? 7/19 Dak: AMPS 462, +6 298, PMPS 481, +3 399

Jeremy & Kate

Member Since 2023
Crossing our fingers and toes, it seems that we are starting to get Dak's blood ketones somewhat under control (peak values throughout the day seem to be staying somewhat lower than when he first came back home from his last ER visit). He has been very hungry since swapping him over to Instinct Original Rabbit pate wet food, after he had been on Lamb pate wet food for a week. We had to deviate from the TR protocols for adjusting Dak's insulin dosage amount, due to focusing on trying to find a type/brand of food that agrees with his IBD. We have been working on waning Dak off of Mirataz, as he has gotten very hungry and tends to give us bites on our legs or arms if we don't give him food fast enough.

We are trying to figure to figure out what may be causing Dak's BG values to be high in the morning (some days being over 500 or in the upper 400 range) and then climbing back down throughout the day and evening. We are thinking that his high PMPS value today may be from Dak throwing up a hairball about an hour before his PMPS value was taken. We think this value is an outlier and are more focused on his pattern overall.
 
Both mornings that you woke up to a black AMPS, Dak had a decent drop to +3. It's possible he got to lower yellows or high blues those nights, both of which he isn't used to. So bounced. Think of it as the insulin starting to get him into better numbers. The bouncing in not unexpected.

Holding doses too long is not going to help. He could build up some glucose toxicity, basically meaning his body is getting used to higher numbers. If you were following TR, he's due for an increase.

The link to your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-20-dak-advice-on-adjusting-daks-dose.291324/
 
Back
Top