7/19 Juggie PMPS 425

DenaRox

Member Since 2021
previous post on main forum

Hi everyone,
it was suggested i come join you all but I was a tad intimidated to join earlier as we just couldn't get the successful BG . We are still very inexperienced and after serious struggles with successful BG we are giving it a serious go. Yesterday PMPS, well actually it was 10 min after insulin shot and Juggie's BG was 124. Sadly we weren't able to get another until todays PMPS which was 425. such a huge difference with no understandable reasoning. Is this what you call bouncing? Should i be worried? I am going to try for +2 or +3 but I'm just so lost here. I know i have to start getting some regular BG to determine what's going on so hopefully Juggie will cooperate because let me tell you this boy HATES BG testing.
 
Welcome to LLB. Are you giving him a treat after each poke, successful or not? I was lucky that Max didn’t mind testing but when he needed sub-a fluids it was a struggle at first until he realized he got a special treat only after fluids. He got a different treat after ear pokes. Testing will get easier.

As for the high bg tonight he’s bouncing from the 124 most likely or possibly he went even lower. It’s normal and to be expected so don’t worry about that. Since lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes your cat we really need to figure out how to get a couple tests each cycle. With him being so high a +3 or before bed test is all you will need. Once it gets easy a +2 is a good indicator of how much testing might be needed that cycle. With testing difficult I suggest following SLGS as it’s less aggressive. You would hopefully be Abbie to get him used to testing so you can do a 12 hour curve. If not just vary and try to get a mid cycle test when possible and vary the time between +5-7.
 
Welcome to LLB. Are you giving him a treat after each poke, successful or not? I was lucky that Max didn’t mind testing but when he needed sub-a fluids it was a struggle at first until he realized he got a special treat only after fluids. He got a different treat after ear pokes. Testing will get easier.

As for the high bg tonight he’s bouncing from the 124 most likely or possibly he went even lower. It’s normal and to be expected so don’t worry about that. Since lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes your cat we really need to figure out how to get a couple tests each cycle. With him being so high a +3 or before bed test is all you will need. Once it gets easy a +2 is a good indicator of how much testing might be needed that cycle. With testing difficult I suggest following SLGS as it’s less aggressive. You would hopefully be Abbie to get him used to testing so you can do a 12 hour curve. If not just vary and try to get a mid cycle test when possible and vary the time between +5-7.

hi :) thanks for the welcome :)

So far the only way I have been successful is to give him a treat to distract him enough to let me do it. Otherwise he fights me. In the ear he thrashed his head and has even bit me but he has always hated having his ears touched. Sadly he also hates having his feet touched but if my daughter wraps him and holds him like a baby and feeds him treats I’ve been able to poke his paw. This has only been successful 3-4 times and only with him being held. Otherwise if I am alone and able to get a poke he fights and ends up smearing the blood before I can get it read. This is what happened just now when I tried to get +3 reading because my daughter went to bed so I was doing it alone . Trying again is always unsuccessful because he’s already ate his treat and won’t “fall for it” again. Successful or not he always gets praise and love after. Im trying not to stress or be upset but I worry so much because I know testing is so important, the key to getting him healthy again and I feel like a failure. Tomorrow is a new day, will hope for success
 
Back
Top