7/19 Jinx PMPS 285, +3 168, +4.5 212, +6 403, +8 454

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe and Jinx

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=75279

I posted a question on yesterday's condo about natural remedies but it was a little late last night so I wanted to mention it again. If any of you have had any experience with or knowledge of treating an FD cat concurrently with insulin and a natural remedy, you're input would be much appreciated! Hope you all have a great day!
 
Re: 7/19 Jinx AMPS 386

Hi guys .. no advice from me on the natural remedies .. interesting stuff though .. I hope Jinx brings down this pink for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/19 Jinx PMPS 285, +3 168, +4.5 212

Wasn't expecting to see him go up at +4.5. He hasn't eaten since +2 either so that's really unusual for him. Will get another test in before I go to bed...
 
Re: 7/19 Jinx PMPS 285, +3 168, +4.5 212

Hi Joe

I only know of the Mellit that Sienne referenced. If you search for "mellit" in LL and in Health, there is an interesting discussion. It does have gymnema which I've been giving to Gracie for a long time; however, she has recently decided she doesn't want it. From what I've read of many of these supplements, they work well for diet controlled diabetics but not necessarily for insulin dependent diabetics. I know Vidya did give it to Boo but Boo was also a dry food kitty so it's hard to know what really was the factor in him going OTJ. On the website for Mellit, it appears many of the cats it helped had also been dry food kitties.

As far as the clerk's contention that her cat was better, it's definitely possible but without knowing his BG and whether there was anything else going on, it's really difficult to draw conclusions.

However...having said all that, I do believe in herbs and homeopathy and use them for the cats. I don't think they can hurt in this instance. I'd go with the Mellit because I called and spoke at length with the company and ascertained that
they really provide an organic product right from the beginning when they get the seeds through to the end.
 
Re: 7/19 Jinx PMPS 285, +3 168, +4.5 212, +6 403

I have no idea what's going on but I'm really nervous about a 403 at +6. Are there ever times when you give insulin during the cycle to try to get them to come down. In other words, if I test him at +8 and he's over 500, what do I do?
 
Re: 7/19 Jinx PMPS 285, +3 168, +4.5 212, +6 403

Joe and Jinx said:
I have no idea what's going on but I'm really nervous about a 403 at +6. Are there ever times when you give insulin during the cycle to try to get them to come down. In other words, if I test him at +8 and he's over 500, what do I do?
If he was 500 at +8, I would still wait until +10, and if he's still 500 at +10, then you could give his dose of insulin, but that would mess with your shot schedule and make the next dose due in 12 hours from the time you shot that +10. KWIM?
 
Re: 7/19 Jinx PMPS 285, +3 168, +4.5 212, +6 403

Could be a fur shot at the PM cycle?
Remember the insulin takes approx 2 hrs to work, it's not an immediate remedy to bring down bg.
Take a deep breathe & calm down. If you shot at +10 which means that you've brought forward the shot by 2 hrs ( which also means an increased dose) and the next shot will also be 2 hrs ahead of your usual schedule.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top