7/18 Kiwi, AMPS 279, bg ALL OVER THE PLACE, Need Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kiwi F

Member Since 2012
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99743

Hi guys,

Ever since we increased Kiwi's dose, he drops down to the 100s briefly, then goes right back up. The only patterns I'm seeing is that pretty much every other day, thinks look promising. Then I get discouraged by his higher days and think I should raise his dose, but as soon as I think that, he has a good streak and I worry that on more insulin would have been too much. I'm not sure what to do. The worst part is that he always seems lower at night, when its harder to monitor him. I've had a lot of appointments during the day (so I'm glad he's not been too low during that time), but I get so tired that I'm worried about inadvertently falling asleep during the late hours, and not be there for him if he drops too low. Unfortunately, Kiwi won't let anyone test him besides me. My DBF has occasionally been able to 'take a shift' and WATCH Kiwi... but I worry that he can't test him. He tried again this morning and wound up in a wrestling match that ended with the lancet stuck all the way into DBF's leg. I've relayed every tip I've read, but none seem to work for him. So I guess I have a couple of issues: 1) are some people just incapable of getting a bg reading? (the cat just won't let him), 2) why do I seem to be getting less and less control over Kiwi's bg, even though I've been seeing some lower numbers finally? 3) should I be holding his current dose until he stops having blue streaks, or is it time to try something else.

Also, I've been having trouble catching Kiwi 'in the act' to check his ketones. If I leave a strip out and ready, I think I have a better shot... but how long can they be out of the bottle before they no longer work? Can I leave them out for an hour or two? Does anyone have a good way of predicting when it will happen? (I use a walker and don't move very fast, which adds to the challenge...plus I have trouble getting the bottle open.) I've heard about blood meters that check ketones too. Are those very expensive? I sure would like to check him when I need to, without having to camp out at the litterbox all day (I have three cats, so I can't just trap the urine in the box).

I know that was a lot of questions. Please help me if you can. I'm going to be gone a lot next week with appointments, so please warn me if your suggestions will require close supervision early next week.

Thanks for all your help. You guys are great.

Kim and Kiwi
 
NovaMax has an offer for a free glucose/ketone meter. When you complete the form, complete it as though it's for a person who does not have insurance and is over 18yo. Just like with any meter, it's the strips that are the cost and ketone strips are very expensive.

I think the issue here isn't so much that Kiwi is all over the place. I think you were just expecting that with this trip back from the Falls Kiwi would have the same kind of numbers that he did before. What you're seeing are bounces. When Kiwi drops into blues, he bounces back up and it can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. Kiwi isn't dropping into overly low numbers. I would probably increase the dose.
 
Hi!
If Kiwi lets your DBF pet him, I think he will be OK to let him poke his ear eventually.
How about asking your DBF to do a lot of "fake" tests without actually poking him?
And when Kiwi seems comfortable about DBF fiddling with his ear, try actual testing then?
Maybe the fake test practice will make both of them feel more easy and relaxed about testing, and I think that's important for success :smile:

About ketone strip testing, I don't know how long you can leave these strips out, but how about you keep a small bowl or a teacup out by the litterbox.
Just make sure it's clean, and you can collect his pee in a teacup and dip the strip in there.
This way you don't have to worry about opening the tiny bottle and fish out one strip in time before peeing ends :-D

Just some ideas :-D
Good luck!!!
 
I'm sure you are right about upping his dose. We're going to get that started in the morning. I just got scared about driving him down too low...but now I finally have a few days in a row that I can be home with him, so at least I can watch him. Besides... I'm starting to get just as scared of seeing those high numbers day after day, too.

Thanks for the fake test idea. I'll have him try that. I was worried he would get the lancet in his eye next time. :o
It sure would be nice not to get shook awake all night to get his bg. This is starting to remind me of having a baby in the house.

Good night, and I hope you all are sleeping better than I am!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top