7/18 Harley AMPS=160, +11.75=210...HELP w/moving shot time

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry and Harley

Member Since 2010
Good morning-

We seem to be back on track after freaky Friday's numbers. I'm going to get one more BG at +3 and then I'm heading out for a couple of hours...fingers crossed!

s

Update: Forgot to include this earlier...
Friday's Posts
 
Re: 7/18 Harley AMPS=160, +2=178

Nice to see you in LL :mrgreen: and off to a good start.
Keep an eye on numbers, if they start creeping up after 6 cycles, would normally go back to last good dose. However, see you cut dose by .5u, normally go for .25u, so would try the .75u.

Looking ok for now though.
 
Re: 7/18 Harley AMPS=160, +2=178

Hi Kate-

Thanks for checking in. I made that change based on advice from folks here. The thought was that she may have started at too high of a dose (since she had such a low AMPS so early on). I was instructed to skip the Friday AM shot and drop the PM shot to .5u. My plans are to follow the protocol unless instructed to do otherwise. Cheers!

s
 
Hi there-

I was just looking at tomorrow's appointments and realize that I have to be out of the house at 7:30 tomorrow morning. That's a whole hour early for shot time (she usually gets her shot at 8:30). I know that since Lantus is cumulative, adjusting the shot time affects the dosage. She seems to be coasting in the mid to high blues (with a couple of yellows), so it seems like a safe bet to stick with her current dosage (.5u) and shoot early. I wanted to move the shot time 30 minutes tonight, but just realized I'm too late, so 15 minutes will have to do. (I missed my window while I was typing this email!) Tomorrow will be a different story though.....I've still got 45 minutes to deal with!!

This is where my work schedule gets in the way with keeping a strict shot schedule. In a previous post I mentioned that I'm not always going to be able to stick to 12 hours on the dot. For example, I have to leave at 7:30am tomorrow morning and my last meeting ends at 7:00pm. I won't likely get home until 7:45 or 8pm, which means tomorrow night's shot will be late. These long days are sporadic during the summer, but once we head into fall and my schedule ramps up again, it could be happening several times a week.

Any thoughts on how to handle these situations would be appreciated. I would love to have a rule of thumb to follow when this comes up, as it will be an issue very soon. Thanks a ton!!

s
 
it's hard to give a good rule of thumb until we have a bit more data on how Harley is responding to Lantus. For example, I shot Jazzy early tonight, and I will shoot early again tomorrow morning. I can do that because she is relatively high and flat. If she surprises me with a lower number in the morning, I'll shoot a lower dose since I won't be home until at least +12 and probably later than that. Some people can't get away with that.

It's not ideal, shooting at +12 every time tends to give the best results, but sometimes you just have to do something different.

For Harley, since we don't have a ton of data yet, you might want to skinny the dose tomorrow, especially if the preshot is relatively low. I would leave out tons of food too, so she can feed her own curve.
 
Thanks, Libby. Will do. I will try to leave as late as possible tomorrow as well. Thank you for responding!! :-)

Just out of curiosity, when will I have enough data to determine how she's responding to the Lantus? How long does it take? I feel like I'm testing her tons to see how she's responding...6-12 tests a day. Do you need weeks of data, months? I had several weeks of data when she was on Humulin and someone made a similar comment about me not having enough data. Again, I'm learning, so just curious since I've heard that a couple of times. I'm honestly waiting for the day when I can test a little less frequently....poor little ears. :-(


Thanks so much for your help!!

s
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top