7/19 Kozmo, AMPS 97, +1 99, +2 81, +3 135, +5 67, +7 68, PMPS 74, +1 74, +2 92

With all the stalling we’ve been doing, our shoot time is becoming more and more delayed. Even with pulling back 15 minutes each cycle, we’re still an hour an ten minutes later than our normal time and it’s becoming unmanageable.
 
Previous thread.

AMPS 92 - +12.25 97

Happy to feed then shoot. Just want to check dosage again.
Are you able to monitor all cycle (you must be very tired) ?
I don’t like chopping and changing the dose all the time. It’s not good for the depot. But we need to keep in mind the ketones and the BG.
If he eats well I’m thinking if we try 1.5 units maybe that will be a dose we can shoot both cycles. How would you feel about shooting 1.5 units? Hopefully that will allow us to continue with that dose.
 
He didn’t eat. But given his recent pattern, I feel confident he’ll start once the shot kicks in.

We’re around for testing so will shoot 1.5. The quantity of testing is getting to both of us to be honest. I’m shattered so Neil will test this morning.
 
He didn’t eat. But given his recent pattern, I feel confident he’ll start once the shot kicks in.

We’re around for testing so will shoot 1.5. The quantity of testing is getting to both of us to be honest. I’m shattered so Neil will test this morning.
I do understand. Hopefully things will settle down soon and you will be able to test less often..... he is doing incredibly well on the Lantus. This is why you are needing to test so often. He keeps wanting to get into the lagoon. All those greens are healing numbers so hang onto that. If you look at the SS he hadn’t had a red or black number for 6 days and the pink and yellow BGs are fading away.
Try and get a good rest.
If we can get a dose that works for both cycles hopefully the schedule will go back to normal.
Because we’ve reduced the dose again can you get a couple of ketones tests in today please if Kozzie obliges.
We’ll go with a +1 and +2 to start with.
 
I do understand. Hopefully things will settle down soon and you will be able to test less often..... he is doing incredibly well on the Lantus. This is why you are needing to test so often. He keeps wanting to get into the lagoon. All those greens are healing numbers so hang onto that. If you look at the SS he hadn’t had a red or black number for 6 days and the pink and yellow BGs are fading away.
Try and get a good rest.
If we can get a dose that works for both cycles hopefully the schedule will go back to normal.
Because we’ve reduced the dose again can you get a couple of ketones tests in today please if Kozzie obliges.
We’ll go with a +1 and +2 to start with.
Thanks Bron, we’ve noticed he’s loving the lower doses and is looking really healthy too. His fur is soft and full, his eyes less strained and he played with us yesterday.

Will test for ketones when we catch him in the litter. He drinks less and therefore goes less now.
 
Thanks Bron, we’ve noticed he’s loving the lower doses and is looking really healthy too. His fur is soft and full, his eyes less strained and he played with us yesterday.

Will test for ketones when we catch him in the litter. He drinks less and therefore goes less now.
That’s a great report.
It makes it all worthwhile!
 
Good plan.
I’m heading to bed. I hope you have a good day.
Hopefully @Nan & Amber (GA) will be around sometime soon.
You can always change your subject line to ask for help if needed. If he drops under 50 you need to give him HC food and test again 30 mins later.
Night Bron, thanks for the help.

Morning Nan. I’m sure we’ll be fine with Kozzie. We have high carb food but he won’t eat it :facepalm:. We’ll use honey if need be.
 
A lovely surf.

And if I was in the UK, I'd be 5 hours even closer to 61.

Going to put on acceptable to the public clothing and go out briefly to secure awnings and bring in wicker before a massive thunderstorm hits.
 
He is doing exactly what you want him to do on Lantus! These flat cycles are what Lantus is known for, and they are a wonderful thing to see for Kozmo. No wonder he's feeling good!

Before seeing this pre-shot, I was actually going to suggest that his numbers have been so well-behaved, you could probably ease off a bit on the testing tonight and trust him to behave himself. Maybe you'll still be able to do that, but I agree it makes sense to start off keeping a close eye on him.

It's hard to tell because of the multiple changes in dose, but I'm starting to get a sense that he typically nadirs right in the middle of the cycle, hitting his lowest numbers between +4 and +8. If that holds, your schedule will get a lot easier because you'll know when you need to pay extra-close attention and won't have to be testing all the time.
 
He is doing exactly what you want him to do on Lantus! These flat cycles are what Lantus is known for, and they are a wonderful thing to see for Kozmo. No wonder he's feeling good!

Before seeing this pre-shot, I was actually going to suggest that his numbers have been so well-behaved, you could probably ease off a bit on the testing tonight and trust him to behave himself. Maybe you'll still be able to do that, but I agree it makes sense to start off keeping a close eye on him.

It's hard to tell because of the multiple changes in dose, but I'm starting to get a sense that he typically nadirs right in the middle of the cycle, hitting his lowest numbers between +4 and +8. If that holds, your schedule will get a lot easier because you'll know when you need to pay extra-close attention and won't have to be testing all the time.
Thanks Nan. That’s encouraging... and we agree. We need to ease up (in a smart way).
 
Wow, look at that sea of green!
What a clever boy you are Kozzie. :cat:
My concern with leaving him for the rest of the cycle is that he has been fed frequently during the cycle up until now to keep him in these numbers and if he was left, would he eat to keep himself up or would he drop too low? I think maybe see how he goes with less feeding but monitor to see if it works. Thoughts?
 
Wow, look at that sea of green!
What a clever boy you are Kozzie. :cat:
My concern with leaving him for the rest of the cycle is that he has been fed frequently during the cycle up until now to keep him in these numbers and if he was left, would he eat to keep himself up or would he drop too low? I think maybe see how he goes with less feeding but monitor to see if it works. Thoughts?
We’ve left food down for Kozmo but haven’t gone to bed... just to double check how he self feeds... he’s visited his bowl three times in the first two hours.
 
Kozzie’s more active at night (as cats are inclined to be), he’s back getting up to mischief and food has been disappearing. He knows where his bowl is (auto feeder training to commence soon) and I’m a worry wort, so of course I’ll be checking throughout the night.
 
What beautiful progress - I'm super impressed with you, Annie and Kosmo and your Tag Team of help.

Less testing really will happen after all the data you are collecting keeps falling together. When you feel calm, rested (uh, no smart comment, lol) and smart like you are already (my "smart" time of day is early morning usually, haha) take a good look at your spreadsheet and you will see how much you have already learned about Kosmo's cycles and how food effects him, etc. It has been so fun watching you gain confidence:):):) Just wanted to say, great job!
 
Last edited:
What beautiful progress - I'm super impressed with you, Annie and Kosmo and your Tag Team of help.

Less testing really will happen after all the data you are collecting keeps falling together. When you feel calm, rested (uh, no smart comment, lol) and smart like you are already are (my "smart" time of day is early morning usually, haha) take a good look at your spreadsheet and you will see how much you have already learned about Kosmo's cycles and how food effects him, etc. It has been so fun watching you gain confidence:):):) Just wanted to say, great job!
Thanks Jan :)
I think doing that and checking the BG as a trial would be a good idea. Is he the only one who can access the food left out?
+4 117

Kozzie’s the only one that will access his food. Will test again at +6
 
Back
Top