7/18 Skooter 279+2 101+3.75 44+4 75+4.5 70 +5 103 +5.5 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's RECORD BREAKING!!! Condo

Hip Hip Hooray for Friday!!!!!

Last night, Skooter hit GREEN for the first time since home testing began (at least the first time I was able to test it) and probably the first time in who knows how long with the numbers he was having when he was first diagnosed! Thus, I am not that surprised with his bounce of this morning. However, I was expecting a test in the 300s, so I will take 261! I know that's not to say that perhaps his PMPS won't bounce higher, but pleased with what I have right now :) The green couldn't have come at a better time as I am hoping to get him into the greens a few more times this weekend, when I feel more comfortable and that I have more control as I can test and feed as needed.

He ate his breakfast very well this morning and while he seems a little off (nothing I can really put my finger on) I am going to attribute that to his body getting used to these lower numbers on a more consistent basis. He probably hasn't seen these numbers for a really long time, so he probably doesn't know what to do with himself!

Sending good vines to one and all and wishing everyone a happy Furday!!!!

~Molly 'n' Skoots
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261

Great job last night, Molly. :mrgreen: And not too bad this morning, Skooter. Surf safely while your bean is away. TGIF is right!
Liz
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149

Surf safely, my Skooterbear as momma might have to work a little later than she would like.

Don't worry I will be home in time to test, feed and shoot you, just need you to be a little extra patient.....Momma wouldn't mind a blue number PMPS, either...just not TOO low so I don't have to freak out :P

Hope everyone is enjoying their T.G.I.F!!!!
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149

Very nice cycle so far today...breaking that little bounce nicely!!

After last night's excitement, it really is great that he's doing so well today. I was expecting a 300+ number too!

Surf safely for your mamabean, Skooter....she loves you so much!

And congratulations on your first full week of wet food too!! GOOD STUFF!! :-D
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149 PMPS 279

I am actually still pretty impressed.....I am not 100% sure how bounces work, but he seems to be handling this one very nicely as his PMPS is still in the yellow zone....a tich higher than his AMPS, but still, I am fairly impressed.....

Here is to hoping we can hit some green numbers this weekend as I should be home all weekend to keep a watchful eye.....
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149 PMPS 279 +2 101

Hello active cycle and guessing late night for me....

Guessing a +3 is a good idea?
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149 PMPS 279 +2 101

A couple tsp of low carb food and a +3 would be good. Exciting to see Skooter clear the bounce that fast. :-D
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149 PMPS 279 +2 101

I gave him 1 teaspoon because last night when I thought I had given 2 teaspoons (turns out in my excitement of green I forgot to move the teaspoon down so I thought I gave 2 teaspoons and really gave 2 1/2 teaspoons, for a total of 1 teaspoon) and within 30 minutes he went from 81 to 97.....

He seems to pretty responsive to the carbs....
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149 PMPS 279 +2 101

You're learning fast Molly!!

Skooter...you really don't have to be in such a rush! The lagoon isn't going anywhere!

Hopefully the snack will slow him down just a bit :-D
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149 PMPS 279 +2 101

He just thinkin...Bounce? WHAT bounce?!?!

lol

He likes to be a show off I guess :-D

P.S. I am absolutely LOVING the snuggle time...today when I got home he snuggled with me like he used to where he couldn't get close enough to me :-D
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149 PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67

Apparently Skooter is out to prove a point tonight or test what he can do to freak his momma out....

Surprisingly, still calm....it is time for his 4th (and final) meal of the night....I am assuming I am good to give him his whole meal? Usually 1/2 can of 3 oz Nature Variety's chicken.....
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter AMPS 261 +5.25 149 PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67

I'd just give him another teaspoon or 2.....if he continues going down, you don't want to fill him up now

You'll want him to be willing to eat later if necessary
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50

HOLY BUCKETS!!!

While still calm, I am starting to freak out ever so slightly.......

I really would prefer he not go much lower than this.....should I give him more food?


