7/19 Pudge AMPS 246 +6 234 +9 229 PMPS 226 +3 222 +6 226 +9 246

also can someone maybe explain the greens that showed up then disappeared on the last dose?.. :cat:

also.. when i look at other SS sometimes.. i notice doses are increased, decreased for like what seems to be arbitrary durations.. 2 days at one dose, back to another dose, then a lot of days on that original dose etc..

how is this decided or figured? :bookworm:
 
Last edited:
also can someone maybe explain the greens that showed up then disappeared on the last dose?.. :cat:

also.. when i look at other SS sometimes.. i notice doses are increased, decreased for like what seems to be arbitrary durations.. 2 days at one dose, back to another dose, then a lot of days on that original dose etc..

how is this decided or figured? :bookworm:
Sometimes you'll see a few greens on a dose, but still need to increase. Pudge's body isn't used to the greens he saw, so then his body reacts by sending out more glucose because it thinks something bad is happening. The longer he spends in greens, the less his body will react negatively, but it can take awhile. And you can have stretches where you have lots of greens and blues, and then spend months counteracting yellows and pinks. And sometimes you can't find a reason why, you just have to work through it.
Regarding length of time on doses - it depends on criteria for increases and decreases that folks are using. Some use 7 days in green to decrease, some use 3 drops into the 40s on one dose, and some use 1 drop under 40 (that's mostly TR). Some folks are on SLGS and have the decrease limit at 90. Some adjust as needed based on where they are in the cycle. And once they've taken a decrease (or an increase), it might not hold, and you may need to go back to the previous dose. There was a span of a few days where I was lowering Kit's dose to a vacation dose, and then had to decrease even more a couple of times because of low numbers. How experienced the caregiver is can also play a lot into dose changes, as well as how much time someone has to monitor. Unfortunately, there are so many variables that there isn't a defined answer that is works the same for everyone.

Does that help?
 
Sometimes you'll see a few greens on a dose, but still need to increase. Pudge's body isn't used to the greens he saw, so then his body reacts by sending out more glucose because it thinks something bad is happening. The longer he spends in greens, the less his body will react negatively, but it can take awhile. And you can have stretches where you have lots of greens and blues, and then spend months counteracting yellows and pinks. And sometimes you can't find a reason why, you just have to work through it.
Regarding length of time on doses - it depends on criteria for increases and decreases that folks are using. Some use 7 days in green to decrease, some use 3 drops into the 40s on one dose, and some use 1 drop under 40 (that's mostly TR). Some folks are on SLGS and have the decrease limit at 90. Some adjust as needed based on where they are in the cycle. And once they've taken a decrease (or an increase), it might not hold, and you may need to go back to the previous dose. There was a span of a few days where I was lowering Kit's dose to a vacation dose, and then had to decrease even more a couple of times because of low numbers. How experienced the caregiver is can also play a lot into dose changes, as well as how much time someone has to monitor. Unfortunately, there are so many variables that there isn't a defined answer that is works the same for everyone.

Does that help?
very much.. thank uu :cat: depressing a little.. how much it can vary.. change..

well looks like going to try increase tonite.. i think.
 
Sometimes you'll see a few greens on a dose, but still need to increase. Pudge's body isn't used to the greens he saw, so then his body reacts by sending out more glucose because it thinks something bad is happening. The longer he spends in greens, the less his body will react negatively, but it can take awhile. And you can have stretches where you have lots of greens and blues, and then spend months counteracting yellows and pinks. And sometimes you can't find a reason why, you just have to work through it.
Regarding length of time on doses - it depends on criteria for increases and decreases that folks are using. Some use 7 days in green to decrease, some use 3 drops into the 40s on one dose, and some use 1 drop under 40 (that's mostly TR). Some folks are on SLGS and have the decrease limit at 90. Some adjust as needed based on where they are in the cycle. And once they've taken a decrease (or an increase), it might not hold, and you may need to go back to the previous dose. There was a span of a few days where I was lowering Kit's dose to a vacation dose, and then had to decrease even more a couple of times because of low numbers. How experienced the caregiver is can also play a lot into dose changes, as well as how much time someone has to monitor. Unfortunately, there are so many variables that there isn't a defined answer that is works the same for everyone.

Does that help?
and like sometimes i see like 2 days on a dose, theb back to another dose.. im like ??? Have their reasons haha..
 
I’d definitely increase. With TR you increase after 10 cycles when you are seeing blue or green the first time. When you saw just one day of green I would have given it one or maybe two days more and then increased if no more green.
 
Last edited:
I’d definitely increase. With TR you increase after 20 cycles when you are seeing blue or green the first time. When you saw just one day of green I would have given it one or maybe two days more and then increased if no more green.
i couldnt be home at the time, why waited.. and didnt realize also. i dont recall being told/hearing this (could be wrong..) thanks.. tho i understand its 5-7 but idk. :)
 
There was a typo. You hold 10 cycles and not 20.
right ~ didnt know that about seeing greens.. to change more quickly if dont come back.. was waiting to see didnt know. :/

have seen ppl on doses longer and then all of a sudden is green.. can you by chance explain that?
 
right ~ didnt know that about seeing greens.. to change more quickly if dont come back.. was waiting to see didnt know. :/

have seen ppl on doses longer and then all of a sudden is green.. can you by chance explain that?
It's okay to not know everything. Because there's so much variance, more info will come from folks all the time. You sort of get used to just rolling with it (or at least that's what we've done). I'm still learning new things, and this is our second go round. Some things I'm relearning. It would be almost impossible to read everything there is about Feline diabetes and retain it (that would be amazing if that were a skill I had). It's also hard to have every bit of information that folks know be written in the stickies, just because it would be mean they would inundate the forum. So it's okay if you don't know, just stash info you're given in your mind and do what you can to remember the next time. That's all we can really do (and some of us need more than one reminder before we pick up on information and actually retain it for use - definitely me on some things).

And the whole going between doses - Kit's essentially been on a dose between 1.75 and 2.5 since the beginning of the year. It changes based on what her body needs at that time. Another one of those rolling with the changes as they come.
 
Back
Top