7/19 Simon AMPS 292

Status
Not open for further replies.
To me his numbers look good. I should be so lucky if those were CL's numbers. Hers are so high lately that Im getting worried. I did go to the vets office today and purchase a new bottle of Insulin. The one Im using is not past its date according to the bottle however Ive been using the dregs of it and I was thinking that maybe thats why her numbers are high. Is there such a thing as the stuff at the bottom not being as effective? I figured anything at this point is worth a try.
You and Simon have a purr-fect day!!
 
Simon is looking good.

Seems like he is flip flopping back and forth between AM & PM with the yellow and pink PS's. He'll figure it out soon.
 
Consistency can vary near the bottom, depending on how well you've been mixing it as you use it. It can be stronger or weaker.
 
AMPS 292 - 2.5u given
+6.5 101
PMPS 212 - gave 2.25u
Although I would usually give 2u with this reading, but I am getting to know the way Simon reacts to which doses for the most part. Of course, he will as always, be closely monitored. I think I am getting pretty good at knowing what to dose him for what pre shot reading he has. I am also getting to know his "trends" somewhat which helps to decide whether to give a lower dose or a higher one, like today for instance.

In a few days, we will be opening a brand new bottle of insulin. Does this mean I should reduce his dose by .25 since I read somewhere on here that new insulin bottle is like a dose increase of .25. Is this so?

Oh and BTW, just an interesting aside. My vet did not even ASK us to bring Simon in to get the 2nd bottle of insulin OR ask his numbers which kind of freaked me out. They do know I am home monitoring though. And, what is really interesting is that the vet raised the dose to 3 units after starting him on 2 units the first week. After one week, with his inflated number in the 400's as he was nervous at the vets as most cats are, he upped it a FULL unit. I did not give him 3 units. The only time he had that was when the vet shot it on the morning of the visit. He stayed HIGH all day probably due to dropping and having a bounce. I lowered his dose that night to 2.25 and slowly brought him up to 2.75 and back down to 2.5. The point of this LONG story is the bottle of insulin still says 2u b.i.d.!!! WHAT>? confused_cat :o :o
 
You have gotten good at knowing what dose is good on what PS. It just takes time and data gathering to be able to start seeing the trends.

A new vial does not automatically call for a dose decrease, it depends on how it was stored, handled and how long it might have been exposed to sun light. That said I would start the new vial on a day you will be able to monitor just to make sure. I used Harley's vial down to the last drop and it was fine with no crazy numbers on the new one.

It makes me sad about our Vets these days, they are either too busy or don't care enough to follow up. My Vet forbade me from home testing and told me to give him 1 unit twice a day and come back in 3 weeks. The next day I found this board and with the help of Sheila Beau & Jeddie by his next 3 week appt. Harley was OTJ and stayed that way for a year. I didn't keep my next appt and she never questioned it and never called about him. To this day she couldn't tell you my sugar cats name and the saddest part of that is, she was my daughter in law for 10 years and is the mother of my grandchildren. So don't feel too bad about your Vet.
 
Joyce I am amazed at how you "get it" Every time I think I finally "get it" I find out that I did "get it" but that I got it wrong!! haha_smiley
Simon is lucky to have you as his mamma bean.
It did not take me to long to find out that my vet seems very concerned and sincere only as long as your standing right in front of him. As soon as you are out thats it! He wont even return a phone call if you call his office nor do you receive a follow up call.
I've used 2 different vets in 7 years and am not really happy with either one. Anyway, I just thought I'd put my 2 cents in!!|
You and Simon have a great day!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top