Also, when at 50 does he earn a reducie or does it have to go UNDER 50?
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50

The protocol says under 50...we really want them to EARN those reductions so they're more likely to hold them

Give him another snack and re-test in 20-30 minutes and let's see where he's at...he may get that 49 yet!
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50 +3.75 44

Time to pull out the HC!!

A couple of teaspoons of the gravy part and retest in about 20 minutes

And Congratulations!! He's earned his first reduction!! Down to 2 units you go!
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50 +3.75 44

GULP 44?!?!?!? What the heck is this cat trying to do to me??!?! Yes I wanted to get his numbers, lower, but this is too much! lol

I broke out the HC and drained as much of the gravy as I could from it and gave him that and a teaspoon of LC as well....I did scoop out a little of the HC as well for him to eat........


I guess he gets his reduction to 2U!!! Can I assume that there will most likely be a bounce on this as well? lol
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50 +3.75 44

I felt the same way @3.25 44 i just stayed as calm as i could and started giving nutri-cal and took till +4 to get 54 now at 4.25 he is at 71.
Nice earned reduction.
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50 +3.75 44

OK...now for the fun part

Once we get him up (like into the 60's at least) you can stop feeding him, but you can't stop testing. You want to get at least 2 rising numbers without the influence of food (I prefer to test for at least 2 hours after the last food to make sure they're going to stay up without any more food)
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50 +3.75 44 +4 7

Nice earned reduction for you as well!


I am happy at +4 he is up to 75....so FINALLY going in a better direction lol

not really looking forward to the inevitable bounce that is to come
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50 +3.75 44 +4 7

Good job, Molly.

Be sure you take another read through "Handling Low Numbers" linked in my signature block.

If he's coming down gradually, you want to give the two tsp of LC once he is in green. Lather, rinse, repeat until he stops and is flat. If he drops below 50, give him the gravy with a tiny bit of food which will help keep him up.
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.5 50 +3.75 44 +4 7

Normal numbers are actually 40-120 so Skooter is fine in the 40s. We just bring them up from the 40s for safety. Congrats on the reduction, :mrgreen: Is this the first official "earned" one?
Liz
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.75 44 +4 75 +4.5 7

Yes, his last reduction was due to the change from dry food to wet food.....so this is his first "earned" reduction.....

However, he apparently does not want me to get any I-) I-) I-) I-) I-) as he is trending down slightly again.....


Do I give him some more food?
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.75 44 +4 75 +4.5 7

Just a little of his low carb stuff

It's within the meter variance so it's basically the same number but we don't want him to continue dropping
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.75 44 +4 75 +4.5 7

Soooooooo, I am assuming there will be a bounce of some sort tomorrow....


Do I start his reduction right away or do I need to let his bounce settle before taking his reduction?

I sure hope Skooter let's this mommabean get some sleep sometime soon.....
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.75 44 +4 75 +4.5 7

If he bounces in the morning, you can shoot through it once with the current dose and then reduce tomorrow night.
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMPS 279 +2 101 +3 67 +3.75 44 +4 75 +4.5 7

We don't assume anything until it happens Molly...LOL

There's just no way to predict what's going to happen tomorrow..I'd say more than likely, he'll bounce by AMPS time...but he may not bounce until later...or he may not bounce at all

IF he bounces high in the morning (like over 300....400 if you're not going to be able to be home to test), you can "shoot through the bounce", which just means to give him one more shot at 2.25 units to help get him through the bounces high numbers, but at the next cycle, you take the reduction back to 2 units and hold it for awhile

If he's below 300, I'd probably go ahead and take the reduction in the morning
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter PMP279 +2 101+3 67+3.75 44 +4 75 +4.5 70 +5

And back in the blues we are....

Should I be doing any more testing tonight or would I be go to get some sleep?

I am thinking a +11 (if I can get up for it) would be a good idea to see the possible bounce will be.....

so if he is below 300 and I take the reduction in the AM and he bounces in the PM, I stick with the reduction, right?
 
Re: 7/18 Skooter 279+2 101+3.75 44+4 75+4.5 70 +5 103 +5.5 1

Looks like it is time for this one to get some I-) I-) I-) I-) I-)


Interested in seeing what AMPS will bring.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top