Staci & Ivy
Member Since 2022
7/17/24
Amps 212
Yesterday was super weird in that Ivy began the day in green (Libre, so higher on a handheld meter) but went up to pink and stayed there all day. She did come down overnight finally to blue on the Libre.
This morning it appears she’s moving down, in the right direction, but we shall see.
I have a question about lab work and when everyone has labs drawn in the day.
I usually do it early in the morning (around 9 or 10 AM, which is +3 or +4.)
I feed her at 6 AM. Her blood has been very lipemic (which is very fatty). She eats a fatty diet of lamb. Her triglycerides were high as a result, we assume. I’ve read lipemia can throw off certain blood values by having a very lipemic blood sample.
The higher the number, the more likely for other blood values to be inaccurate. Marked lipemia can falsely elevate your pet’s bilirubin and hemoglobin readings, and falsely decrease your pet’s blood electrolyte ion readings (=sodium, chloride, phosphate, calcium and, to a lesser degree, potassium).
https://vetspace.2ndchance.info/why-is-my-dog-or-cats-blood-lipemia-index-high/?amp=1
I don’t want to fast her if labs are done in the am since I need to feed, give insulin then go to the vet).
I saw @Wendy&Neko commented the other day to Heike that she would take Neko for labs around +9.
If I did that, she would have a longer time without food as long as the cycle was a higher one with no snacks needed past +3.
My big concern would be that Ivy would then be sedated later in the day for an afternoon blood draw and I don’t know if she would be interested in eating her meal a few hours later (with gabapentin in her system, which she needs for vet and labwork).
If she wouldn’t eat at the next meal, then I wouldn’t be able to give her insulin.
I guess if that were to happen in the worst case scenario, I would have to just skip that next shot and get back on track the next morning.
I’ve never tried a late in the day blood draw.
Any thoughts?
Thanks all. Have a safe day
Amps 212
Yesterday was super weird in that Ivy began the day in green (Libre, so higher on a handheld meter) but went up to pink and stayed there all day. She did come down overnight finally to blue on the Libre.
This morning it appears she’s moving down, in the right direction, but we shall see.
I have a question about lab work and when everyone has labs drawn in the day.
I usually do it early in the morning (around 9 or 10 AM, which is +3 or +4.)
I feed her at 6 AM. Her blood has been very lipemic (which is very fatty). She eats a fatty diet of lamb. Her triglycerides were high as a result, we assume. I’ve read lipemia can throw off certain blood values by having a very lipemic blood sample.
The higher the number, the more likely for other blood values to be inaccurate. Marked lipemia can falsely elevate your pet’s bilirubin and hemoglobin readings, and falsely decrease your pet’s blood electrolyte ion readings (=sodium, chloride, phosphate, calcium and, to a lesser degree, potassium).
https://vetspace.2ndchance.info/why-is-my-dog-or-cats-blood-lipemia-index-high/?amp=1
I don’t want to fast her if labs are done in the am since I need to feed, give insulin then go to the vet).
I saw @Wendy&Neko commented the other day to Heike that she would take Neko for labs around +9.
If I did that, she would have a longer time without food as long as the cycle was a higher one with no snacks needed past +3.
My big concern would be that Ivy would then be sedated later in the day for an afternoon blood draw and I don’t know if she would be interested in eating her meal a few hours later (with gabapentin in her system, which she needs for vet and labwork).
If she wouldn’t eat at the next meal, then I wouldn’t be able to give her insulin.
I guess if that were to happen in the worst case scenario, I would have to just skip that next shot and get back on track the next morning.
I’ve never tried a late in the day blood draw.
Any thoughts?
Thanks all. Have a safe day

