7/19 Scrappy AMPS 485 +5 351 - BG levels still high

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy & Scrappy Doo

Member Since 2011
Scrappy's Condo

Increased Scrappy's dose on Sunday to 1.5. Yesterday his BG numbers were:

AMPS: 371, +4: 285, +9 471, PMPS 492, + 3.5: 420

Should I do anything different. He continues to eat 2-3 cans of Friskies wet (under 10% Carbs) and some turkey or chicken, etc. His hunger is getting better, but his is still very hungry. I do not feed him at least 3 hours before his PMPS.

Thanks,
Amy
 
Hello Amy and Scrappy!

How much does Scrappy weigh?

As his BG numbers improve, so will the hunger. It takes time. Does he have any other health issues? How long has he been diabetic?
 
Hi Sandy-
Scrappy is 10lbs. I will give you the abbreviated version - unfortunately we do not know how long he has been diabetic. We noticed the symptoms a few months ago and the Vet diagnosed him about 2 months ago. Scrappy is a feral/abandoned cat that came to our deck, so we just started feeding him last Fall/Winter and after a bad fight he got into, he ended up becoming an indoor cat in mid April. We took him to the Vet to get neutered and all of his shots, etc. He does not have FHIV or Leukemia, but other than that...that is all we know.

Looking forward to seeing those numbers improve and his hunger getting into check.

Thanks so much!
Amy
 
HI Amy,

At 10 lbs I wouldn't worry about him eating too much. Do you and/or Scrappys vet feel like he needs to put on a pound or 2? Are those 5.5oz or 3oz cans? (I'm just curious). How old to you think he is?
In the beginning, after being very sick and down under 8 lbs., BK would eat about 15-16oz per day. At one point he was 13 lbs - a bit beefy. He now eats 6 oz per day and looks perfect at 11.2 or so pounds.

Black Kittys story is similar to Scrappys. BK was a neighborhood feral that we started feeding and eventually took in. At the time we took him in (Jan 2008) he was probably around 5.5 years old - but definitely "high mileage" ! We took him immediately to a local vet for a check up and b/w. That day he was diagnosed with conjunctivitis, an upper respiratory infection and he tested FIV+. The next day we got the call about the b/w - he had FD. we don't know how long he had FD either. He had been coming around to eat, on our deck, for months and looked good. I remember noticing that he drank a lot of water. I didn't know that was a symptom. I didn't know cats got diabetes.

Looks like you got the hang of shooting and testing pretty quick! Good job! If you haven't already seen it, here is the standard Lantus protocol to guide you:

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

See you around!
 
I'm glad Sandy copied the protocol instructions. If you're ready, you can increase Scrappy's dose tomorrow (3 days at this dose). Given that his nadirs are generally above 300, you can increase by 0.5u making your new dose 2.0u.

One thought... How much under 10% is what you're feeding? Some cats are very carb sensitive. If you're feeding above 5% carb, you may get better results if you drop to a lower carb food. It's possible that Scrappy is carb sensitive.

Also, do you know if there are any dental issues? Gingivitis or tooth problems can also contribute to higher BG levels.
 
Hi everyone,
We had not been thrilled with our vet for a few different reasons. I am hoping that she looked at his teeth & gums, because she did just abut everything else. Is there something we can tell by looking at him?

Thank you for including the protocol...someone else was kind enough to direct that to me, so we upped his shot on Sunday to 1.5

When I was just testing his bg, while waiting for the insulin to arrive, his numbers were in the 300's to very low 400's. Since we began the shots, there are now go up to the high 400's & 500's. This morning's AMPS was 515.

He is eating the variety pack of Friskies, the large 5.5 cans and they are about 6-8% Carbs. He had lost a few pound since he was neutered in April and diagnosed about 2 months later.

Glad to know there are others in our same situation...BK's story is the same as Scrappy's. The vet thinks he is between 5-8 years old and he got his name, because he always looked like he went 10 rounds with something. Scrappy was in relatively good shape...more going on antibiotics for the fight wounds than anything. BK is lucky to have found your deck.

Thanks again,
Amy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top