7/19 Johnny PMPS 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janice & Johnny

Member Since 2010
Hmm, this is all very interesting. Last night, Johnny dropped to 42 @ +4 and made his way up to 65 by +6. Then, he was 73 this a.m.

I know that it's important to be consistent, but we just didn't feel confident giving insulin this a.m. I was running late and the decision had to be made on the spot, timing-wise. So, sorry shed, but no free insulin this a.m. Too freaked out by the low number.

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20095
 
Re: 7/19 Johnny Cat AMPS 73

Ha, Sienne! Maybe you're right. Maybe we should go through the motions twice a day. "Placebo" shots.
 
Re: 7/19 Johnny Cat AMPS 73 +4(116) +7(123) +8(106)

Johnny's chart is updated and I noted today's feedings with an asterisk. Brian fed him every four hours from AMPS on.

He's definitely able to bring himself down, but I don't know what all this means in terms of shot/no shot tonight. And, of course, we don't know the magic PMPS number yet. I'll take it at 7:40 CT and post it. Shot is due at 8.

Do you want us to stick with this feeding schedule for a day or two? I don't want to regulate the feeding schedule permanently, but thought it might be helpful to see what's happening between meals. If it makes no matter, we'll just go back to the free-range feeding.

note: each of the +4, etc. in the subject line should have a .25 after it. Shortened for space sake. It's correct on the chart.
 
So, PMPS (+11.75) was 108. Shot, if given, is due at 8 CT (roughly ten minutes from now). I'd like to shoot this number, but I feel like we'll have a repeat of a low (non-shoot, I think) AMPS tomorrow. Today's was 73. If Johnny was your cat, what would you do? I wish we could just dip the syringe into some insulin (we have PLENTY and it will probably not be good after a few more weeks; it's the same vial we started with) and call it a "dip" of insulin. Clearly though, this is not an option. Just my imagination having some fun!

Like I said yesterday, 0.1 is barely more than a drop, so to get to a drop confidently is not easy. We'll be around tonight and Brian will be here tomorrow.
 
Re: 7/19 Johnny PMPS 108 - SHOOT IT?

silly question, do you know the carb % of the foods you are feeding? Is there more than one food he eats? Do you know what Johnny ate last night?

Also, is it possible to measure a smaller dose than you did last night, or are you pretty much as low as you can go?
 
Re: 7/19 Johnny PMPS 108 - SHOOT IT?

Yesterday afternoon through late afternoon, he was eating FF classic chicken. Evening, it was FF flaked fish & shrimp. I know at least the latter is under 10% carb. I think most classic varieties are the same. Tonight, after PM test, he had FF flaked Tuna. We'll definitely start tracking this...

We would do our best to hit below what we hit last night, but it felt like the minimum. No pressure on shot time. I realized since he didn't have one this a.m., we can shoot when we can and inch back if needed.
 
Re: 7/19 Johnny PMPS 108 - SHOOT IT?

good, you gave the right answers even though you didn't know it. :mrgreen: The Fish & Shrimp Feast is zero carbs, the Gourmet ones are around 4. The Flaked Tuna looks like 7.

I do think Johnny needs a little more time on insulin. What if you try shooting the smallest dose you can, and for right now eliminating the Fish & Shrimp Feast and feeding something with at least 3-4% carbs. Maybe those few extra carbs will help keep him from dropping early in the cycle so he can surf.

I know this sounds crazy. Don't worry, you shouldn't have to do this for long, once he is off insulin then the zero carb foods will be great, but we're just trying to keep him from dropping too low so he can stay on insulin a little longer. Tonight should be ok since the flaked tuna is 7%.

Ronnie/Luna's spreadsheet is a perfect example of this, we had to do the exact same experiment to get Luna to flatten out before his OTJ trial worked.
 
Re: 7/19 Johnny PMPS 108 - SHOOT IT?

Good! I definitely didn't know I was giving the right answers. ;-) Wow, Libby, I'm so glad you asked that question. That makes a lot of sense that last night he didn't have any "cushion" so to speak.

Just before 9 CT, we shot what Brian felt confident was a little less than last night. He says he thinks that's the lowest we can hit. I'll call it a drop on the chart. We gave 2 tsp more of the flaked tuna before shot, so hopefully that makes Johnny grab his surfboard. I'm definitely going to check out Luna's spreadsheet.

Fish & Shrimp is a FAVORITE, but it will have to wait! It will be a sweet day when we can serve it.

We don't have any gourmet varieties on-hand for late night/tomorrow a.m., but we have the following:

FF Chicken & Liver classic
FF Turkey & Giblet classic
FF Tuna flaked
FF Cod, Sole & Shrimp classic (eaten by the kitties only when very hungry...still have a couple cans to use up)

Where do you look up what is 3-4%? I've only seen lists for under 10%.

Should we pick up some Gourmet (any flavor?) tomorrow? (this question may be answered by the above ?)

Can we back off of doing the four hours between feeds during the day (we leave some out at night)? Or is that helpful? We can always do it when we want to test out the ol' pancreas. Kitties are sure missing the free-feeding. But whatever helps Johnny on his way is what we'll do.

Thanks, again, Libby! I'm so glad you asked the right question tonight.

And, thanks for the support, Lisa and Do Lou! Much appreciated. :smile:
 
I don't think you need to do the 4 hours between feedings while he's on insulin. Free feeding should be fine, but if it doesn't work we can always tweak something else. We can always come up with new ways to test your patience. :lol:

I said Gourmet, but now they call them Classic. I'm old, it messes me up when they rename things. ;-) Here is the chart I was looking at, it's Janet & Binky's "old" chart but the values shouldn't have changed very much: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodOld.html
 
Thanks for the link, Libby. It looks familiar...from way back in May. Funny, it does seem so long ago. It's bookmarked now!

Thanks for the help tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top