7/19 Lucky

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
Joanna, I did see your last message. So you think I should decrease from the 1u on high yellows too? I had decided to shoot .9 on low 200's and 1 on high 200's and up. Should I change that now based on today's numbers? I was just going to keep with that decision till I got more data but if I need to drop back, then I'll do whatever would be best!

I know he was at 60 today at +4 but wasn't it a good thing that he started at 292 and ended at 291? That seems more even to me...or was the drop too much?

I guess I just need to know a # to ultimately shoot for and look for. I'm just taking all the info in that I'm given and hopefully I'll be able to look at his SS at some point and know what to without thinking twice!

OH and P.S.....If you saw the funky stuff on the SS that didn't make sense, my daughter did that when I wasn't looking! She likes to bang on the laptop keys sometimes. She pretends that she's "typing" LOL
 
It's sort of an unknown when they get an early lower number like that - it could just be his pattern, or it could be really that the dose is sending him too low for that point in the cycle, and not leaving him room to drop to a real nadir over the next couple hours. I would probably experiment with it a little bit - try skinnying down the dose and see what happens. If the numbers go higher, then you know that he probably does need the higher dose. But if he gets maybe a 100 say at +4 and then drops down to say 50 at +6 on the slightly lower dose, then you can figure the slightly lower dose is what he wants.

I generally would focus less on the PSs than on the nadirs. The goal IMO is to get them to spend as much time as possible in non-diabetic numbers. If they get nice PSs, that is a plus, but kind of incidental. If the dose is a little too high, they sometimes will ride back up sooner, rather than having a nice long surf in greens. Hard to say for sure, that's where I'd experiment a little and see what happens.

Hopefully some others will chime in too. I'm super tired & brain dead, and didn't study the SS too hard. Just makes me a little edgy to see the early-cycle low - unless you know that's his pattern, I'd rather not see quite that much drop so early. Seems somewhat common on ProZinc so it might be ok, just makes me a little nervous.

Thanks for posting though tonight! I was pretty sure that 1 :shock: in your SS was a typo, but nice to know you aren't at the ER or something!
 
But yeah I would scale the dose back a little, did I say that clearly? LOL too brain dead tonight. Look at your results and that's how you figure it out - if the PSs are under 150 or nadirs are under 50 that is an immediate dose reduction. If the mid-cycle is too low for its point in the cycle (like today), that's also a dose reduction. If the nadirs are above 100-120 then you want to increase a hair. At some point you can say if the nadirs are over 80 you want to increase a hair, but I think it's good practice to collect some data before trying to really push things low.

Just keep asking whatever questions you have! I forget who knows what already, and if it doesn't make some kind of sense, then we probably have more 'splainin to do!
 
Yes, I see what you are saying about getting a low number early in the cycle. I noticed early on when doing the curves and even just getting a +4 and +6 check that he seems to be at the lowest at +4 and by +6 is on the rise. I'm thinking that's just his pattern but I will experiment and drop the dose tomorrow morning to .9 if I get another yellow.

I think this Sunday I will try and do another curve with a lowered dose and see what it looks like, might get a better picture.

LOL...no, everything was okay with Lucky! When I saw that she had typed in my SS, I thought to myself, I hope no one has stopped by to look at it tonight haha!

I'm super tired too so I know how you are feeling! Have a good night and thanks for your help!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top