7/1Tiger AMPS 82;+1=95;+2=62;+3=74;+4=81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=120947

This was the first time I've ever had to shoot at double digits, very scary! Tiger got a dose decrease late last night; it was scary because I overslept the 12:00AM alarm, I wonder what her BG was between +3 and +5 but gave her 3.5 units this AM. As a pre-caution, I gave small tsps of HC gravy with LC food for the BG tests. Is this normal to stay this flat for this long? (Presuming she didn't rise and fall when I went to bed at 2:00AM)

Per a post I read from Marje to another condo regarding spitting up small amounts of white foam early AM, coincidently, Tiger had her 3 month Hyperthyroid check up Saturday so I was able to request a senior blood panel. My vet is out until Wednesday but another vet in the clinic left a VM on her bloodwork. One of her kidney values was "a little off"; the vet on the voice mail explained it could be due to dehydration. Thyroid tested a little lower than the 1 month check, so they are contacting the vet that performed the radio-iodine treatment. My regular vet will call me when they hear if the other vet is okay with a value of .7. Oh, Tiger's BG from that screen was "slightly elevated" :sad: The only positive I can take away is that her liver functions were great.

Anyone have experience with kidney issues? Can this be affecting her BG? What I would like to hear from people whose kitties have had kidney problems? Also, I knew going in that hypothyroid was a possibility when we went through with the treatment, and coindicently, I just learned that I have hypothyroid per my last blood work. :roll: Sorry for the pity party here, I already had a meltdown, right now I am just looking for any experience with either two problems. Thanks for any advice and also, continued vines to all the kitties in need and to the OTJ kitties!
 
Re: 7/1 Toger AMPS 82;+1=95;+2=62;+3=74;+4=81

(((Ruth)))

I have experience with all three: (1) CKD (2) hyperT cats that become hypoT after I131 and (3) hooman hypoT. One stop shopping! :lol: :lol: :lol:

First of all, though....I must give you the most important award for shooting your first green!!



Can you get a copy of her labs and post them? I can help you add a labs tab to her SS, if you like. If you look at Gracie's SS, you'll see a tab for labs and I can help you add a similar tab to Tiger's SS and then you can manually post the numbers. That way, I can tell you what I think about the labs in reference to CKD. I've had four CKD cats and understand the numbers. I can give you questions to ask the vet.

Let's see, first, if there is a CKD issue but, generally, it would not affect the BG in an adverse way (increase it) unless there is a kidney infection. Take a look at Trixie's SS. Trix was dx with CKD several months ago and she has actually gone into remission. I haven't seen that "typically" with CKD and FD cats. I think it truly is an ECID thing. Other cats in LL with CKD are Lucy, Tess (very early), Zener (early), and Alex. But again, let's see her labs first before we worry about that. Her BG might have been slightly elevated due to vet stress. It's very, very common.

Our GA Gussie (who was also a CKD kitty but not an FD), had hyperT, was on meds for several months to get him euthyroid so we could see how his kidneys were, and then had I131. After a couple months, he was hypothyroid. He was on a very low dose of soloxine for many, many years with no side effects. We had his thyroid at a very nice level.

I've also been hypoT for many, many years. I've been extremely lucky that I stay nice and even on a very low dose of levothyroxine. My suggestion would be just to start low and then increase. My DBFF is also hypoT and they started her too high. She lost a ton of weight, got really anxious, had intestinal upsets, etc. It took them a couple months to realize the onset of the symptoms coincided with when she started the thyroid meds. So they took her off for a month or so and then started her back on a low dose and have been slowly increasing.

Sending you comfort vines.
 
There is a very good yahoo hypo-t list should you want more info. They won't bombard you with emails either. It is more common than you think. The originator of the list was in touch with Dr. Peterson, the main guy on the east coast. If you want the link, let me know. I've dealt with CKD a lot. Which number was off? The important one is the creatinine. Max always has a high normal or slightly above BUN.

Great numbers for Tiger and congrats on shooting low.
 
:lol: Marje, I had to really stare to figure out what those "things" were! :lol: Is that the Poster Child for Feline Diabetes Shoot Low to Stay Low LOL! Thank you so much for your reply and yeah howdy, do I love one stop shopping! I have to go test Tiger again, but I will call my vet and get those lab results. Thank goodness for you being on line, my hands were shaking while I was typing! I'll go make that call now!
 
Hi Ruth - I'm glad Marje jumped in. She came to mind when I saw your questions. All I can add is making sure that Tiger is getting low phosphorus as well as low carb foods will help. Tess's Ann added a tab to Tess's SS listing the low carb/low phos fuds.

And great shooting today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Yes, it is common for cats to stay flat like this. That is the goal. The saying is shoot low to stay low. Tiger is looking so good now.

A couple of the acrokitties who had stereostatic radiation therapy have gone hypothyroid, a side effect of SRT. Julie's punkin was one of them, as well as Lu-Ann's Grayson, but Lu-Ann doesn't post here often. Grayson is well regulated with his thyrosin.
 
it's not uncommon for diabetic cats to show signs of dehydration (elevated BUN) with their bloodwork, either.

yes, punkin became hypothyroid after his SRT, but i can't offer much because we had just started supplementing him when he passed away. Marje is good at deciphering labs - i'm glad she's chimed in.

punkin also had early CKD, but it didn't progress much and wasn't a problem. We switched him to low phos low carb food and that improved his numbers at the next bloodwork check.

on the positive side - WOOT for Tiger's cycle today! that's like the perfect lantus cycle and is what you want.

sending you a big hug!
 
Thanks ladies!

Marje, I have the lab report, I wish I had mad computer skills but I don't know how to put them in my spreadsheet. They sent everything, if there is a link showing how to add a tab, I will add it to the spreadsheet. :oops:
PhoenixLabs - Senior Feline Chem Screen, T4 by RIA, T4 (RIA)
06/29/2014 12:00 AM
AccessionNo 1406280364
Glucose 359
BUN 55 10-35 mg/dL
Creatinine 1.8 1.0-2.0 mg/dL
Potassium 4.7 4.0-5.8 mEq/L
Phosphorus 4.9 3.5-6.1 mg/dL
ALP 17 10-70 U/L
ALT 65 5-65 U/L
T4 RIA 0.7 1.8-4.5 ug/dL

Elise, I would love to have the link to the hypoT group, if you get a chance. I was unaware Max had CKD, sorry to hear that. It looks like the BUN was high.

Wendy, thanks for the referral to Tess's SS; I will find it and print it out. I need to find some low phos foods that she will eat, she's picky. Also thanks for the referral to Grayson, I occasionally have seen Lu-Ann post.

Julie, I add a few Tbsp. of water to Tiger's food; I have trouble envisioning her being dehydrated, but what do I know. There is so much I don't know about what is normal in a diabetic cat, let alone one with kidney and thyroid problems. I am so sorry when i read about Punkin, thanks for your input as well. I blame myself forTiger'sr kidney prblem because initially I didn't act aggressively enough to keep raising her dose, I didn't understand how dangerous that was. One of my older beloved kitties died from kidney failure, I just pray this isn't something really horrible for her.
 
I'm not real good with computers but I think this should get you to the group. If not let me know and I will try again.

Max doesn't isn't hyper-t and doesn't have CKD either. I've had two cats that had CKD though. Max has had a slightly high T4 so I joined the hyper-t group and the thyroid group which is the one I suggest you join. They advised me on what panels to have done for Max and explained why I should't jump into any treatment without nodules.

https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/Fel ... s/messages
 
Hi Tiger and Ruth! I don't have any experience with CKD or thyroid issues, but congrats on shooting green! It looks like it went really well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top