7.18 Lucy PMPS=290 Questions about food...

Status
Not open for further replies.

LucyCat

Member Since 2013
So came back today to find two big puke messes even though I have her 5 mg of Pepcid AC this morning...does it take a few days to work or isn't it supposed to help upset stomach right away? This mess had a big hairball in it again so I'll be giving her more coconut oil today.

Jeez...
 
Re: 7.18 Lucy AMPS=278 Vomited on Pepcid AC...

The Pepcid won't help at all with hairballs... Maybe she had two issues going.... sometimes the stomach, sometimes the hair...

Is she grooming a lot? I can usually predict when they are coming with my cat by how much she grooms that day. Maybe if you catch her grooming, you can get her to
lick a bit more coconut oil off your finger. (maybe affect it to slide out the other way instead)
 
Re: 7.18 Lucy AMPS=278 Vomited on Pepcid AC...

You should probably give the Pepsid 30 min. before you give Lucy a meal. It doesn't work immediately.
 
Re: 7.18 Lucy AMPS=278 Vomited on Pepcid AC...

Can you guys tell me how often and when you feed your cats?? Right now it seems like I'm going through a lot of food. Would half a can (5.5 oz Friskies Pate) at 7 am and then another half at 7 pm be enough?? Right now, since I'm home, I've been feeding in quarter can increments like every 4 hours.

We are going on vacation for a week and will have a cat sitter coming twice a day for shots and meds and everything else. My concern is that I don't really know how much food to leave out. Also, when I start back to work in August...I won't be around all day to give out small meals. I checked the automatic feeders and they're just out of our budget right now. DCIN is helping fund Lucy's medication needs.

Also, what do people do if their kitty tests low for the AMPS and they have to leave for work??
 
How much to feed Lucy depends on several factors. First, how much does she weigh. Then, since she is still unregulated, her body can not process the food correctly. Diabetic cats can need up to 50% more than non-diabetic cats.

Is Lucy telling you she is still really hungry all the time? Is she losing weight?

My 3 cats all need different amounts of food. ECID. Wink is 10.4 pounds, needs 7-8 ounces a day but he is my diet controlled diabetic so he is not starving all the time. Monet get 6-7 ounces a day, he is my big boy 12.2 pounds. My little civie Delta, 7.2 pounds only gets 4 ounces a day to maintain her weight.

When Wink first came to live with me, he could eat 2 5.5 ounce cans a day, easy. He has slacked off some since then.
 
Lucy weighs 10.4 lbs. She is not losing weight, so that is good...but she does eat food up right when I put it down...she's probably averaged about 1.5 cans of food each day so that would be right around 8.25 oz of food.

That's good to know that eating more is normal for diabetics because my other cat doesn't seem nearly as hungry...which I worry about her getting to eat since Lucy scarfs it all up so eagerly...I will have to monitor their eating more.

Is feeding twice a day okay?
 
I hope Lucy kept her food down today. You asked a few questions about food. Several smaller meals are easier on a healing pancreas than one larger meal. If an autofeeder is out of the question then another option is to make catsicles or meatsicles. Just add some water to the cat food, and freeze it in the ice cube tray or equivalent. Pop one or two out in the morning before you leave to work then Lucy will have food during the day as it melts. At night you can break up meals so there is one at PS and another before you go to bed.

If kitty tests low before going to work, there are several options and it depends on the numbers and whether there's any chance to come home at lunch time to test. Ideally you could get a +2 before leaving to work to help decide what to do and you and post on here to get advice before you leave. One option is to leave medium carb or high carb food to snack on. Another option some have done is to give a reduced shot or skip. Giving the full dose is best because then you don't disrupt the depot but you do want to keep Lucy safe.
 
If you have a non-stick muffin pan, those work great for making the catscicles.

If Lucy is holding steady on her weight, not losing at least, then 1.5 of those 5.5 ounce cans sounds about right for her now. That will decrease as her blood glucose gets under control.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top