MauiGuppy
Member Since 2011
Yesterday's numbers may be squirrelly. His meal was off schedule with the vet's visit where he hate 1/3 can FF at +9 before PMPS. He's such a slow eater and ate from PMPS through +4.
Recap
AMPS 103
PMPS 111
+5 67
Today he knew what was going on and started hiding in a couple of his favorite spots. That made carrying him to the towel and burritoing him much harder. But after wrapping him up, he started getting loose so I wrapped another layer with my sweatshirt. After the poke he then hid under the bed, something he does only when he thinks we're going to mom's house in the burbs. Shot time delayed 1/2 hour.
EDIT: Vet Update
Vet still out of the office but one of his partners called with test results. For those who aren't familiar, Junior has been losing his appetite and his weight loss is worrying. Mom hadn't seen him since we came home from LA 3 weeks ago and remarked how noticeable his weight loss has been. I agree.
- Kidneys looked fine
- Urine was concentrated
- Thyroid slightly low, not worried.
Test results:
T4 .5
BUN 23
CREA 1.2
Urine 1035
Blood Pressure 170
He said one possibility is that the "diabetes may not be managed well" and recommends a fructosamine test. I told him I test Junior daily and asked him, "isn't it just the average of the last 2-3 weeks?" He said, "It's tricky" and said the test may help us see if we're over treating Junior. He explained the Somogyi Effect and said Junior might be getting too much insulin.
I wonder if he may be onto something. I did note in yesterday's post that he did start eating more and that was Cycle 4 on the new dose, including the skipped shot in Cycle 2.
So for now we're keeping him on meds as is and run the fructosamine test. My regular vet will call me with a recommendation on Tuesday. I also have an appointment w/a new vet on Thursday.
Thoughts? Reactions?
Recap
AMPS 103
PMPS 111
+5 67
Today he knew what was going on and started hiding in a couple of his favorite spots. That made carrying him to the towel and burritoing him much harder. But after wrapping him up, he started getting loose so I wrapped another layer with my sweatshirt. After the poke he then hid under the bed, something he does only when he thinks we're going to mom's house in the burbs. Shot time delayed 1/2 hour.
EDIT: Vet Update
Vet still out of the office but one of his partners called with test results. For those who aren't familiar, Junior has been losing his appetite and his weight loss is worrying. Mom hadn't seen him since we came home from LA 3 weeks ago and remarked how noticeable his weight loss has been. I agree.
- Kidneys looked fine
- Urine was concentrated
- Thyroid slightly low, not worried.
Test results:
T4 .5
BUN 23
CREA 1.2
Urine 1035
Blood Pressure 170
He said one possibility is that the "diabetes may not be managed well" and recommends a fructosamine test. I told him I test Junior daily and asked him, "isn't it just the average of the last 2-3 weeks?" He said, "It's tricky" and said the test may help us see if we're over treating Junior. He explained the Somogyi Effect and said Junior might be getting too much insulin.
I wonder if he may be onto something. I did note in yesterday's post that he did start eating more and that was Cycle 4 on the new dose, including the skipped shot in Cycle 2.
So for now we're keeping him on meds as is and run the fructosamine test. My regular vet will call me with a recommendation on Tuesday. I also have an appointment w/a new vet on Thursday.
Thoughts? Reactions?