Are you able to monitor all cycle (you must be very tired) ?
I do understand. Hopefully things will settle down soon and you will be able to test less often..... he is doing incredibly well on the Lantus. This is why you are needing to test so often. He keeps wanting to get into the lagoon. All those greens are healing numbers so hang onto that. If you look at the SS he hadn’t had a red or black number for 6 days and the pink and yellow BGs are fading away.He didn’t eat. But given his recent pattern, I feel confident he’ll start once the shot kicks in.
We’re around for testing so will shoot 1.5. The quantity of testing is getting to both of us to be honest. I’m shattered so Neil will test this morning.
Thanks Bron, we’ve noticed he’s loving the lower doses and is looking really healthy too. His fur is soft and full, his eyes less strained and he played with us yesterday.I do understand. Hopefully things will settle down soon and you will be able to test less often..... he is doing incredibly well on the Lantus. This is why you are needing to test so often. He keeps wanting to get into the lagoon. All those greens are healing numbers so hang onto that. If you look at the SS he hadn’t had a red or black number for 6 days and the pink and yellow BGs are fading away.
Try and get a good rest.
If we can get a dose that works for both cycles hopefully the schedule will go back to normal.
Because we’ve reduced the dose again can you get a couple of ketones tests in today please if Kozzie obliges.
We’ll go with a +1 and +2 to start with.
That’s a great report.Thanks Bron, we’ve noticed he’s loving the lower doses and is looking really healthy too. His fur is soft and full, his eyes less strained and he played with us yesterday.
Will test for ketones when we catch him in the litter. He drinks less and therefore goes less now.
Ok that’s good. We need him to eat soon before the Lantus kicks in.He hadn’t eaten yet and Neil’s just given him a cerenia.
It’s the LC wet that he always eats.I’m glad he’s eating some wet food. Is it the higher carb food you often give him at the beginning of the cycle to bring the BG up a bit?
Is that the one which we asked Eliz and Bertie about? I’d like to see his BG up a bit over 100 for the onset of insulin if possible.It’s the LC wet that he always eats.
My goodness that food does raise his BG!+3 135
He’s had so much food he’s about to pop. Test again at + 5?
Good plan.+5 67 snacked.
Will test again at +6
Night Bron, thanks for the help.Good plan.
I’m heading to bed. I hope you have a good day.
Hopefully @Nan & Amber (GA) will be around sometime soon.
You can always change your subject line to ask for help if needed. If he drops under 50 you need to give him HC food and test again 30 mins later.
. We’ll use honey if need be.It’s true, I’d be five hours younger if I were in CanadaMy apologies, Annie. Good afternoon to you. You are five hours ahead of Nan and myself.
It's another stall this evening.That is one flat cat!!!!
Thanks Nan. That’s encouraging... and we agree. We need to ease up (in a smart way).He is doing exactly what you want him to do on Lantus! These flat cycles are what Lantus is known for, and they are a wonderful thing to see for Kozmo. No wonder he's feeling good!
Before seeing this pre-shot, I was actually going to suggest that his numbers have been so well-behaved, you could probably ease off a bit on the testing tonight and trust him to behave himself. Maybe you'll still be able to do that, but I agree it makes sense to start off keeping a close eye on him.
It's hard to tell because of the multiple changes in dose, but I'm starting to get a sense that he typically nadirs right in the middle of the cycle, hitting his lowest numbers between +4 and +8. If that holds, your schedule will get a lot easier because you'll know when you need to pay extra-close attention and won't have to be testing all the time.
I like itI was thinking maybe +4, and then make a decision as to whether to do more testing or call it a night. What do you think?

We’ve left food down for Kozmo but haven’t gone to bed... just to double check how he self feeds... he’s visited his bowl three times in the first two hours.Wow, look at that sea of green!
What a clever boy you are Kozzie.
My concern with leaving him for the rest of the cycle is that he has been fed frequently during the cycle up until now to keep him in these numbers and if he was left, would he eat to keep himself up or would he drop too low? I think maybe see how he goes with less feeding but monitor to see if it works. Thoughts?
I think doing that and checking the BG as a trial would be a good idea. Is he the only one who can access the food left out?We’ve left food down for Kozmo but haven’t gone to bed... just to double check how he self feeds... he’s visited his bowl three times in the first two hours.
Thanks JanWhat beautiful progress - I'm super impressed with you, Annie and Kosmo and your Tag Team of help.
Less testing really will happen after all the data you are collecting keeps falling together. When you feel calm, rested (uh, no smart comment, lol) and smart like you are already are (my "smart" time of day is early morning usually, haha) take a good look at your spreadsheet and you will see how much you have already learned about Kosmo's cycles and how food effects him, etc. It has been so fun watching you gain confidenceJust wanted to say, great job!
+4 117I think doing that and checking the BG as a trial would be a good idea. Is he the only one who can access the food left out?
