately. I think she managed between 1 Tbsp and 1 1/2 Tbsp at first breakfast, with encouragement. She's been nibbling at some other food as well this morning. She's on her way up the pet steps now. It's cute - she doesn't go all way up - she likes to stop a step or 2 below and hop up onto the papasan chair. She's on the fleecy blanket there now, looking very comfy.

Blue is not feeling well. I'm hoping it's hairball stuff. He wasn't very interested in breakfast (very concerning cuz Blue is ALWAYS interested in food). He sat in the cage and waited for me to finish feeding Kasha. I gave him a dollop of petroleum jelly in case it's a hairball. He's sleeping under the desk now - that's currently where he spends most of his time.

I have to go to work before +2 today. We had to get our timesheets in early because it's a holiday weekend (?), so I'm committed to the times I indicated I'd be arriving/leaving. I'm leaving work early too because we have a vet appt around 2 pm today. Ugh. Can't wait till that's over with.

Yesterday
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101

It sounds like a super busy day for you. Kasha's AMPS is nice. I hope Blue will start feeling better.

Your takeout food sounded so good. You always get the best takeout food. Now why are we talking food so early? I gues I should have some breakfast, that's why! :-D

Good luck with the Vet. Is this for Blue to get a checkup or for Kasha. I know it is a worry when they don't eat.
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101

Nice AMPS Kasha! Hope Blue feels better....good luck today with all your stuff and the vet visit....
Happy Friday!
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101

what a great looking start to the day guys! I hope blue starts feeling better and gives you a nice hairball! :lol:
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101

The vet visit is for Kasha - she is supposed to get a urine culture a week after finishing her antibiotics to make sure there's no bacteria in the urine. Also want to discuss a dental, the bump/growth on her head and why Kasha gets these strange sneeze/hairball/gag fits - could they be an indicator of asthma?

Poor Blue... he was looking blah.

Kasha was going from bowl to bowl eating food...

Her +1.75 was 72 so I put down a tsp of 9% FF medleys. Put another tsp of that in a feeder to open in a couple of hours. Hopefully, that will keep her bumped up just enough for me not to panic! Of course, they have other LC food out for the day.
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101

Nice amps for Kasha. I hope her vet visit goes well. And I hope Blue is feeling better soon. Blackie is sending Blue some appetite vines.
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101

Lemon butter chicken, YUM!
Nice amps for Kasha, hope Blue feels better soon and its just a hairball. My Tray threw up a nasty one this morning.
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101, Vet visit update

Ok, we're back and both kids are eating a little snack... Even though only Kasha had a vet appt.

BG 102 before vet, 114 after.

She peed in a cup. Again. I was prepared this time - before we even took her out of the carrier to weigh her, I asked the vet tech for a sterile cup or whatever they have for collecting urine. She looked at me like I was crazy. She knew we were there for a urine culture, so she got out a little cup and handed it to me, kind of laughed and said that I was prepared... I lifted Kasha out of her carrier, and immediately she started to pee. The vet tech stared for a moment, then grabbed the cup and held it under Kasha. I held Kasha up and aimed for the cup until she was empty. The vet tech laughed and said "I'm so impressed!".

The vet was thrilled that we even got a good mid-stream sample - LOL...

So the vet tech asked if I even still wanted to see the vet, which I did. We talked about scheduling a dental (she's now scheduled for August 3rd - they have a 20% off special in August, apparently). I asked about the lump on her head, which I suspected and the vet confirmed, was a sebaceous cyst. She said they can remove it when they have her out for the dental - so why not? It's icky and it's gotten larger. I'm always worried that it will get nicked or something.

I asked about asthma and described Kasha's symptoms. She didn't seem concerned at this point because Kasha does not show any signs of respiratory distress when she has her weird little fits of sneezy somethings, she just doesn't' display any of the worrisome symptoms, so at this point, we'll kind of let it be. However, for Kasha's congestion, she suggested 1 mg chlorpheniramine (sp? - Coricidin HBP or ChlorTrimeton) twice a day or 1/4 tab of cyproheptadine b.i.d. So, at least that gives me some options. She said the 1/4 tab of the cypro because Kasha's a smaller cat (10.2 oz) -and said, "Hey, Kasha - did you hear that? You're a smaller cat now! She's never been a smaller cat before!" And cypro is also being used to treat asthma now, so it may be something to try. I still have some from Big Cat.

We caught up on Blue's progress too.

And I left a copy of Kasha's spreadsheet with her so she can look it over at her leisure. She seemed impressed with our recent numbers. I wrote the URL for the felinediabetes.com and told her to look in the insulin support groups for the Lantus group and she can see our daily posts. I told her she can post here too if she has questions or anything... She seemed interested, which is awesome. I told her there are links to the protocols and the studies they're based on... I really like that she seems to have an open mind about this and she hasn't given me any flack about going off on my own here. I'm pretty pleased to have her as my vet right now - and not just because it's possible she may actually read this post sometime!

Everyone liked Kasha's lion cut. One of the vet techs was very impressed that she didn't have to be sedated for it. I'd never even thought of that...

Well, I'm going to get myself some food since I skipped lunch. Kasha came up the pet steps onto the couch to hang out with me while I posted...
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101, Vet visit update

Sounds like a very productive vet visit, Krys. Doesn't sound like anything to wrong with your girl and you have a course of action for the things that are ailing her.
I think it's pretty impressive that Kasha kinda of pees on command, lol. I can just imagine the look on the tech's face when she did that. Too funny!!!
I'm also impressed with Kasha's numbers today. She id really looking great. I hope that Blue is feeling better soon. Give both the kitties chin scritches for me, please.
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101, Vet visit update

Your vet sounds great and it sounds like a great visit. I hope that Blue gets rid of that hair ball.
 
Re: 7/2 Kasha AMPS 101, Vet visit update

Lots of positive vines here today! I loved hearding your vet report, man that's great when you have a vet you can talk with one to one.

YAY!
 
Well, she ate 1 Tbsp FF for dinner... I think I finally measured the dose correctly tonight... I might have been skinnying it too much for the prior 2 doses - this time it really was .5 minus a drop or so. Just a hair past the .5 line on the syringe. Some of the syringes have markings that aren't quite as easy to measure - the occasional syringe has thicker lines or slightly squiggly lines, which isn't so bad for whole and half numbers cuz you can kind of get an idea, but it's hard for the in-between measures.

Blue ate some dinner too - most of his, in fact. I added chicken dust to his and that seemed to help. He also ate outside of his cage... I didn't want to lock him up. Uh oh - he's got that "I'm going to vomit" look... I hope if he does, a hairball comes up.

Kasha has a surprise lemon butter chicken treat in the car. I couldn't bring it in the house before dinner or she'd never eat FF!

I just realilzed that this vet visit cost $44 less than the previous visit for a urine culture... I looked at the charges and the last one had the culture, the "outpatient care" and 2 different urinalysis charges. Hmmm...

I am so glad to not have to go to tbp till Tuesday...
 
Hey, good Vet visit, and I am so impressed with Kasha peeing in a cup. They had to do a needle c......., can't think of the word to get a sample from Maggie for her urine test. Kasha is not only beautiful; she is also very smart! And it sounds like Blue is doing good, too. Maggie can't wait to see him again. Your meter is very close in range to the one at the Vet from what you were saying. That is great your Vet is open to checking in on this site. I haven't mentioned to my Vet where i'm getting my information, and he hasn't asked but seems to think I'm doing okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top